We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chic & Basic Ramblas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Ranked #168 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. The hotel is extremely easy to find, 3mins away from Drassanes Metro station. Our fifth floor room was quiet, spacious enough for chilling and getting ready and a decent sized bathroom that was kept clean. Despite being 'basic' they do provide some toiletries and it does have a hairdryer. We used the computer downstairs to book our tickets for the Basilica of the Sagrada Familia... The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    474
    128
    32
    19
See reviews for
189
484
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent two nights here before departing on our cruise a couple of weeks ago. The room was clean and offered the necessary necessities. Not noisy for us at all even though our room faced the front area of the hotel. It is easily reached from the airport by taking the AeroBus to Plaça de Catalunya and then one subway stop (Dressanes) followed by a very short walk. (No trouble at all) If you need to catch a cruise, it is a very short walk from the Christopher Columbus Monument where you catch a bus for the cruise terminals.
They were also nice enough to store our luggage since check out was at noon and we didn't have to leave for the cruise till mid afternoon (which gave us more hassle free time to explore)
Overall great location because of the Las Ramblas as well. Too bad breakfast is not included @ 9 euros per person.
I would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

For a reasonable price you get a clean and tidy tiny hotel in the city hub, where all the attractions are right after you pass the gate. This stylish and retro hotel offers very comfortable rooms, cute little details you can find of every corner of it, like funny texts on soaps that make you smile when you take a shower, friendly staff, great food and delicious coffee served in the most stylish bar in Barcelona. A perfect place not only to stay overnight but also to enjoy a homemake carrot cake and a morning latte.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielaMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hotel in June 2014. Not so easy to find on foot as it is behind a high rise building just off the roundabout Drassanes, but only about 100 metres from Drasssanes Metro station. Staff were very helpful - room was a good size - we had one with a kitchenette and my wife cooked up simple chinese porridge and we had our breakfast in the room on the little balcony.The hotel is in a very good location for the Ramblas (about 200 metres) and the harbour (about 300 metres) so we walked everywhere despite having metro tickets which we got at the Airport.
There is nothing fancy about this hotel but everything worked well. We spent some time with friends in a more stylish hotel near Placa de Catalunya but this was considerably more expensive so I feel this hotel is good value for money. There is a good selection of small shops to keep topped up on fruit and drinks etc.
The hotel is easy to get to from the airport by taxi or train and Metro (low cost)
Overall a very good stay

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor,west side and very quiet; but generally the hotel is in a quiet locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonraker244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Attractively decorated, clean, well equipped, friendly, good price. Very close to La Rambla but on a secluded (quiet) side-street. Everything you could ask for, really. The breakfast was fairly rudimentary with not much choice for vegetarians (well, it is Spain!) - I preferred to order a coffee and sandwich from the bar.

Room Tip: My room on the 1st floor was slightly odd-shaped with no balcony while my colleagues on the 4th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seriouszebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We really enjoyed our staying there- nice staff, nice and basic room but really chicy- with a tiny kitchen which is a plus.
Really worth the value- and in Europe I don't think you need more than this hotel.
I highly recommended it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We wanted a place that was close to the beach, close to the La Rambla and at a student-friendly price. This place was it!

It was really cozy and we even got a balcony in our room even if we didn't pay to have one. Only downside: The bathroom was quite....creative, with just a sliding door separating the toilet from the bedroom. Because of this, I recommend that you are comfortable with the person you're staying with. This also caused a weird smell sometimes after the cleaning lady had been in the room and turned off the fan by the toilet. It didn't bother us too much, though.

The breakfast was overall good, but I would have loved some more fruit and veggies.
GREAT coffee though! Comfy bed, silent rooms and safe area. Great to have everything in walking distance!

The staff was friendly. Overall wonderful stay, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#109 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#76 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#182 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
La Rambla
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#136 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Gaudi
Hotel Gaudi
#166 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Ramblas

Property: Chic & Basic Ramblas
Address: Pasaje Gutenberg, 7, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chic & Basic Ramblas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
chic&basic Ramblas is inspired by the Barcelona of the 1960s. In chic&basic Ramblas, the same as in that age, the playful and the creative are strongly united. With a photographic exposition on the doors of the 85 rooms, the passageways overflowing with colour and history, a green Seat 600 in the lobby and a restaurant with bar and terrace, the c&b Ramblas is an entire experience that will delight you.chic&basic Ramblas has all the services that make chic&basic the perfect place to enjoy your stay in the centre of Barcelona. Reception 24 hours, locked room for luggage, bar and restaurant, parking, free WiFi and a PC with free internet access in the lobby. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona.You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chic & Basic Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Ramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing