We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in a fab location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Urquinaona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Urquinaona
Ranked #411 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great value in a fab location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

For £70 a night with breakfast this hotel is very tough to beat on value. We came to Barcelona for a 3 night stay to celebrate our anniversary. At the airport, we jumped on the aerobus at T2- turn left when you come out of arrivals, the bus stop is right there - and arrived at Plaza Catalunya just 20minutes later. The hotel was a quick 5 minute walk. We received a friendly welcome and were checked in quickly. The room was a great size with a king size bed and a single bed, and a cute little balcony overlooking the street. Nicely decorated, clean and tidy, with a fridge which was great for keeping the wine chilled! The shower was fantastic, really powerful with a drencher and shower head. The bathroom could've done with some maintenance in terms of repainting/peeling paper etc but at the price I'm not complaining. Husband slept like a log but the street noise did disrupt my sleep (we were on 3rd floor). However I had requested a balcony and the benefit of being able to sit and watch the hustle bustle of Barcelona life outweighed a poor sleep - I'm sure bedrooms away from the street would be quiet so just depends on your preference. Breakfast is in the adjoining cafe and was basic but great given the price - croissants, donuts, cheese, ham, bread, orange juice, coffee, butter, jam. We were able to leave our bags on the last day until our flight in the evening which saved money we would've spent at the luggage lockers. All in, I'd recommend this hotel if location and value are your priorities. Thank you for a lovely stay, hotel urquinaona!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank beachbabe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    155
    88
    44
    26
See reviews for
84
141
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Booneville Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

First remember this is considered a budget type hotel. The mattress was visco foam and was comfortable except that it was hot to sleep on. When you locked your room, all the electricity to the room turned off. Air conditioning was not adequate for me. People were very gracious--especially David. Only one person didn't speak English and we couldn't get him to understand about the time for our wake up call the we left. It is very close to the Metro and Catalanya (?) Plaza. There is a bus that the city runs from Catalanya Plaza to the airport regularly that we used as transport. The furnished breakfast consisted of fresh fruit (strawberries, pineapple, watermelon), ham and sausage, bread and juice or coffee. The bread was so good and so was the fruit. Oh, they had a type of cereal but it wasn't my favorite. Milk was room temp and cereal seemed a bit stale. They do have an elevator to get your luggage up and down--very slow--but it works. We used the stairs for our trips up and down. Blow dryer in room and they furnished me with an adapter for me to charge my cell phone, etc. Only one outlet in the bathroom. Over all we were pleased with our room for the price and enjoyed visiting with the desk workers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MagnoliaMS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Excellent service. The staff were very helpful and polite.
The room was fine with a little fridge. The beds were very comfortable.
Reasonably quiet location considering we were in the middle of the city. Lovely shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location is really good, as you're literally steps away from the stairwell down to Urquinaona metro station, of the red line.

My room was modern with a cosy top floor room and a super clean bathroom. The room even had a nice miniature ''balcony'', enabling you to step foot outside for some fresh air.

The staff were extremely friendly and provided me with all the assistance & information I needed.

The continental breakfast was served in this nice bistro cafe lounge, which also offers lunch and dinner, and is right next door (accessible through the lobby too). The croissant/crescent rolls were delicious I might add.

Wi-Fi had to be one of the fastest ones I ever used in any hotel.

Thank you Hotel Urquinaona

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionheartMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
#362 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#345 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#379 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#476 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#483 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Hotel Via Augusta
#177 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urquinaona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urquinaona

Property: Hotel Urquinaona
Address: Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Urquinaona 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urquinaona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquinaona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Urquinaona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing