We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #219 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very good hotel, nice modern rooms very good bathroom. We asked for a quiet room and got on on the fourth floor at the front of the building.The staff charming and helpful. Good central position only 50 metres from La Rambla. The only downside is that the breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    307
    100
    17
    11
See reviews for
54
296
104
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ossett
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel welcome throughout our stay by every member of staff from reception to cleaners. Our room was services every day and we were provided with fresh towels too. It was 30 seconds walk to las rambles and same for an amazing square full of restaurants. The road was off a small side street so there was little noise. We never heard any of the other people stopping in the hotel. The hotel is pretty much half way up las rambles which makes it a perfect location for accessing the sites, many bars and many restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again and for the money we paid I couldn't fault this place!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice hotel is located near Rambla and close to main sights. Breakfast is poor. Location is exellent! Small but comfortable rooms with the balkony. Good and clean bathroom. Nice for young travellers! Frendly stuff.

Room Tip: book the rooms at high floor if you want good sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fallen_Angel_SALAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The front desk staff were extremely helpful! Our room was on the 4th floor and was very quiet. The property is a short walk from the La Ramblas and in the heart of the old city. This was my second time to stay at this hotel and I had very good experiences each time.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the 3rd and 4th floors and never heard the street noise, even though our 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Arrived at the Hotel to find our room had been cancelled because the company we booked thru on Bookings.com had gone bust. We were offered another room at a little extra expense which we were grateful for, but the room was quite poor. There was blobs of white dried paint in the bath which I tried to scrape out but only managed to remove one. The tiles were full of mould and loose. The room overlooked a very very noisy street which went on till about 6am each night. I was actually surprised how noisy it was. I didn't complain to the manager at the time because we were grateful to be given a room after it being cancelled. I suppose you also get what you pay for and it was ideal if you want to be close to La Rambla.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 5 nights. Its a great hotel, located in a side street just a couple of minutes from the Ramblas. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the street and the noise level wasn't really an issue, even though there was a major festival on when we were there. Our room was larger than we expected with a good sized ensuite and everything was spotless. Breakfast was more than adequate with coffee, tea, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, bread/rolls, muffins etc. The real selling point for this hotel though is its location, you are within a short walking distance from everything and on a city break this was exactly what we were looking for. The best recommendation I can give is that if we were going back to Barcelona, this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinatraFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Both my partner and I stayed here a few days ago for a total of 2 nights. Absolutely fabulous hotel right in the heart of barri gothic down a quiet alleyway. The rooms are great size, the hotel is modern in decor and staff very accommodating. The location is the best I've stayed in whenever I've visited Barcelona. I will most defiantly be back, and when I do will be looking to stay here again. The breakfast was good continental quality and timeframe for this was ideal. Loved it :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank coollager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#197 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#313 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#152 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#344 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#277 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: c/Rauric 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#163 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel California is an urban hotel in the main centre of Barcelona. It's ​​recently refurbished and modernised and located in the historic, cultural and commercial heart of Barcelona. Only 1 minute's walk from the famous Ramblas and very close to the main tourist attractions of the city (the Gothic Quarter, La Pedrera, famous theatres and museums, cinemas, restaurants, shopping, the Port, etcetera). It is mainly characterised by an excellent customer and cleaning service that makes guests feel at home and experience a nice and comfortable stay in Barcelona. The hotel also offers you free services: WIFI (throughout the hotel), continental breakfast, hotel safe, room service and reception 24 hours and amenities. Its rooms have air conditioning / heating, LCD TV, international TV channels, telephone, desk, soundproofed windows and have private own bathroom with hairdryer, towels and everyday amenities. Its staff will help you in everything you need. All to experience an excellent value in the centre of Barcelona. Come and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barcelona
Ca Barcelona
Hotel California Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing