We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Espana
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Catedral(Barcelona)
US$287
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Praktik Garden(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$153
US$135
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$124
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$251
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Raval(Barcelona)
US$322
US$258
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,666)
Filter reviews
1,666 results
Traveller rating
891
576
134
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
891
576
134
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasbeautiful hotelside streetrooftop barsant pauliceu metro stationdeluxe roomperfect locationplunge poolmini bargothic quarterla boqueriarooms are smalltop floorstayed here for nightstapascity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 1,666 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Really lovely recently modernised Hotel, right in the middle of the action, if you enjoy exploring, most of the attractions are within a reasonable time frame to walk to.

Great Hotel, Great staff, Great location

Room Tip: we had adjoining rooms on the first floor, quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Richard,
Thank you very much for your GREAT review following your stay at Hotel España.
Your very nice comments are highly apreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back very very soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Staff was alway access able with suggestions. Roof top bar a good way to fishish the evening. The location is just tucked back far enough but access to the labyrinth of the Gothic quarter was perfect. Great exploring to be done from there!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slipow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I am happy to read that the hotel facilities and services have fulfilled 100% your expectations.

I really do hope that you can join us once again in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful old building but with very modern amenities. Quite, comfortable and exceptionally styled room with plenty of space and excellent shower room. Free mini bar with water, juice and small snacks. Staff very helpful and friendly. The restaurant / breakfast prices seemed high, so we didn't eat in the hotel (though the menu did look wonderful so I imagine the food would be good). With the hotel in such an excellent location there is an abundance of places to eat outside so this wasn't a problem for us. Would definitely go back again. Wonderful roof terrace / bar with small pool, jacuzzi and sun loungers. Only suggestion: Tea / Coffee facilities in the room would be a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Lyn,
Thank you so much for your detailed review following your stay at Hotel España.
Thank you aIso for your nice comments about our staff. We work very hard for our guests satisfaction and it very rewarding to know we have been helpful and charm.
About the restaurant Fonda España, it is really a pitty you did not have the chance to taste the food, which has high quality at a very reasonable Price. And its the special setting is an added!!

I really do hope that you can join us once again in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a truly fantastic hotel right in the heart of Barcelona adjacent to the Liceu Opera house and just off the middle of the Ramblas. It is steeped in history and was renovated back to original 19th century condition a few years ago. All the public spaces, bar, restaurants, lobby etc are stunning and of equal standard to many of the local tourist attractions by Gaudi etc. This is reinforced by the fact that there is twice daily tour of the hotel, such is the interest in it. Although the hotel is historically beautiful the bedrooms have been fitted out in a very modern luxurious way. The ultra modern roof top terrace bar was not only great for evening cocktails but also boasts a dip pool and a jacuzzi ! with a few full length sun bed lounges too. We spent many a happy hour here in the sun after a days sightseeing. We had a gourmet taster dinner in the magnificent restaurant which was truly superb. As good a meal as I've had in any 'posh' UK restaurant. We had breakfast in the hotel as it came with the evening meal deal. We got a nice surprise to find it included hot bacon and sausages and eggs cooked to order any way you like (in addition to great cheese, cold meats, salmon and fruits, fresh bread, cereal etc) - set us up for the day! An added bonus was a fabulous flamenco guitarist on our first evening on the terrace - amazing. I hope your enjoy a stay here as much as we did. Faultless - all staff excellent too - Well done!

Room Tip: The stay and dine one night offer included breakfast and a room upgrade (if available). Well worth it. Lift to all floors. Use the restaurant!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience.
I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and received a good service from our staff.
I am also happy to read that you enjoyed our beautiful terrace on the top floor and our restaurant Fonda España. Both worth at least a visit for its quality food, service and special setting.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel location was perfect for tourists - in the heart of the Rambla. The metro station was right at the start of the street, and tourist buses were 5 minutes away.
The rooms are beautifully and newly decorated, with all modern facilities. The hotel itself is worth the visit, in art deco style, with 24h room service, and a side pool bar serving light snacks and open till 1am.
We stayed at the Rambla suite, with it's beautiful balcony, and spacious room & bathroom.
The staff was very friendly and helpful; they spoke English and French,and gave good information regarding restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have low wifi connection. If possible upgrade your room. Choose a breakfast included option - breakfast is expensive for value
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NORAH-PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Norah,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel España.
I apreciate yor feedback and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality and service.

Looking forward to welcome you very soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews