We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Barcelona ”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #104 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Before arrival I emailed staff with queries, they were very helpful & thorough with responses. Staff were again very helpful when staying at the hotel advising on trains to use etc for our next leg of the journey & using their printing facilities.
The hotel was beautiful and an ideal location, we stayed in a deluxe room and it was perfect.
We would not hesitate in staying in this hotel again, it complemented a perfect stay in an amazing city

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simsam2980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at Hotel España.
I am happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed Barcelona too.

We also look forward to welcoming you backn!! My kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great position and lovely architecture in reception and stairs etc. our room was a little cramped and dark and I didn't like not being able to tell what he weather was like without going outside to find out! We found the staff very helpful and breakfast was great. The air conditioning was controlled from a central control at reception and did not stay cooland was too warm for us. In the end we turned it off and opened the window so had noise from revellers. Also people below smoked so it came from their balcony into our room. Other peoples doors very noisy and made our room shake. Internet almost non exist ant so rather annoying. It was expensive and I think they need to get their act together a bit more to justify price. Bar staff excellent

Room Tip: Rooms don't live up to grandiose entrance I am afraid but bar staff great. I am afraid we too h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Penny,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff while your stay.

As per your comments about the noise of the doors when closing, our maintenance staff is already checking it in order to minimize the impact.
About internet, I must say that it works correctly and no other comments about it have arrived to me or front desk staff. Anyway, sorry for the inconveniences.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Barcelona was our last port of call, following 5 weeks travelling through Spain. We wanted a quality hotel so we could be as fresh as possible for the long trip home to Australia. This hotel was a good choice. The architecture is beautiful. Location is perfect. Staff were great and no complaints about the room. Our only complaint stems from the fact that room doors are very heavy and make a lot of noise when they close despite the resistance of the door closer. We didn't dine here - there are many great restaurants nearby and, for breakfast, the market is minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otiswallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests. About the door comment, I am pleased to inform you that our maintenance staff is already checking it in order to minimize the door impact.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is out of this world realy nice. Close to the ramblas en the metro is just 100 mtr far.

The realy bas thing about thia hotel is the standard room it is not worth the money and when you complain the staff ignors you.

The staff at this hotel and i mean the night receptionist it was an old man dont know his name is just terrible realy realy rude.

I would not come back to this hotel because of this expierience.

Please do something about the poor service because the hotel is realy nice

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Youngcoupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona.
I am very dissapointed to hear we did not fulfill your expectations due to the attitude of our night staff.
I am honestly upset because We all work really very hard for our guests satisfaction (other reviews corroborate it) and I must understand there has been a missunderstanding at some point.
I take good note of your comments in order to improve service and prevent situations like the one you describe be repeated.

I also remain at your disposal at nborras@hotelespanya.com to provide a private answer and explanation about the unfortunate and exceptional incident.

In the meantime, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel España in the near future and that you give us the oportunity to demonstrate our heart based hospitality.
Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hotel location is excellent for both business and vacation. Hotel architecture, design and decoration are outstanding. Food and bar are good. Room was small and we can hear noise from other room. We have got very bad experience with Internet access outage for 3 days, from Friday to departure day on Monday with total inability from Hotel staff to do anything about it. The message from front desk; "We cannot do anything because the engineer is not working during week end." or "It is not managed by the hotel". This is not acceptable for the price and level of service especially for Business travelers. I have tried to get a compensation or contact with responsible manager, I got a business card. It could have been way better managed.

Room Tip: Rooms are little bit small. You can hear noise between rooms, so try to be isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Bernard,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city.
I am very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations due to the difficulties with internet connection. I feel obliged to say that this is the first tim that we have problems with the wifi but I take good note of your comments in order to prevent situations like the one you describe to be repeated.

Looking forward to having another opportunity to demonstrate you the high standard of our services and facilities. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Myself and a friend had a wonderful and very comfortable stay at Hotel Espana in April 2014. It was our first stop on a big European trip where we spent our first 4 nights in Barcelona. We wanted a comfortable hotel where we could rest and recover from our jetlag. Hotel Espana didn't disappoint. Although we never got too much rest as there were so many fabulous things to see and do in Barcelona. Our nights in the hotel were quiet and comfortable. The beds were great. The building itself was spectacular.

It was conveniently located to Las Ramblas, the Gothic Quarter and a multitude of great restaurants. Since we didn't have the breakfast option, we were also glad that there was a Starbucks close by to get our morning fix of coffee. Although there are also lots of great local coffee places in Barcelona too.

We also were appreciative that the hotel had a computer and printer. Very handy for buying and printing our tickets for the Sagrada Familia which we didn't realize we had to purchase in advance.

A special mention to the bartender, who I don't know his name, but he was particularly awesome and friendly when he would open up our wine and give us glasses and snacks for the room. The only negative is that our room keys (cards) seemed to only work once each time and we always had to return to the front desk to get them rekeyed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatNap369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jacquie,
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your stay in our city and for your nice words to us.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.
I take note about the key trouble in order to check if it is working correctly. I apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel location is spot on, you couldn't ask to be in a better position. Booked an exec room, bit disappointed with size if I'm honest, having read previous reviews that standard rooms are small thought best to upgrade. Probably should have gone with the suite. Bathroom design is strange with the unnecessary door in front of the loo?? and the glass shower door opening directly onto the basin is asking for trouble. Can't credit the rooftop bar staff enough he was the happiest, friendliest and professional of all staff encountered. Deserves a mention and a well done for being on his own looking after everyone in the rooftop bar with a smile.
Def dont bother arranging a resort transfer through the hotel you will pay double than the charge direct from an airport cab and dont order a cab via hotel reception because again you are over charged - just jump in one off la ramblas. Def want to recommend a bar/tapas restaurant on la ramblas, the cerveseria - brilliant food, staff and service!

Room Tip: If rooms are important to you you only have the one choice really - the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMCD1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
I do agree that Alaire Ramblas Terrace Bar on the top floor worth at least a visit. Nice atmosphere with friendly and porfessional staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
923 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#228 of 515 in Barcelona
1,651 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 515 in Barcelona
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#72 of 515 in Barcelona
588 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 515 in Barcelona
2,273 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 515 in Barcelona
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £83 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing