We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Cortes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cortes
Ranked #291 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 1 September 2013

i've stayed in this hotel this July. For 2 stars hotel it was actually very great, rooms were very nice, we asked for 3 single beds and got room big enough for 4 people, we had nice balcony which we LOVED. the location is very good and easy to go anywhere from the hotel spot. Tho for good restaurants you have to walk to the gothic neighborhood - 5 min form the hotel, most of the restaurants next to the hotel are expensive and not worth your money. the bars in the ramblas were nice.... but anything outside of the ramblas are 10 times better.

i loved the hotel, loved the rooms, good value for money, comfy beds, clean rooms, very quiet, and the staff were lovely! will definitely come back to this hotel at my next visit in Barcelona!
Good for friends, business, couples, families, and single travelers.

Room Tip: we were 3 people and stayed in 501, lovely balcony and big bathroom, room was big enough for 4 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

As such the hotel is nothing special. Rooms are decent and clean - breakfast is OK. Based solely on this it would have been 3 stars, but location just of the Rambla is great within walking distance to a lot of the great places in Barcelona triggers an "upgrade" to 4 stars.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a small balcony so try to get one of those (I didn't, but being a smoker...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank dakolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Located on a side street just steps off Las Rambles, and a short walk to the Hop On/Off Bus. Our room was clean & comfortable, with a nice sized bath room including tub with shower. Our window opened to the side street, but when closed the room was quiet. We were grateful for the cold air conditioner as it was hot outside (August), just insert your room key in the slot. Staff were helpful & friendly, breakfast was good. Free WiFi, and computer with internet in the lounge area. We paid 143 Euro in high season for a double. We felt this was a good value for a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a gem! Paid only 65€ to stay right on the Rambla without the noise and mayhem. It's situated on a side street just beside a big Desigual store and round the corner from Plaza Catalunya. My room overlooked a small courtyard and I didn't hear a peep at night! Room is basic and very clean. Service was excellent both from the reception, breakfast and cleaning staff. Could not have asked for a better place to stay in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimosa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed in 3 different places in Barcelona during our 4 day trip, and this place was excellent. 1 min walk from La Rambla, beautiful room (we had a double room with double bed), great breakfast included and balcony. Free access to computer and WiFi as well (althoug we did not get the WiFI to work). I can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larsfromnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed there for a week in early June 2013 Good location, being central, and close to most tourist attractions. Hotel amenities were basic, though in need of major upgrade even to warrant a 2 star rating. Breakfast was included in the price, but it lacked choice, variety and sometimes quantity. I think you dare not ask for a second cup of coffee! The staff generally were stern, unfriendly and sometimes very rude, with a dislike for smiling and saying "Good morning". One exception, a charming female receptionist (Italian, I think), who was friendly, helpful at all times. Unfortunately, she was on duty on rare occasions.

If the hotel upgraded its basic amenities, trained the staff in how to be friendly and corteous to its visitors it could improve its rating and warrant its 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Book a room on the street side, but above second floor level. Please note that when in your room it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it very pleasant. They staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything. They all spoke English very well. Breakfast was simple but satisfying enough, and the rooms were clean and adequate for our needs. Maybe on the small side for some people, but considering your out for best part of the day and only realy sleep there it's worth it. The airconditioning system worked fine and discovered if you left a credit card size piece of plastic in the wall slot you came back to nice cool room. The only downside was that the aircon had a funny smell to it, but the windows opened so if it became a problem for you just open the windows instead! Excellent location if you want to be in the heart of everything especially shopping areas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EW891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#305 of 516 in Barcelona
432 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#210 of 516 in Barcelona
1,084 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#158 of 516 in Barcelona
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#87 of 516 in Barcelona
1,543 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#179 of 516 in Barcelona
1,508 reviews
El Raval
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Moderno Hotel Bcn
#357 of 516 in Barcelona
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortes

Address: Santa Ana 25, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £43 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortes 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortes Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cortes Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing