We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #110 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Beautifully restored historic hotel done with a complementary contemporary flair. It's in a great location near the metro, opera house, Ramblas, farmers market, tapas restaurants etc......walking distance to everything. The rooms are very small and the contemporary plumbing fixtures can be quirky...so be prepared.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
I highly appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    519
    120
    34
    22
See reviews for
171
882
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is in a good location, just two blocks from Las Ramblas and three blocks from the outdoor market. Even though it is close to Las Ramblas, it was quiet at night and the noise didn't penetrate the rooms. I didn't want to stay directly on Las Ramblas due to the night noise and this hotel was a good choice. Nice staff and clean rooms. I would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lostfringie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Melissa,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to hera that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and service.

We all really do hope that you can join us once again in the near future. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel looks amazing as you enter the lobby. You are sure you will love it there. But the staff is indifferent to you, the rooms are TINY and the location is a little bit sketchy. Sure it is easy to get to the Ramblas and the Metra, but the street isn't very safe at night. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Melissa,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us to share your experience at Hotel España.
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not resulted hundred per cent satisfactory because the of the two issues you commented. Anyway, I would like to point that We daily work very hard for our guests satisfaction and It is really exceptional to have a negative feedback about the staff. I will pay all my attention about that.
I agree with you that some standard rooms are rather small due to due to its status as a historical building, but We agree that they are all spotless bright and well appointed to offer a confortable stay.

I do apologize for the inconveniences we might have caused and hope you will give us new opportunity to demonstrate you the high quality of all our services.

I remain at your disposal and I look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel España in the near future. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in Hotel Espana. We "discovered" this hotel through a friend who is an architect in Barcelona. She was impressed by the excellence of the4 restoration and refurbishment of this very special property. It is a beautiful hotel and our room was very, very comfortable. I loved the extra special touch of courtesy refreshments in the mini bar. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Elle,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona.
I am very happy to know that the hotel facilities and services have fulfilled your expectations.

I also apreciate your sensibility towards the restoration done in 2010 and its refurbishment.

In the meantime, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel España in the very near future. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel Espana is a beautifully decorated and immaculately clean hotel located just half a block off La Rambla where I had the pleasure of spending 6 nights in the middle of November. The standard room is well designed and is of a good size. The bathroom is quite good as well - two faucets over a longish rectangular sink, the toilet area cordoned off by a glass section, and a great rain forest shower and bath.

Unfortunately the rooftop bar was closed in November, but the restaurant (the mushroom tasting menu was great!) and the lobby bar will give you something to do shall you decide to stay close.

Finally, the staff was exceptional - always friendly, attentive, and eager to please. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Stan,
I am absolutely thrilled to read your feedback following your stay with us at Hotel España.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other visitors.

I really apreciate your comments about our facilities, and above all, about our staff behaviour.

We all expect to see you in a very near future. My kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a lovely "{boutique hotel 1/2 block off La Ramblas. It is an older building which has preserved many of the features but is completely modern rooms. The rooms are small but inviting and comfortable. the hotel is immaculate and the staff wonderful. This was out second stay here and will definitely stay again if we are back in Barcelona. It is very centrally located and easy to get around. La Ramblas is wonderful to be near, and if you enjuoy the charm of the older part of the city, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Carol,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España again for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We daily work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you personally next time at Hotel España. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel offers many positives and two negatives. The room was painfully noisy. We heard loud footfalls overhead, plumbing from adjoining rooms and doors slamming down the hall. The room was very small, but adequate. So, I must downgrade my rating. On the plus side, the staff is charming and helpful; the public spaces beautiful; the location well situated and the restaurant wonderful for food, ambience and service. I wish I could give the hotel a better rating, but, alas, travelers need their rest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpicky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests. I will carefully check about the unusual door noise you describe.

I am happy to read you received a good service from our satff and that you enjoyed our nice Restaurant La Fonda España.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#109 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#99 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#45 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing