We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Granvia is the place to stay when visiting Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Granvia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Granvia
Ranked #60 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel Granvía is one of the most well situated hotels in Barcelona.It is a nice hotel in a former family palace located Gran Vía, nest to Passeig de Gràcia, Plaza Catalunya and La Rambla.
It has just reopened after a modernisation and is our preffered hotel in Barcelona.

Because of its spectacular architecture and interior design, Hotel Granvía has been chosen as the set for numerous films and TV series, both within Spain and abroad.

The staff is very nice and we allways feel welcome, so why dont you try it. You will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Granvia for 5 nights at the end of April 2014; the booking was to celebrate both our 10th wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. Overall we had a great stay. We particularly liked the terrace area - a welcome peaceful area to rest your wiery feet after walking for hours around Barcelona.
There were a few minor improvements that we have informed the hotel about, this does however not prevent us from recommending the hotel to others here on Trip Advisor.

One very important point to note is the attentiveness and professionalism of the employees - on my husbands birthday we had the birthday cards on display in the room and within minutes of us going to breakfast an employee came to the table with two small cakes - now that's what I call GREAT service. This kind of attention to detail is priceless. THANKYOU Hotel Granvia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We loved this hotel! Location is wonderful and the lovely character and decor of the building appealed to us very much, It is a small stylish hotel with very courteous and helpful staff, in partcular the reception staff gave us very useful advice when choosing restaurants. It was a pleasure to return to it after a busy day out around the city. The courtyard at the back was a little oasis of peace and quiet in the middle of a busy city. The rooms were modern and comfortable, though our only one little niggle was that the air conditioning was not very effective. We found opening the window at night worked better. As we had a lovely quiet room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the courtyard this was not a problem. Breakfast was tasty and varied and coffee on tap all day was welcome. It was great to be able to store our luggage safely on our final day as we had an evening flight home.
We would highly recommend this hotel and if we ever return to Barcelona we most certainly will book our room here!

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of hotel away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maramba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great hotel, everything excellent.
We had a very pleasant stay for four nights.
Excellent hotel!
We stayed in de familie room and it was very big and clean.
Terras is a beautiful place to relax when you have visit the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I highly recommend Hotel Granvia to all visitors of Barselona. Starting from the breakfast, location of the Hotel, hospitality of the reception staff and the others were wonderful. The rooms were quiet, the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erdal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent Hotel in great location. Only criticism as that as rooms overlook the Gran Via, they are noisy unless windows are closed. the air conditioning was too cold and blowy so we did not use it and then the rooms were very stuffy at night. But great location, a spotlessly clean hotel, good breakfast and very helpful staff. I would return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LucyMary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Perfect location only 3 blocks from Catalunya Pl and La Rambla. Superior room was spacious and very clean. Rooms were just updated with new vanities, fixtures and showers. Large flat screen TV had lots of viewing options in many languages. Staff very friendly and helpful. Elevator was a plus as we had heavy luggage from cruise. Beds were very comfortable with pressed sheets! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 518 in Barcelona
2,150 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#110 of 518 in Barcelona
2,290 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#74 of 518 in Barcelona
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 518 in Barcelona
1,979 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 518 in Barcelona
2,382 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#17 of 518 in Barcelona
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 642, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £76 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Granvia 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia, a historical manor built in 1870 and totally renovated in 2013, offers 53 completely unique rooms, including triples and family rooms. A lobby featuring elegant 19th century styling, a business center with free Internet access, and a splendid terrace boasting 500m² of gardens make the hotel an ideal place for enjoying Barcelona in high season.Strategically located in the heart of Barcelona, just steps away from Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Granvia it is surrounded by some of the city’s most emblematic and impressive architectural structures, among them the Pedrera, Casa Batllo, Palau Robert, Casa Fargas, and Casa Ametller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Granvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Granvia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing