We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #101 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spend a few nights in there, and it's lovely. The hotel is really beautiful; so beautiful it's sometimes visited by outsiders.

The service is great, people are all nice and helpful. Breakfast proposes a lot of diversity and is good. The bar is nice, and the restaurant is really worth a diner.

The hotel is placed in a small street near la Rambla, and is really quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Julien,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
I am very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff and that our facilities fulfilled your expectations.
I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed our Fonda España Restaurant. It really worth it!!

We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

We look forward to welcome you back in a very near future. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed two nights pre-cruise. I would recommend this pre cruise itinerary if you've never been to Barcelona before. Hotel staff are very nice and attentive. The rooms are tiny but the bathroom is very large. Decor is dark and modern. I would recommend this hotel for solo travel, very safe location. Steps from Liceu Metro station and Ramblas. Walking distance to many attractions and the old district. Tons of food choices. Close to the La Boqueria market. Quiet location. There is a bakery across the street from St. Augustine church that serves wonderful baked goods and coffee. Just be careful when walking to the bakery as there must be a free food line at the church on certain days that attacts a lot of different kinds of people. I would not walk in the other direction of the hotel (away from Ramblas or towards bakery) alone. Rooms were fairly expensive but worth it for the location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us.
We are proud to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

We look forward to wellcoming you very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Literally 30 metres from La Rambla, Hotel Espana is a hidden gem. We check and this morning before heading off on a 12-night cruise but are back in Barcelona for two nights after disembarking .... Thankfully our travel agent back in NZ had the nous to book us back into the same hotel!! All of the staff were fabulous, and spoke English at a far, far greater level than we spoke Spanish!! The room was definitely on the small side compared to most comparable 4-Star hotels but we were in Barcelona, we only slept there! All in all it was a great stay (and we're on honeymoon so are a little 'picky') and we are thrilled to be coming back in 12-nights time (Barcelona vs Espanyol awaits also!!!)

The only small negative was that we were on the second floor and it was quite noisy in the alleyway below .... But it was Saturday night, and I'm pretty sure the hotel doesn't make the noise!!

Very happy campers leaving today, and looking forward to seeing you all again very soon!

Matt and Vicki SCOLES, NZ

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a high-floored room, away from the hustle and bustle of the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSHVCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Matt and Vicki,
First of all I would like to thank you for your nice review and congratulations for your marriage!!
I am happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel facilities and the service fulfilled your expectations.

We all also hope to see you again very very soon. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We travelled Spain for two weeks and stayed in several cities in four and five star hotels and I was always wonder on how their star system works as here in the US those hotels wouldn't probably get even three stars. Compare to other hotels in Spain we stayed this one was excellent. Gorgeous lobby renovated modern rooms, everything to the today's standards, with little personal touches. Stuff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant breakfast and dinner both were good. My only and personal complaint would be the mattress, too firm for me, I could hardly sleep, but I have this problem in many places as I used to soft.
Rooftop pool area was nice, bar is open until late, nice to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for room with outside balcony. There are many rooms with windows inside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Marina
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and service.
I really do hope that you can join us once again in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

While this hotel is a good one in its own right, the indecision of this review may be caused by the fact that we stayed in several amazing properties before and after our stay here.

The positives - the location is amazing, with las ramblas and a metro station almost just at your doorstep. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. On the other hand, the room was a bit small and the cold breakfast was a little disappointing. It is an interesting place to stay though, and it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My family booked rooms at Hotel Espana in Barcelona Spain in September for a stay in October 2013. The Hotel Espana immediately charged our credit cards a month in advance of our stay to guarantee payment. We are traveling for our first time from the USA to Spain and felt confident that we had selected safe and reliable accommodations based on reviews from other travelers. Apparently Berta Sauret and the management team at Hotel Espana /Hotel Conde de Barcelona studied at the “bait & switch” school of hotel management. Just before our departure Berta sent us e-mails that she is “sad and sorry” that our paid reservations have no value and we are to be moved to a different hotel in a different section of town away from our selected location, because of “an event beyond our control”. Even though Barcelona is reported to have a problem with pickpockets and scam artists, we did not expect to be preyed upon by the Hotel before we departed the U.S. Our objections were met with no timely response from Berta or the Hotel. My recommendation: unless you like last minute disruptions or conversations with the fraud unit of your credit card company book somewhere else!
Be sure to watch for their reply. We are sorry for the misunderstanding… We try hard… It was a mistake...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Mr. Richard,
I must say I feel completely unconfortable and upset reading your post because the hotel services and facilities have nothing in common with your review.

Of course I understand your disappointment, but perhaps our fault has been having to much integrity, informing you in advance about the problem and ofering you a very good alternative in Paseo de Gracia.

Hoping you have enjoyed your stay in Barcelona, I remain at your disposal and I hope you give us a new opportunity. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel was a great find! It was less than half a block away from Las Ramblas. The staff at the front desk was the friendliest we had throughout our entire European trip. This hotel is very clean and modern and has a nice rooftop bar if you like to go and relax and have a couple of drinks. Our room was amazing and the fact that the staff had upgraded us because it was our anniversary just made our experience that much better. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that visits Barcelona! Thank you to the hotel staff for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salt_life78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice words to us.
We daily work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy and feel like at home!
Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 519 in Barcelona
1,729 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 519 in Barcelona
940 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#134 of 519 in Barcelona
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,510 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 519 in Barcelona
2,148 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#115 of 519 in Barcelona
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £91 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing