We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice in a perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Granvia
Ranked #60 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice in a perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Nice hotel, renovated and with a very nice terrace.
I've been there for a week end, the room was excellent and all the hotel quite nice.
The interior design is look alike with the old and former one. The location is quite strategic because it's near the old city and the Rambla
They might improve the breakfast food quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crisnux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate that you liked the design, the location and the hotel itself. Regarding breakfast, we consider that we have a wide range of products in our buffet at the promotional price of 11€. The vast majority of our guests are highly satisfied with our buffet and they repeat day after day. However, we regret to know that it didn’t meet your expectations and we hope to see you back soon at the hotel.

Kind regards,


Eduard Ferreres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    295
    51
    19
    15
See reviews for
237
506
53
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We found this hotel through another booking site and used TripAdvisor to cross reference - the good post refurb reviews and photos convinced us to book and overall we were happy with our stay.

Pros - As previously mentioned the hotel is situated in a great central location, modern/minimalist decor, welcoming/stylish reception area, very clean communal areas and rooms, firm/comfy beds, pristine bedlinen and friendly/helpful reception staff.

Cons - The en-suite bathroom in our Superior room didn't have a window and the fan wasn't efficient enough to cope with the dampness after a couple of showers in the morning. Unfortunately this meant there was a lingering, damp, sulphurous smell in the morning and on occasion when we returned to our room after a day out. We reported the problem to reception on the mornings when it was at it's worst and the smell had gone returned to the room, but the need for more efficient fans is clear.
We also asked for an iron and ironing board on the morning we were going to a friend's wedding, only to be told for health & safety they couldn't provide one, but did ask a housekeeper to provide us with a price list for laundry services. Prices were a little higher than expected, so if you're savvy I'd suggest packing a travel iron for the odd creased item!

We chose to have breakfast at local cafes instead of at the hotel which gave us the opportunity to explore and experience places off the beaten track. We did pop our heads into the dining hall and lounge though and both were stylishly decorated and very welcoming - just can't comment on the standard of breakfast or refreshments, but judging from the many Instagram photos posted online, it's looks inviting!

Room Tip: For a longer stay, try to book a Superior room as they're larger, have french doors with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkamh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during a business trip.
It is very modern and stylish and seems to have been renovated only recently. Conveniently located in the heart of Barcelona, it is in a side street just next to Paseig de Gracia where you can find several options for shopping and eating.
The staff was very friendly. The room itself (single bed room no. 407) was quite small but fit the purpose. It is designed more for the use of sleeping and not for spending much time inside. The window was showing towards a wall.
The bathroom was also small and taller persons might have trouble to enter and exit the shower cabin since it was quite tight.
The shower itself was great and bed were very comfortable.
The room price was around EUR 100,-/night which is a good price for such a location considering the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Terence,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you posted this review. We would like to thank you as well for choosing Hotel Granvia and for recommend it to other future guests.

Best regards,


Eduard Ferreres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Found this hotel on TripAvisor based on central location, room big enough for 3 adults & value. We had a car & were able to find parking nearby. Caution!, parking is expensive in downtown Barcelona. The hotel is about 2 blocks away from Plaza Cataluyna which is central to Metro, buses, taxis & the hop-on-hop-off buses, as well as many restaurants, shops & other services. The hotel is located in a beautiful old building which has recently been renovated from top to bottom. The reception staff are very helpful, professional & personable. They also speak good English. The room was very spacious, modern, clean & well appointed. The bathroom was also clean & well appointed, however the shower was on the small size. Not really an issue. I want to give a big shout out to Mark, one of the reception staff. He went out of his way to help us when we missplaced our parking ticket. Excellent service! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Robin,

First of all thank you very much for posting your review, we do most appreciate it. Secondly, we must admit that in Barcelona, as it happens in almost every European big city, it’s difficult and expensive to find a car park space in the city centre. In order to help customers that might find themselves in your same situation, we have an agreement with the car park next door for a reduced rate for our guests of 26€.

Finally, we would like to thank you again for your trust and should you find yourself in the position, do not hesitate to recommend us.

Kindest regards,


Eduard Ferreres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is just refurbished and very nice. The bed is comfortable and the hotel room is so clean. The location is great, we basically walk to everywhere. The hotel manger is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Nadia,

Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to meet you again.

Kind regards,


Eduard Ferreres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

From the airport, Hotel Granvia is easy to reach by airport bus (5Euro) or Taxi (28Euro). You can start exploring the city from here by tourist bus, subway, rickshaw, e-bike, moto-tricycle, subway or by foot thanks to it's central location.
Skip the 14 Euro breakfast and try a cafe nearby, sit at the bar like the locals.
Rooms are newly renovated (forget about any pictures before June 2013). We liked the decent colors and materials such as the wooden floor in our room. We had a room to a courtyanrd which was extremely silent. We had a perfect sleep just meters away from bustling Paseig de Garcia.
Paseig de Garcia is a perfect shopping location with options for every budget just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chinaflyer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
First of all thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your room and your stay with us.

We would like to clarify that until the end of August and as part of our opening promotion, breakfast only costs 11€ and it’s a wide hot and cold buffet. During September our breakfast will cost 12€ only if booked in advance.

Thank you very much again and we are really looking forward to see you soon in the hotel.

Kindest regards,

Sílvia Segura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My sister and I stayed six nights....I read previous reviews of it looking tired but with the refurbishment it has been restored...the facade is reminiscent of an old styled building but inside almost everything is modern....we didn't have the breakfast as the hotel is close to lots of cafes. Plus the location is excellent....we walked everywhere....and I mean everywhere....to the Marina, La Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya....cafes, bars, shopping mall, etc, hop on hop off bus stop is close by too and we explored the outskirts of the city in this way.....I was told not to eat in the city centre by a Spanish friend (too expensive and not authentic) but since we walked everywhere we couldn't go too far....The hotel recommended the Musso tapas bar and it is nice. The only fault I could find with the hotel is that there is no tea/coffee service in the room (nice to have a morning cuppa!) and the lift broke down one day and we had to walk up the four flights of stairs; thanks Daniela for doing the booking...and we hope the price will be the same next year!

Room Tip: We had a classic room that faces the street and we wanted a window, with the air-conditioning you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmania070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, our restaurant recommendations and the hotel itself.

We would like to thank you for your suggestion regarding the en suite tea and coffee facilities and we would like you to know that we are considering your petition.

We will be delighted to see you here next year and as a repeat guest that you will be, we will do our best to offer you a booking at the best available rate.

Kind regards,

Sílvia Segura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Property: Hotel Granvia
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing