We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$244
Derby Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Jazz(Barcelona)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveller rating
917
585
139
41
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
585
139
41
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasbeautiful hotelside streetrooftop barsant pauliceu metro stationdeluxe roomperfect locationplunge poolmini barla boqueriagothic quarterrooms are smalltop floorstayed here for nightstapasstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

beautiful and modern, clean, friendly staff and moreover excellent location. Architecure is very elegant. The metro station Licieu and the Opera teather are at 1 minute walking distance. excellent breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Aline,
First of all I would like to thank you for your comments about Hotel España.
I would also like to thank you especially for your comments about our staff; and about the breakfast service, which we have been improving from the comments written by our guests.

Thank you for nice comments and for recommending Hotel España.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Espana is a modern, clean and well equipped hotel. Rooms are nice though not spacious.
Service was good. The only problem we had was the shower head was almost completely clogged.
All other features worked well.

Room Tip: Avoid floor number 1. Some of the rooms are not well lighted.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luftmdlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

I am happy to read your positive feedback following your stay with us and also thank you for taking the time to post it.
I have passed on your kind words to all the team here and I will check about the shower problema in order to prevent it.
Looking forward to welcoming back very soon. My kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is located very well, about 50 meters from La Rambla and looks great, as it is an historical building made by a famous architect.Very elegant and a lot of good taste!Services are very good, the staff is kindly.Rooms look very modern and the cleaning is made daily.The bathroom is very modern.Very good breakfast, served in a nice room, with walls decorated with marine paintings and a glass roof.It was a great stay there !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilisorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and service. I also apreciate your sensibility toward the decor and restoration of the building.

I really do hope that you can join us once again in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hotel Espana sits in a great spot. No doubt about that! Maybe 30 yards from the center of La rambla. You can sneak through a side ally to make your way to the open market as well. This was a huge plus for the hotel....When inside, you have very good customer service. The bar is well-equipped to make some very classy drinks. However, the room is simply average for the price of the stay....The shower splashed water everywhere and the lighting system is horrible. All lights had to be on in order to use the bathroom late at night. lol...all in all it was okay. The staff and location made it worth it, at least this one time...I will stay in a Hostel next time to save the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivingtheDream241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests. I take good note about your comments in order to improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Fantastic hotel 100 metres off Las Ramblas.Great rooms and decor.The mini bar is topped up each day for free and the rooms with a balcony are great to people watch.Great value and would recommend to all.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Simon,
Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us.
I also thank you for recommending us!

I do hope that you get the chance to stay with us again in the near future. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews