We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good access to La Rambla but over priced.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #110 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good access to La Rambla but over priced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The architecture an beautiful fit out in the main parts of the hotel, stairs, restaurant are superb. However, unless you have the suite or one of the 3 larger rooms (with a terrace), you'll be disappointed with the rooms. Overall, it is over priced for what you get. There are insufficient staff to service clients overall. The bas staff on the terrace were great.
I think better can be found in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear John,
I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel during your last stay in our City.
I highly apreciate to read about your sensibility towards the building but I am sorry that the room you got did not fulfilled 100% your expectations. Hotel España was restored in 2010 and all the rooms have modern and stylish design, some of them facing the street and some to a nice courtyard.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you can give us a new opportunity to demonstrate the high standard of our services and facilities. Kindly yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    519
    120
    34
    22
See reviews for
171
882
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel in my opinion is very dark. The lighting is annoying because you can't see very well, They tried I guess to distract you to the fact that the rooms are very small, almost claustrophobic, at least the one we were given. Not my kind of hotel, I like lots of light and airy rooms.
The Staff seemed at the beginning very helpful until the air con stopped working, when we told the receptionist he came to our room and said he was going to call someone to fix it and if he couldn't find him (his shift was over) he would move us to another room, he promised to call, but he never did, so in our way out we asked why he didn't call us to let us know what was he going to do? He said, sorry I forgot....another receptionist (a girl) asked us to wait and see, at the time we were going out so she said to let her know if the air con was working or not in our return and then they would call the maintenance guy, I said that was unacceptable, I told them to call him first, and make it work or we would look for another hotel. Some people seemed to forget that we are paying customers and they are not making us a favor and the last thing we want to know is about repairing things, It's pointless to argue with a customer, just said you'll take care of it and that's it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona.
I am very dissapointed to hear we did not fulfill your expectations due to the attitude of our staff and the AACC drawback.

I take good note of your comments in order to improve service and prevent situations like the one you describe be repeated. Sorry for the inconveniences caused.

In the meantime, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel España. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

1 block off the exact center of La Rambla, could not get any better as far as getting around. The hotel is very modern yet comfortable. The dining room is beautiful. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Thomas,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and got to sample all that the hotel has to offer.
I really do hope that you come back and stay with us again in the near future. My kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, 8th to 12th June and were generally very pleased. The location could not have been better with most of the places to visit within walking distance. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and spacious with an excellent shower but the smell from the shower drain was horrible! The breakfast was wonderful with a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, bread and pastries. Cooked items were available if desired. All the reception staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and we didn't meet anyone who didn't speak English, fortunate because our Catalan is useless!
And now the down side - the aircon in the room was at best feeble, but if left on all day just about kept the room cool. However when Housekeeping went in to make up the room, the aircon was reset to 24 degees, not much use when you come back hot and tired from walking all day! And then the worst part; the 'system' turns off the aircon altogether sometimes, and you have to go to the front desk to have it turned on again. I read this in a Trip Advisor report just before we left and didn't believe it! In the last 20 years I have averaged 100 nights per year in hotels all over the world and have never encountered anything so pathetic in a four star hotel. Perhaps it was just the room we had, but it did nothing to enhance our enjoyment of an otherwise perfect stay.

Room Tip: Request a deluxe room, the standard rooms range from small to very small. As for the aircon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Betty,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city.
I am happy to read that in all you had a good stay with us but I am very sorry to hear that the air conditioning did not worked properly. The room has already been checked and there was an informatic error about the mínimum and máximum temperature. I do really apologize for.

Looking forward to having another opportunity to demonstrate you the high standard of our facilities. Kindly yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsmuir, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent a few days in Barcelona in the Hotel Espana. The location is good for being located within walking distance of the central downtown as well as the waterfront. If you are physically able to walk 40 minutes one way you can access most of the city. This hotel is in what I would call an alley off the Ramblas main street, the alley goes through between two main streets. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but is very nice inside. One item of note is that the hookers hang out just down the alley so if you have kids you should have some explanation.
The staff was not overly helpful but the facility is in good shape. Our room was very modern and nice and clean. It was pleasantly quiet. There is a roof top lounge/sun deck as well as a bar and restaurant. Compared to many other places we looked at this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Brook,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoy you stay at Hotel España and that our facilities and location fulfilled your expectations.

We all look forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here in May. The good: location was wonderful. Just far enough off of Las Ramblas to enjoy retaurants and sites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Having a small fridge was helpful as well. The not so good: very small rooms, we had a deluxe room. The bathroom shower was odd and difficult to use.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting an inside room. We had a room with two tiny balconies facing the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Donzzie,
First of I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We highly appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay. Location just a step away of the Ramblas. Service: impressed! We even received help to print out our tickets . Information about what to see and how to win time with queuing . Rooms very clean as the rest of the hotel. I can only recommend this hotel to all visitors to Barcelona!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirkwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with us and other vistors.
Your very nice words towards the staff are greatly apreciated. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona.

Thank you also for recommending us!!


Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#109 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#99 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#45 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing