We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Espana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hostal River(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Peninsular(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Oriente Atiram(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Flor Parks Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gaudi(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,666)
Filter reviews
1,666 results
Traveller rating
891
576
134
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
891
576
134
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasbeautiful hotelside streetrooftop barsant pauliceu metro stationdeluxe roomperfect locationplunge poolmini bargothic quarterla boqueriarooms are smalltop floorstayed here for nightstapascity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 1,666 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent a few days in Barcelona in the Hotel Espana. The location is good for being located within walking distance of the central downtown as well as the waterfront. If you are physically able to walk 40 minutes one way you can access most of the city. This hotel is in what I would call an alley off the Ramblas main street, the alley goes through between two main streets. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but is very nice inside. One item of note is that the hookers hang out just down the alley so if you have kids you should have some explanation.
The staff was not overly helpful but the facility is in good shape. Our room was very modern and nice and clean. It was pleasantly quiet. There is a roof top lounge/sun deck as well as a bar and restaurant. Compared to many other places we looked at this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Brook,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoy you stay at Hotel España and that our facilities and location fulfilled your expectations.

We all look forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here in May. The good: location was wonderful. Just far enough off of Las Ramblas to enjoy retaurants and sites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Having a small fridge was helpful as well. The not so good: very small rooms, we had a deluxe room. The bathroom shower was odd and difficult to use.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting an inside room. We had a room with two tiny balconies facing the street and it was noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Donzzie,
First of I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We highly appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay. Location just a step away of the Ramblas. Service: impressed! We even received help to print out our tickets . Information about what to see and how to win time with queuing . Rooms very clean as the rest of the hotel. I can only recommend this hotel to all visitors to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirkwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with us and other vistors.
Your very nice words towards the staff are greatly apreciated. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona.

Thank you also for recommending us!!


Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just to us a perfect upmarket hotel everything perfect, tried not to eat in the hotel because you soak up the atmosphere in the street and square restaurants but finally tried it I think the menu del dia was about Euros 35 well it was a wonderful experience. The locals eat there we now know why!
To us a Romantic weekend extremely good Hotel and food


Well worth every euro-cent

Room Tip: Chosoe one on the front with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Michael,
Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience.

I very pleased to learn that our facilities and service have fulfilled your expecations. I also apreciate your comment about Fonda España Restaurant, it worth a dinner or a lunch for its food quality and special setting.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location is fantastic - very central but on fairly quiet side street off the Ramblas. We had an interior room which looked over a courtyard so was a little dark but this meant that we were not woken early in the morning and did not hear a sound which is unusual for a city centre hotel! The room was lovely with really nice lighting and the comfiest bed and pillows.
The rooftop bar is a great suntrap with v small pool, jacuzzi and sunbeds.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and went out of their way to sort out a problem that we had with a pre-booked taxi.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are really quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with other visitors and us.
I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews