We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we come to Barcelona we'd choose this hotel again!”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #108 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

When in Barcelona we always try hotels near to The Ramblas. This hotel was ideally located, couldn't pick one better, we wouldn't recommend any of the others we stayed in previously.

We arrived around 1pm but our room was ready for us, the reception staff were very pleasant and spoke fluent English. They insisted on taking our bags up to our room which was a good size with a lovely roomy bath/shower room, twin basins, glass door within bathroom to toilet and lovely step-in power shower with 2 showers, one you could detach and use manually.
We had a Juliet balcony overlooking the street which some reviewers said was noisy but we found it OK when windows were shut which you needed to do to use the air-con, especially in August!

We went up to the roof bar/terrace/pool when we had unpacked and it was very tastefully done but didn't stay as it was extremely hot up there.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel,preferring to eat outside in the many restaurants but we did have breakfast on the 3 mornings we were there, there was cereals, cold meats, smoked salmon,cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants,Danish pastries, toast and jams. There was also a hot section but didn't have their bacon, sausages or mushrooms, we weren't offered eggs on the first morning but the next day we were asked if we'd like any eggs and we had scrambled eggs although I have to say I found them rather odd looking and not to my taste but my husband had them again on the last morning so he thought they were fine.

It is a lovely old hotel and they offered tours around it but we didn't take them up on it.

We did encounter some 'ladies of the night' just down the street and a few yards from the hotel is what we presumed was some sort of mission where homeless people could get food from 10.15-11.15am and it was a little daunting at first when we encountered a considerable number of men along the street but there was no trouble.

There's also lots of beggars in Barcelona but I guess they're in all cities.

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay in a lovely friendly hotel and we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with an outside window as some rooms have a 'window' which is opaque and...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PerrysStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us. Your detailed review is highly apreciated.

I am very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff and that our facilities have fulfilled your expectations.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy and that we have contributed to your comfortably settling in Barcelona.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the very near future. My kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Espana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 Nights and it was just fantastic!!

Location was amazing. Right next to everything. 50m from Ramblas so you don't get the noise, but right by it.

Service was great. Front door was opened for me every time!

The building was beautiful and spotless.

Rooms were lovely. Would recommend spending the little extra on getting the bigger room as they can be quite small. The bathroom was brilliant!

Will definitely be back!!! :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ben-H-Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Ben,
Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us. We are proud to hear your comments . They mean a lot to myself and the team.

We all hope that you can get the chance to stay with us again in the near future. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Location was excellent for walking to the Barrio Gótic, Picasso museum, Palau de la Musica, shopping, the port area, and the night life.
Elegant hotel with a terrasse, hot bath, pool and tapas and drinks bar. Nice atmosphere with some nice details and elegant interior.

Room Tip: Inside yard room for a quiet room, I asume 4th floor is closest to the rooftop terrasse.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onesaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing with us and other visitors your experience with us.
We are very pleased for your very nice words about our facilities and service provided.

We all look forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the very near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in August.

Location is great as per previous reviews. 30 second walk off La Rambla!

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Quick and easy check in and check out.

Hotel itself is quite unique and stunning in places. Very boutique, spotlessly clean and spacious communal areas.

We had room 503 which was a delux with balcony. Expresso machine in the room and mini bar with daily water, juice and nibbles. Room was spotless and spacious. Nice big bathroom with 2 wash hand basins and large walk in shower. iPod Dock next to bed and flat screen tv. Massive balcony with table and chairs. Only one bit of feedback would be for the hotel to provide a couple of sun loungers on there.

Terrace at the rooftop was great at the end of a long day sightseeing. Small plunge pool and hot tub. Some sun loungers and great bar staff to hand to ensure your drinks are topped up! Also some nice chill out areas with soft seats. Had tapas there one evening which was great. Only 50 euros for a set menu with a bottle of wine. Ample for 2 people. Food of a high standard!

Didn't use the restaurant down stairs but heard good things about it.

We would definitely use this place again if we return and will recommend to friends and family. Also very reasonably priced considering the location and quality.

Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris_Cardiff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Chris,
First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear that our facilities fulfilled 100% your expectations and that you received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.
As per your comments about the terrace I agree that it is a very relaxing place where to enjoy good Tapas in a nice atmosphere and reasonables prices. It is a pitty you could not have dinner at Fonda España Restaurant. It worth it for its good quality food and special setting!

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future and we all thank you once again for recommending us. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent hotel for a special holiday.
The staff is professional, the hotel is clean and beautiful with a relaxing atmosphere.
Placed in the center of the city and near the metro stop good for all type of tourism.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank emak0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and service.
I really do hope that you can join us once again in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As the title suggests, this hotel is in a prime location. Just off La Ramblas, about 100 metres from Liceu metro station, and at the edge of the El Raval, which reminds me of the North Laines area of Brighton. The Gothic old town is a 2 min walk.
The hotel itself is modern, despite being a historic Modernist building. It has a wonderful interior, very quirky, yet retaining a sense of history.
The staff are very friendly, esp the bar staff. Roof top is lovely, nicely decorated. Pool is a little small and very cold, but jacuzzi makes up for it. Drinks and food are quite expensive, and it is probably ideal just to have a cocktail before you venture out and find one of the myriad of places to eat and drink. Stay off La Rmablas though, it is very expensive and poor quailty compared to the rest of the city.
Rooms are small, but very clean and have modern touches. One drawback, you have to slam the front door shut, otherwise it wouldn't lock. Had to phone the frontdesk to help, but they were helpful and situation was resolved quickly and without fuss. We heard a lot of people slamming their doors at all sorts of times, including 4am.
Another drawback was the window in the bathroom. Our room faced a hostel and there were many views of our bathroom if anyone cared to have a peek. The blind covering our window only covered half of the window, so there wasn't much privacy.
All in all, a lovely stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your detailed feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.
Thank you for advising us about the room door noise. Maintenance department is already taking care of it.
I also appreciate your sensibility towards the restoration of the building and your nice comments about its decoration.
Much appreciated are your words about our staff. We work very hard for our guests satisfaction and it is very rewarding we have made you enjoy.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. Our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking for a small boutique high quality hotel in Central Barcelona then this is the place to stay. The welcoming entrance with English speaking staff where nothing is too much trouble. A lovely small pool on the roof terrace with knowledgeable bar staff who make amazing cocktails.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The room we had was a little small so it is wise to ask for a larger room if possible. However it wa...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Suzzane,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España and for sharing them with us and other visitors.
I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our facilities and that you also enjoyed our hospitality and service. I agree with you that the the roof top terrace worth a visit, for its coktails, staff and good Tapas!!!
Don't miss our Restaurant Fonda España in your next visit!!

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#135 of 513 in Barcelona
1,633 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#106 of 513 in Barcelona
2,454 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,544 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
573 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £101 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing