We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantville”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #260 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A lovely little hotel tucked down a side street off La Ramblas. Turn Left at KFC/Macdonalds as you walk down La Rambla. turn right at O'Hara's Irish Pub. And hey Presto. Great location for just about everything. We did find the alleyways a little noisy during the night but if you keep you windows closed you'll be fine. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Barcelona is a lovely place to visit and if I return in the future. Hotel California is where I would stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoreyAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very good hotel, nice modern rooms very good bathroom. We asked for a quiet room and got on on the fourth floor at the front of the building.The staff charming and helpful. Good central position only 50 metres from La Rambla. The only downside is that the breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were made to feel welcome throughout our stay by every member of staff from reception to cleaners. Our room was services every day and we were provided with fresh towels too. It was 30 seconds walk to las rambles and same for an amazing square full of restaurants. The road was off a small side street so there was little noise. We never heard any of the other people stopping in the hotel. The hotel is pretty much half way up las rambles which makes it a perfect location for accessing the sites, many bars and many restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again and for the money we paid I couldn't fault this place!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice hotel is located near Rambla and close to main sights. Breakfast is poor. Location is exellent! Small but comfortable rooms with the balkony. Good and clean bathroom. Nice for young travellers! Frendly stuff.

Room Tip: book the rooms at high floor if you want good sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fallen_Angel_SALAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The front desk staff were extremely helpful! Our room was on the 4th floor and was very quiet. The property is a short walk from the La Ramblas and in the heart of the old city. This was my second time to stay at this hotel and I had very good experiences each time.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the 3rd and 4th floors and never heard the street noise, even though our 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Arrived at the Hotel to find our room had been cancelled because the company we booked thru on Bookings.com had gone bust. We were offered another room at a little extra expense which we were grateful for, but the room was quite poor. There was blobs of white dried paint in the bath which I tried to scrape out but only managed to remove one. The tiles were full of mould and loose. The room overlooked a very very noisy street which went on till about 6am each night. I was actually surprised how noisy it was. I didn't complain to the manager at the time because we were grateful to be given a room after it being cancelled. I suppose you also get what you pay for and it was ideal if you want to be close to La Rambla.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 5 nights. Its a great hotel, located in a side street just a couple of minutes from the Ramblas. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the street and the noise level wasn't really an issue, even though there was a major festival on when we were there. Our room was larger than we expected with a good sized ensuite and everything was spotless. Breakfast was more than adequate with coffee, tea, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, bread/rolls, muffins etc. The real selling point for this hotel though is its location, you are within a short walking distance from everything and on a city break this was exactly what we were looking for. The best recommendation I can give is that if we were going back to Barcelona, this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SinatraFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#205 of 520 in Barcelona
1,007 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#284 of 520 in Barcelona
987 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Cortes
Hotel Cortes
#287 of 520 in Barcelona
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#83 of 520 in Barcelona
1,559 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#363 of 520 in Barcelona
148 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#311 of 520 in Barcelona
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: c/Rauric 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £59 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel California is an 3 stars urban hotel in the main centre of Barcelona. It's ​​recently refurbished and located in the historic, cultural and commercial heart of Barcelona. Only 1 minute's walk from the famous Ramblas and very close to the main tourist attractions of the city (the Gothic Quarter, La Pedrera, theatres and museums, restaurants, shopping, the Port). It is mainly characterised by an excellent customer and cleaning service that makes guests feel at home in Barcelona. The hotel also offers you free services: WIFI (throughout the hotel), continental breakfast, safe, room service and reception 24 hours and amenities... Its rooms have air conditioning / heating, LCD TV, international TV channels, telephone, desk, mirror, soundproofed windows and have private own bathroom with hairdryer, towels and everyday amenities. Its staff will help you in everything you need. All to experience an excellent value in the centre of Barcelona. Come and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barcelona
Ca Barcelona
Hotel California Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing