We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Espana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hostal River(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Peninsular(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Oriente Atiram(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Flor Parks Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gaudi(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveller rating
893
575
134
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
575
134
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasbeautiful hotelside streetrooftop barsant pauliceu metro stationdeluxe roomperfect locationplunge poolmini bargothic quarterla boqueriarooms are smalltop floorstayed here for nightstapascity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were only at this hotel for one night prior to flying back to Australia but we could have stayed longer. Very nice hotel and the front desk staff were great too. Just off Las Ramblas so it was close to the action.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lufc_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your short but nice experience with us and other visitors.
I really appreciate your nice words to us and I hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in Hotel España very soon. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What a fabulous experience! I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my mother and 2 teenage nieces. The location was fantastic near to lots of sights as well as being ideally placed for a night out in the Barrio Gotica or Place Reial, but at the same time far enough away so you could get a good night's sleep. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We didn't have breakfast as there were plenty of options in the nearby cafes.. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

First of all I thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice words to us.

I am pleased to know you enjoyed Barcelona and our hotel facilities, as well as our staff help. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Yours cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Espana on our honeymoon trip in Barcelona. We loved the central location, right off Las Ramblas. The hotel was very well decorated, and the room was a good size. Customer service was good - helpful desk staff. Our only complaint was that the hotel was noisy. To be expected in an urban environment, but also the doors of the hotel rooms slam shut, no way to avoid it. If you're a light sleeper, I might look elsewhere. Otherwise, a great value hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your honeymoon trip in Barcelona.
I am happy to know you have enjoy our facilities and the city for this special occasion.

I also appreciate having your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and comments of our guests.
I take good note about the noise of the rooms to prevent it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights before our Serenade of the Seas cruise on May 17th and May 18th, 2013 because of all the positive reviews we saw here on tripadvisor! We were not disappointed! This hotel is gorgeous! It's just a few steps away from the fantastic La Rambla but on a very quiet street. There are restaurants on property (one features a nice buffet breakfast) and many, many restaurants within walking distance. We felt safe walking around the area. Many have warned about pick pockets in Barcelona; I can't say that I felt in danger any more then any American city. Just always be aware of your surroundings and you'll be fine. My wife and I walked from Placa Catalunya to the harbor and it's enormous shopping mall and never noticed anyone looking like they would bother us.

The hotel is beautiful... from it's roof top pool with it's giant "face" chairs and bar and cushioned seats to it's classical appointments in the public spaces, it's all top-notch. The staff is extremely friendly (Hi, Jordi!) and helpful in all aspects. They held our luggage till our room was ready, and they moved the pieces to our the three rooms our group took; they made recommendations on restaurants in the area and they arranged cabs for our trip over to the cruise port on Sunday May 19th!

The rooms are ultra modern, in stunning contrast to the classical art elsewhere. Upon entry you find that the lights and AC are activated by placing your room card key into a slot by the door. The bathroom can have a tub/shower (as ours did) or just a shower. (Note: the tubs are high-walled, so elderly or those with trouble stepping up may want to request a shower only room) The bathroom has wonderful amenities in the way of shampoo/conditioners, etc. The toilet is square (unusual to the American traveler) and there are wall mounted flush/switches above it- one for liquid and one for solid wastes. (again, unusual for the American traveler, but we figured it out...)

Behind the bed is a large lit wall with a cool pattern thru it. We also has a small window that looked out to an enclosed garden. There's a nice flat screen TV with some english language channels (but don't waste your time watching TV- get out and ENJOY Barcelona!) and wi-fi (which was free for us, but that might have been part of our package) that's good enough. There's also a large closet and safe and small stocked fridge.

Again, this place is near all sorts of good places to eat (but avoid American Soda up on the corner at La Rambla- yuck) and stores and pharmacys. There was a restaurant that looked like nothing from outside called Restaurante Romesco (found here on tripadvisor) just a few steps away. We had a delicious and inexpensive dinner here. The Boqueria Market is about a five minute walk- not to be missed!

We loved The Hotel Espana; it will DEFINITELY be our first choice if we are ever lucky enough to travel to Barcelona again! You'll love it, too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel is sleek and modern, with luxury toiletries provided and English movies on demand. The location was very close to Los Ramblas but still on quite a busy side street. There was a small amount of noise but the hotel windows are relatively sound proof. A 1 min walk to the metro station, mini bar options and a large comfy bed, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice words to us.

We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Yours cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews