We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super good value for money”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #256 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location in Gothic old town with walking distance to beach and shopping. Clean and very friendly atmosphere. Big thanks to all staff and especially to William! He was sooo funny and made us feel like we were old friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank MKamph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Brilliant location! lovely friendly staff. quick check-in & check-out service. Just be careful of pick pockets on carrer de ferran - but not hotel's problem! good buffet breakfast served downstairs. Great 3 nite stay, will be back!

Room Tip: avoid front of house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic value for a city centre hotel! It's noisy at night time but you are right in the middle of a very lively part of Barcelona! Would highly recommend this hotel, rooms extremely adequate for a 2 Star hotel, location is perfect, do it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Slates68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just stayed here for 3 nights. location is perfect for getting access to la rambla very close by. Staff are very friendly and are happy to help any time. everything in room is safe as the hotel is 24hr and you give the key to reception when you are going out. breakfast was basic but nevertheless still very good. hotel rooms are cleaned daily and the rooms are generally clean all the time anyway, beds are comfy, i had very good night sleep. im returning back to barcelona in september and will be going back to this hotel without a doubt. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were traveling with a baby, so we needed a room big enough to set his play pen, which is challenging in Spain. The room that we had is barely big enough, but we're happy with this hotel. The room is very clean, the staff is very nice, and the hotel is quiet. The breakfast buffet was also pretty good. The location is excellent. Wifi is spotty.

Overall, we were happy with this hotel and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Without a doubt, location is excellent, right in the heart of La Rambla. Other pros: nice, charming receptionists, clean rooms. Wifi, though a bit slow during the evening, was free. Cons: the first room given to us had a foul smell. Fortunately, we were given another room upon request. Breakfast is ok if you stay only for a day or two. We stayed for 6, and it was the same every single day. Exactly the same! So we thought of skipping breakfast during our last 2 days.

Still, if location is a top priority, this is a good find. Just don't expect too much.

(As of last count, I have posted 27 reviews, all on hotels, of which I got 22 helpful votes. I write my reviews as I see and experience them. I make it a point not to exaggerate both the good and the bad sides. So there.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FMD88528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked a stay with the California and were expecting a bare-bones hotel where we could sleep and leave our stuff. We were pleasantly surprised. Room/bed was very nice, with a great updated bathroom. Breakfast is perfectly adequate, and the breakfast room is very modern and inviting. As a bonus, five steps away is a fantastic little cocktail bar called Day Bar where Jennifer the owner makes some of the best cocktails I've ever had. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Barcelona.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jam1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#88 of 517 in Barcelona
1,543 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#196 of 517 in Barcelona
1,001 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#340 of 517 in Barcelona
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#330 of 517 in Barcelona
551 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#159 of 517 in Barcelona
687 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#353 of 517 in Barcelona
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: c/Rauric 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £51 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel California is an urban hotel in the main centre of Barcelona. It's ​​recently refurbished and modernised and located in the historic, cultural and commercial heart of Barcelona. Only 1 minute's walk from the famous Ramblas and very close to the main tourist attractions of the city (the Gothic Quarter, La Pedrera, famous theatres and museums, cinemas, restaurants, shopping, the Port, etcetera). It is mainly characterised by an excellent customer and cleaning service that makes guests feel at home and experience a nice and comfortable stay in Barcelona. The hotel also offers you free services: WIFI (throughout the hotel), continental breakfast, hotel safe, room service and reception 24 hours and amenities. Its rooms have air conditioning / heating, LCD TV, international TV channels, telephone, desk, soundproofed windows and have private own bathroom with hairdryer, towels and everyday amenities. Its staff will help you in everything you need. All to experience an excellent value in the centre of Barcelona. Come and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barcelona
Ca Barcelona
Hotel California Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing