We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #253 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was the second time we stayed at Hotel California and have no complaints whatsoever. The price and location were the priority and in view of that we expected and accept something slightly rough around the edges.
Good points are friendly helpful but not "in your face" staff on reception and at breakfast, the location is ideal for wandering around the city and also for many bars and restaurants especially with Placa Reial on your doorstep. The bed was comfortable and extra pillows are provided in the room. If you want a negative the bathroom is a bit "lived in" with missing, and clearly repaired grouting, but it was clean. Breakfast was what I expected and perfectly adequate, with (not fresh) fruit juice, water, cereal, cold meats, cheese, preserves, bread rolls, croissants and muffins. Coffee (decent in my opinion) is available from a machine. It did get a little noisy outside on Saturday night, but to me that's part of being in such a handy location. For a three night stay this hotel fitted the bill perfectly for me and my wife and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank RedRay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great location, location, location.
The first room we had was quite noisy overlooking a popular bar where revelers were partying all night. I mean all night. We moved the next day to a room overlooking the courtyard which is nothing to look at but much quieter. We hit a heat wave in Barcelona and the A/C had been turned off for the season in the hotel making it quite uncomfortable. The staff was very nice and after 3 days or so they were able to get the owner to turn the A/C back on which made a big difference.
For this hotel it is all about the convenience of the location. If staying in Barcelona, and you like to walk, this is a great spot.
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was good enough.
For the price, and we got a great price, this was a good deal. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard. We did this but did not get one the first night and it was VERY noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tennismama88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Get location to start with. In the Gothic Quarter just a couple of blocks in from La Rambla. Lots of pubs and restaurants in walking distance. Was giving a First floor room facing an alley. Bring ear plugs or do like the locals and stay out all night. Free breakfast in the morning. Good enough to get you started until lunch time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alxmendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stay for New Years Eve arriving on the Sunday and returning home on New Years Day.
It's not the easiest hotel to find; the airport bus is excellent and drops you off at Pl. Catalunya, (the last stop).
We found the hotel by walking down the Rambla, (towards the sea) turn left down Carrer de Ferran and then it's your third right down C/ Rauric, clear as mud? Lol
The location is excellent and yes it can be a little noisy, (especially on New Year’s Eve, lol) but if you want peace and quiet then stay further away?
The hotel was clean and tidy, but our room was much smaller than our brother and sister in laws, when we asked if we could move rooms we were told we would have to wait until the following day which we did, there was no hassle or complaining from the staff.
Regarding the staff, we have to say that they were excellent, especially when you had a question regarding getting around? We even borrowed an iron and ironing board at no extra charge. They were so helpful and friendly, many thanks to you all!!
As stated on previous reviews the breakfast was basic but could be improved by some salad, fruit and perhaps a toaster? But as the old adage says, you pay for what you get?
Regarding cost, this was the cheapest hotel we could find in the area with a decent review on Trip.
We would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath, bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahlindWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent location in the heart of gothic quarter. We stayed for 2 nights and needed ear plugs to sleep because Barcelona doesn't!

Excellent restaurant "my way" opposite served amazing cocktails and tapas. Our concierge recommended all restaurants and bus stops to help us navigate the city. He was so helpful and made our trip.

The room was small and not clean. Mould around the bath and hairs on the floor. We complained but nothing improved when the room was cleaned the following day.

No fruit at breakfast, would have been a nice touch. We were surprised that this hotel received an average of 4 stars on trip advisor but would recommend on location alone.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lovethebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The best I could find with a excellent quality/price ratio, as it was recently refurbished, and, inside, has a modern look...
Breakfast good enough for the price, although I would be happy to see some fruit...
The only negative item to point is about location. Although an excellent location near the Rambla and Plaça del Rey, for that it was also too noisy at night, even with the window closed...as many young people stayed talking in the neighborhood till very late.
Not a very goodnight sleep...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo-M-F-Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Two blocks off the Ramblas, this hotel is very clean with friendly, English-speaking staff. The included continental breakfast in the rustic below-ground-level room had many more than the average choices. Walk the opposite direction from the way to the Ramblas and shortly came to Plaça de Sant Jaume (St. James' square): the center of the Old City. At Plaça de Sant Jaume you can buy 2-day passes which cover all public transportation (bus/subway/and trains) . The beds were hard, but we slept well once the maid pointed out the air-conditioner thermostat, which we promptly turned on. The Wi-Fi was great. We absolutely loved the area around this hotel, and plan to stay here the next time we are in Barcelona.

Room Tip: People are awake round the clock, so streetside you can hear noise at night. However, I loved being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#322 of 515 in Barcelona
543 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#238 of 515 in Barcelona
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#346 of 515 in Barcelona
835 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#90 of 515 in Barcelona
1,525 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#127 of 515 in Barcelona
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: c/Rauric 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel California is an urban hotel in the main centre of Barcelona. It's ​​recently refurbished and modernised and located in the historic, cultural and commercial heart of Barcelona. Only 1 minute's walk from the famous Ramblas and very close to the main tourist attractions of the city (the Gothic Quarter, La Pedrera, famous theatres and museums, cinemas, restaurants, shopping, the Port, etcetera). It is mainly characterised by an excellent customer and cleaning service that makes guests feel at home and experience a nice and comfortable stay in Barcelona. The hotel also offers you free services: WIFI (throughout the hotel), continental breakfast, hotel safe, room service and reception 24 hours and amenities. Its rooms have air conditioning / heating, LCD TV, international TV channels, telephone, desk, soundproofed windows and have private own bathroom with hairdryer, towels and everyday amenities. Its staff will help you in everything you need. All to experience an excellent value in the centre of Barcelona. Come and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barcelona
Ca Barcelona
Hotel California Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing