We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some issues”
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia
Ranked #61 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Completed a 3 night stay with husband...
The location is certainly great.
You can reach it from airport by taking the aerobus (btw..only cash on bus..or ticketing machine takes credit/debit but WITH pin only. If you are from states like us, we were scratching our heads Bc no pin on credit card)
Once you get off bus you walk further forward down the st in the direction the bus was moving. You will hit a zara store on the right corner and that's gran via. So turn right and it's a half block down.
Casa battlo is a 5 minute brisk walk (double if you take a leisurely stroll) and casa Milla (la pedrera) is another 5 minute brisk walk from casa battlo.
Segrada familia is a 3 stop subway ride, and the subway is a stone's throw from the hotel.
One of the best tapas we had was at cuidad condal and it is a 2 minute/2 block walk away.
We loved the decor despite the tiny lobby.. the second floor lounge is nicely done. Only one tiny elevator with Max of 4 people at a time but strangely enough it never caused an inconvenience while we were there.
The issues we had were with the shower and room temperature.
I had read here on TripAdvisor about the shower complaints and poo poo'd it, thinking that people must be showering like animals.
However, even with my tame (?) Shower movements I struggled to keep the water contained.
You have to turn the shower head just right and sort of situate yourself in the inner corner to avoid flooding the bathroom floor.
The first night i figured eh, no big deal. However having to be so careful every night I showered was downright irritating.
I wish they had made the glass shower divider just a couple of inches wider!!
After a long day out and about, honestly you just want to take a relaxed shower and hop into bed.
It really was annoying having to set towels on the floor just in case, and shower with limited movement and space.
Next, we were in room 410 and for some reason it was so cold...
There is no temperature control but you can ask the front desk to adjust. After spending the first night wondering If it was just me being sensitive, I woke up to find husband had also found it chilly; and this guy NEVER gets cold.
We asked for temperature to be raised..However the second night was also uncomfortably cold and the heating system was blowing what felt like cold air when I stuck my hand up to feel the vent. (Btw the system is also quite loud.. I wouldn't complain about the sound if it would atleast blow warm air). I thought maybe it just takes time. However we woke up cold again and had hard time getting out from covers. The bathroom was practically icy Bc of the tiles and Bc we had door closed so basically had no heating.
3rd night I asked for temperature to be further raised, this time to 30 celsius! ..sadly the night was still not quite comfortably warm.
As can be seen from my other reviews I'm not a picky person and if I get a good night's sleep and a hot shower I'm a happy camper. However I was never quite comfortable here Bc I was constantly cold..
On the upside, the staff were cordial and friendly.
I got an amazing deal through jetsetter.com which makes up for the discomfort in a way, but unfortunately I would not return despite the great location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank xkaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We couldn't have been happier with everything at the hotel! The location was just 1 block to the Placa Catalunya! Our superior room, 402, was on the top floor with street view and not noisy. The room was very clean, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had the included breakfast which was excellent and a great value! It included many choices for meats, cheeses, fruits, breads, buns, pastries, juices, coffees plus scrambled and boiled eggs. The staff were extremely helpful with whatever we needed! Eduard, who speaks 6 languages, was exceptionally helpful and patient with all my questions and made great restaurant suggestions. My husband was very pleased when Eduard got him football tickets for the next day! We Highly recommend the Hotel Granvia to everyone and will be back! Dianne S.

Room Tip: We had a superior room, room 402, which was on the top floor with an excellent street view and was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your stay in Barcelona.

We are truly pleased to know you had a lovely stay with us and we would like to thank you again for taking some time to share your wonderful experience with us and for recommending our hotel to the rest of Tripadvisor users.

Additionally, we have already passed on your kind words to Eduard who would like to thank you for posting such a nice review.

Finally we would like you to know that we are really looking forward to meet you again at the hotel.

Best regards,


The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel lived up to my expectations from the reviews and photos.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite upon arrival so obviously got off to a positive start!
The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly Eduard.
The decor was very stylish and the breakfast good.
This was one of the best 3 star hotels I have stayed in and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Chocolatehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Brilliant renovation .... made to feel very welcome by staff.

All mod cons.

If you get this at a good price go for it!


Location is excellent.

Any further comments would simply duplicate what many others have said.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia for your last stay in Barcelona.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our renovation and we will make sure the staff is aware of your kind words.

Finally, we would like you to know that we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon.

Best regards,


The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was an old Spanish classic hotel. We have stayed here a number of times over the years. Then, a remodel - update. This classic piece of Spanish history went from a grand champion to a "Ikea" furniture American style side show. The reason to travel to foreign countries is to experience their culture, not to experience America. I could go on and be more specific, but, it wouldn't be productive.

Will we stay here again? If the price is right and it works into our travel plans, maybe. Otherwise we'll just go out to the interstate near our house and get a room at the Comfort Suite.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Careful in the bathroom, the shower doors leak and the floor gets pretty sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Director General at Hotel Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel GranVia for all the times that you have been in Barcelona!

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay because of the remodel. We would like to inform you that together with our decorator we tried to keep the classical style of the building in all the decoration but with a fresh style.

We hope that you can give us a second chance for this new Hotel GranVia and enjoy as well all the new services that we offer to our guests.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is classic design yet has a modern feel, it is very well situated, is very clean and the staff are very friendly and organised, it has some great touches such as a key card operated lift, and also serve a varied and great tasting breakfast,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and our facilities.

Finally, may we take this opportunity to thank you one more time for choosing Hotel Granvia and we are looking forward to see you in Barcelona once again

Kind regards,


The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked Hotel Granvia based on Trip Advisor reviews and were most pleased with our choice. We spent 3 days in Barcelona before taking a cruise from there in late November. The hotel was extremely well situated and we were able to walk to various sites from there. The metro is located nearby for a trip to La Familia Sagrada which is a must see.
The hotel room was large and pleasant, clean, with a good bathroom. However, as another reviewer mentioned, it was difficult to shower without splashing up the bathroom floor.
The decor of the hotel was lovely with its large staircase in the entrance giving it look of elegance.
The breakfasts had plenty of variety to get one started for the day.
The staff was friendly and helpful and provided us with umbrellas on a rainy day. The staff also spoke very good English since our Spanish was quite limited.
Perhaps having a pamphlet explaining their calling/phone system would be helpful.
We noticed their Tripadvisor rating on display and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaHGV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We always try our best in order to make our guests feel satisfied during their stay, so thanks again for sharing this review with us and for recommending our hotel to other possible guests. Moreover, we will keep your suggestions in consideration for the future and we appreciate that you share them with us because that is how we can improve and at the same time reach higher customer satisfaction standards.

Finally, we would like to mention that we are truly pleased to know that you had a lovely stay with us and we hope you can visit us again in a soon future.

Best regards,


The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 516 in Barcelona
2,143 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 516 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,348 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#72 of 516 in Barcelona
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £69 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing