We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Espana
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Acta Antibes(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Alma Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$512
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capri by Fraser Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveller rating
893
575
134
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
575
134
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasbeautiful hotelside streetrooftop barsant pauliceu metro stationdeluxe roomperfect locationplunge poolmini bargothic quarterla boqueriarooms are smalltop floorstayed here for nightstapascity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
906 - 911 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times and it is a really nice hotel with good services. The standard hotel rooms are small but if you just stay for a short time it is ok, otherwise I would prefer a higher standard room. The pool area is small but nice. If you want to live near Rambla, this is the place to stay at. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as Barcelona is full of cafeterias and tapas bars where you can eat really cheap.

Room Tip: It is an non smoking hotel but it seems that some of the hotel guest smokes in the rooms with balcony so if you prefer a non-smoking room it is better to ask for a room without the balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikajuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at Hotel España. I am happy to know that we have met once again your expectations on this stay.
For the next time, I suggest you to taste our tapas up on the terrace Alaire Ramblas, on the top floor. They worth it!!,

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. My kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location and excellent service.
Our room and throughout the hotel was immaculate and felt luxurious.
The bar staff were very friendly and helpful and we were never left waiting to be served.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa-lou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfaction of our guests.
We are happy to know that Hotel España has fulfilled your expectations and that you had a goog time in our nice terrace Alaire RAmblas on the roof top!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The location right off the Ramblas was great. The check in went well. But when you reserve a suite it's just one big room. The bar by the pool was great. The pool was refreshing after a tour of the city. But, they do close the bar and pool area for private parties. If your underneath the party it is loud. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: the rooms on the street are noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
I highly appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
About the private parties on the terrace, I am so sorry if it disturbed you but I must say taht they are completely unusual.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Amazing staff!! Accommodated our request for a quieter room and immediately moved us to another beautiful room. Clean, welcoming, I am so happy I found this place. The only issue are the shower doors allow water to leak out and flood the bathroom, we just put a couple of towels against the shower door to keep it from getting the water everywhere. Outside of that minor issue, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Music234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and service.
I also thank you for recommending us!

We hope you can join us once again in the very near future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Beautiful hotel really close, 20 yards, to Las Ramblas. Fantastic roof garden, particularly at around 5 pm when sun still high, after a day sightseeing. Lovely staff and for once, the hotel images do give an understated impression of the hotel, real life...more impressive. Great bar on roof and not ridiculously priced, complimentary water and snacks in mini bar, and more on request. Can't comment on breakfast as we walked to the food market (boqueria) for croissants and fresh fruit. Very pleasant room, not particularly big, however, the beautiful washroom with separate toilet and shower cubicles made it great for 2 people to do what has to be done without waiting for the bathroom to be freed up!! Made it stress free , mum and daughter sharing.....no quarrels, must insist on this in future.
Good free wifi.
Only downside, further down the street, in the opposite direction from las Ramblas felt a wee bit dodgy, but no real reason to go down this particular street, nothing worth seeing.

Room Tip: Ask not to be opposite the youth hostel. Could be noisy if you are a light sleeper. After walking around all day a marching band could have been in our room!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noirjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We highly appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews