We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel”
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Granvia
Ranked #57 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel, clean, friendly and a great location close to the popular Plaza de Catalunya and the Ramblas. The decor is very contemporary with large black and white period photos on a general white wall background which is a contrast with the glorious style of the hotel. The food at breakfast is of buffet style and I doubt that anyone would not find something to eat, food is replenished on a regular basis. The roof top area just outside the dining room is quiet and relaxing although the view is just of surrounding buildings, however it is still a great area to relax. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can honestly say that the next time I visit Barcelona I will be staying at the Granvia !!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona.

We are truly pleased to know you had a lovely stay with us and we would like to thank you again for taking some time to share your wonderful experience with us.

Finally we would like you to know that we are really looking forward to meet you again here at the hotel.

Best regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    308
    54
    19
    16
See reviews for
248
544
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Have just spent a long weekend at this hotel and will recommend to anyone. We arrived at 11am but the room wasn't ready but no problem. We left the bags and off we went. Returned just after 3pm and the room was all ready. Huge room with double bed and a settee in. The hotel is on a busy street but we asked for a quiet room and were placed at the back of the hotel which was very quiet.

Breakfast was included in our price and had everything that you normally find for continental breakfast even bacon and scrambled eggs one morning!! The staff are possibly the most friendly I have come across. Everyone had a smile on their face and made you feel instantly welcome.

The hotel is about 15 min walk from the harbour. The only niggle the hotel had was that in our room you could hear all the bathroom activities of surrounding rooms!! Not good when you are trying to lie in and someone in the other room is showering at 7am!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190728Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona and for taking some time to share your experience with us.

We always try our best in order to make our guests feel satisfied during their stay, so thanks again for sharing this review with us.

Finally, we would like to mention that we are truly pleased to know that you had a lovely stay with us and we hope you can visit us again in a soon future.

Kind regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Granvia for 5 days after a cruise the hotel has been recently remodeled - they did a great job it's really beautiful. We stayed in rm 318 it was quite large by European standards and overlooked the courtyard which was also lovely. The room had a queen bed, 2 modern side table’s big flat screen TV, couch & desk – the bathroom was also large. The shower was a bit of a pain, no matter how careful you were water splashed all over the place! The A/C in the room put out a musty/mildew-ey smell, it was not replaced in the remodel based on how it looked, old yellowed color - we kept the window open to offset the smell. (FYI – A/C temp must be adjusted at the front desk.) Several nights we heard a dripping noise, the night before we left we actually did have a leak from the ceiling near our bed (not above it thank goodness!). It must have been a plumbing problem in room above - we called the front desk - they said OK and we never heard any more about it - never asked if it was OK, or if we even needed a bucket - we put a towel on the floor so it wouldn't ruin the hard wood and I guess they told the folks upstairs to stop whatever they were doing. The doors to all the rooms are very thick and make a loud slam when neighbors are coming and going so if you are a light sleeper and want to go to bed early or sleep late you might need some ear plugs. (We got use to it after a day or so!) The hallways & hotel common areas do have a very strong flowery smell – I’m not overly scent sensitive but if you were it may be a problem. Breakfast was not included in our hotel room price (grand opening special or something) so if we wanted it the price was 11 euro - all for a self-serve continental breakfast food that sits out in the open for several hours! If you elect to have coffee during breakfast hours its 3.50 euro - the rest of the day it’s free - and good luck finding a coffee cup or clean place to sit – and the coffee maker requires a special education to make it put out coffee – when it is working. There is no bar or restaurant in the Hotel, so if you thought you could come back from a hard day sightseeing and have a drink in the courtyard you better stop at the market first! Overall we had a great time and the hotel was nice, just don’t expect much in the way of service – it seemed like they missed the mark every time. The location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mechw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Hotel Granvia in October 2013 very much. Hotel is smart, recently refurbished to a high standard. For those interested in architecture and design the interior has been restored in keeping with the older features of the building, and yet has a cool, modern feel. Great black and white photos in the black/white entrance lobby, magnificent mouldings on the ceiling etc, white doors, black door numbers etc. We asked for a quiet room and got a room overlooking the central courtyard behind the hotel, so yes, very quiet! No traffic noise and yet we were staying just off the Passeig de Gracia which is a main shopping avenue, and not more than 8 minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya where we got off the airport bus. its about a 10 minute walk to the top of Las Ramblas, quite easy to do in the evening, and also very close to the Passeig de Gracia metro station which can connect you with pretty much anywhere you want to go in Barcelona. The food at breakfast had plenty of choice, cooked (including bacon, scrambled eggs) and muesli, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, cheese, cakes etc our only criticism was that the expresso coffee machine was a bit small for the number of people wanting that service, so there was a bit of a wait for coffee most mornings. We did not use the aircon as it wasnt needed in October, but it seemed a bit noisy when we first got there, so we turned it off. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Great city for an autumn break, and a good hotel to stay in for visiting Barcelona. Would certainly go there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard to get a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona.

We are truly pleased to know you had a lovely stay with us and we would like to thank you again for taking some time to share your wonderful experience with us.

Finally we would like you to know that we appreciate your trust and we really hope you can come back and stay with us again any time in the future.

Best regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Located in the heart of the city, this hotel is clean and comfortable and stylish. The reception staff were helpful and informative. The waiter in the breakfast room worked very hard and was pleasant and accommodating.
There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but you can get coffee from the machine in the breakfast room at any time and the staff were quick to bring milk out too. Everywhere is clean and stylish. The terrace area is a great place to sit out and have a drink after a hard day sight-seeing. There isn't a hotel car park, but if you do take a car, there is an underground car park practically next door and if you get reception to stamp your ticket, you will be entitled to a discount.
Overall, a good hotel, helpful staff and a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to see you in Barcelona once again.

Finally, may we take this opportunity to thank you one more time for posting such a nice review.

Kind regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novi sad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's fully new, not just renovated hotel, that's my impressions after 10 wonderful days here from jun 24. this year with my family. Location is excellent, you are in the hart off the city, Plaza Cataluna and Portal del Angel are on three minutes walk, Paseig de Gracia is actually your address, Park Ciutadella and the beach is on 10-15 minutes walk, in a word Granvia is the best cross point for exploring Barcelona.But not just location, hotel is really nice and stylish, modern and retro at the same time, preserving the spirit of modernista Barcelona with touch for details.But gem off the hotel is terrace, your private peaceful garden in the hart off one off the most the busiest cities in the world! Thanks to terrace you can have real vacation and rest combined with running around this unique city! Staff is great, friendly and very helpful.We didn't take breakfast because we want to try some off many cafes all around, and first off all, one and only - the Boqueria, one off "must to feel" sights in Barcelona, on 5 minutes easy walk.Tip for the Guell park - bus station on Plaza Catalunia is not good marked so you can't see it easy.You have bus station just around the corner on Paseig Gracia in front off one off the cafes on both - left and right side Paseig de Gracia from Gran Via street...We also recommend University in Gran Via street, few minutes walk from hotel,there is beautiful patio and nice atmosphere, but generally Gran Via street is worth to see...Rooms are elegant,clean and stylish, it’s only one minus is that there is no balcony, but that’s ok with wonderful terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona.

We are truly pleased to know you had a lovely stay with us and we would like to thank you again for taking some time to share your wonderful experience with us.

Finally we would like you to know that in the case you have a chance in the future, we are really looking forward to meet you again at the hotel.

Best regards,


The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central location and proximity the the metro. Arriving mid morning after a lengthy journey the helpful receptionist upgraded us to a large room with terrace which was to be available in just over an hour. Our luggage was secured and we were offered refreshments.

This hotel is immaculately clean. The breakfast had a wide selection of hot and cold food, cereals, breads and pastries - the coffee and fruit juices were good.

We have stayed in hotels worldwide and this one of the better ones. I think the price a little high but we checked in during a public holiday week when the hotels were very busy - I guess it was the going rate.

The reception staff without fail were exceptionally friendly and helpful and very willing to advise on the best way to get around the metro system.

I would definitely stay at the Hotel Granvia again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yendorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Front Office Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona.

I am so glad to read your wonderful comments! which I will definitely share with all my colleagues. Also I wanted to thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

I hope you can manage to visit us again in a proper future.

Kind regards,

Daniela Iglesias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
869 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Property: Hotel Granvia
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing