We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #107 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barmera, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed two nights in the Hotel Espana and were very pleased with the service that we received. The room although small by Australian standards was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The bathroom looked beautiful however I did find that the floor tended to be flooded after a shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and although the selection wasn't huge it was more than adequate. I particularly liked eating breakfast in the dining room with the beautiful wood panelling and gorgeous painting on the wall. The location of this hotel is perfect as is is only a short walk to the main area of Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen041172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at Hotel España.
I am absolutely delighted to know that we have met your expectations on this stay.
Thank you for recommending us!!
Hoping to welcome you very soon at Hotel España. My kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    547
    128
    37
    24
See reviews for
185
945
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location to see Barcelona. While it is half a block from Las Ramblas, it is quiet. Rooms are not large, but very nice. They offer a nice breakfast in the morning. We were very pleased with our stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Jane,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for your nice words to us.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.
Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

First night in hotel was a anticlimax. No air conditioning, thin walls, no tv. Could not fit two people in the bathroom. Went downstairs the following morning to complain. The staff could not be more helpful. The moved us into a new room straight away. This room was really nice, and a reasonable size. Hotel was in a great location, just off Las Ramblas. Very art deco style hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not near the center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
I appreciate to have your feedback since I am always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Rooms not ready at 4:00 pm. Terrible service totally confused.
We had two rooms (we payed in advance) same price different rooms. Where 2 persons stay just one towel ...every day we had to ask for but they forget also the soap & bath set.... Frigobar empty,......

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Giuseppeserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Mr. Serena,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel España.
We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our housekeeping service. Our Director of Housekeeping and me will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent it in the future, but I assure it is a completely isolated case.

We are constantly working on improving our facilities and service and I am really sorry about your not positive experinece with us.

I appreciate you for sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us a new opportunity in the near future. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights and could not have been happier. Our rooms were very quiet and comfortable - with a beautiful bathroom. This historic hotel is a pleasure to spend time in and the rooftop deck, pool and jacuzzi is a wonderful area to relax. The staff is very helpful too. Indian restaurant right across the street was also a great find.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamandtonyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and service.
For the next time, I recommend to taste our Restaurant Fonda España. It also worth it!!

Looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights and agree the hotel is full of character and in a great location. The photos online are correct but it's the scale...everything is very compact. Our standard room was a postage stamp which faced an internal courtyard. Initially I was underwhelmed but it was quiet, dark and well appointed, perfect for catching up on sleep. The dining room was beautiful and breakfast was just fine (croissants, jamon, juices). The staff, all young, were helpful and polite. I would recommend Hotel Espana for those who seek a boutique hotel close to Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: Rooms facing internal room was very quiet and dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us in Hotel España.
I am proud to read yor comments about our staff and facilities. We daily work very hard to pay attention to detail and the service we provide.
Thank you once again for recommending us abnd I hope that you get the chance to stay with us again in the near future. My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Espana hotel for two nights. The building is full of Art Nouveau features which were very beautiful. The location was excellent just off Las Ramblas with many sights and restaurants in walking distance as was the harbour. We booked a deluxe room which was fairly compact but nice with a window which opened overlooking a small courtyard and rooftops and with a very modern en-suite shower room. There was free Wi-Fi in the room which was very good but no coffee making facilities which was a minus point for us. The fridge contained water, fruit juice and nuts which were complimentary. The bathroom was very nice looking but totally impractical. The extra wide modern style basin was extremely shallow so that water splashed out each time the tap was turned on and left little room for our toiletries. The shower was very good but the toilet cubicle was incredibly small with no knee room at all - quite hopeless even for a medium height woman and impossibly cramped for a 6 foot plus man. Our main complaint at this hotel was the food. Having read glowing reports for the Fonda Espana restaurant we booked a table prior to our arrival. The meal was very disappointing. The presentation of the food was not good, the starter and main course served in a soup bowl and with no salad or vegetables at all. Our veal main course was just a generous portion of meat with rich sauce in a bowl and nothing else which was not what we expected. The worst part was that my husband felt very unwell towards the end of the meal - he had a rice and prawn starter - and continued to feel unwell the following day. Of course we will never know for sure that the prawns were to blame but we ate everything else the same and I was OK. We also felt that the breakfast buffet was very disappointing with a very small choice of cold food, very little fruit available and an extra charge for anything hot. All rather a shame as the hotel really was nice and with better food I would have given it a very good review.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-a-JobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel during your last stay in Barcelona.
I would like to apologize for not having filled your expectations about our food offer. I take good note about your comments but I also would like to point that what explained about Restaurant Fonda España is a completely isolated situation. Fonda España has very good reputation for its fresh food, for its special setting and for the good service we offer.
About the breakfast, we are studying to introduce some changesin brief in order to improve it.

Finally I would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor because is thanks to this reviews we could be offer better services and experiences for all our guests.

Hope to see you again with us to demonstrate the high quality of our cuisine. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
2,423 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#135 of 513 in Barcelona
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
880 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#69 of 513 in Barcelona
556 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing