We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #19 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a modern, sexy hotel that is perfect for couples. The service is impeccable, the rooms are clean, and its very quiet at night for sleeping. The bathrooms are huge, there are rain showers and a separate entrance for the toilet. We loved our stay and I would highly reccomend it. Great location to La Pedrera, La Lagrada Familia, and lots of tapas places. The only downside is that they dont have irons (but they have free send out laundry)!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Checked in on Jan 2nd. Long awaited break with the wife and no kids. Very cool looking hotel and in a great location. Key reason we chose it was because it had Spa, pool and gymnasium / fitness centre.
When we checked in we were informed that Spa, pool and gym were all closed and the staff had no idea when they would be opening again. This needless to say was very disappointing. I asked why we weren't notified that most of the Hotel's facilities would be closed during our stay....shrug of the shoulders was the response.
We were then told that the Hotel had organized access to a gym around the corner at 17euro's per session per person. so 34 euro for my wife and i to access a gym.
Yes, we were expected to pay an additional 17 euro to access a facility that should otherwise have been part of our stay at the hotel. Not to mention no Spa or pool.
I was filthy at this suggestion. They phoned me later and offered free breakfast as compensation for the fact that all of the hotels 5 star facilities were closed and that guests were not notified of this and where we were paying > 300 euro per night for our room.
I had to demand (ask and ask again) that the hotel cover the cost of the gym (17 euro per person) and provide breakfast. Otherwise our stay at a 5 star, >300 euro per night hotel was a complete sham.
They ultimately agreed to this. However the Hotel should have 1) advised guests that works were being undertaken; 2) been pro-active and covered the cost of providing access to other facilities (gym etc). Not wait for guests to arrive to find half the hotel being closed and then hit them up for 17 euro per person to go to a gym down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shaundig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I spent one night and it was a shame... how can you stay just one night in such a place??

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBSI08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

So we stayed here over new year. Great place, about as modern as you can get, nice big room, sleek lines, designer etc etc.

Also a great location, and in the blue skies we got for three days, perfect for setting off down the road and spinning through all the shops and some good nearby Tapas joints.

The staff are really nice, like really nice, making you feel very welcome and very casual. This is when the stinger just took the edge off the hotel though. Maybe call me naive, but in a cool hotel (you know, one aligned with the style of a Luxe guide or a Tablet kind of thing) I figured, hey I'm new to Barcelona, lets ask the concierge where to go for some great food. After mentioning a couple of restaurants we had heard from friends or online to the hotel, they said that they weren't sure what they were not up very good. So we took a recommendation from the concierge and ended up in the biggest tourist trap of a crap restaurant in Barcelona. That was a little annoying to say the least.

But oh well, maybe that's my fault for thinking a cool and trendy hotel would suggest some cool and trendy places to go... But no. They also reserved a table for us in a place the next night. We went past the restaurant as it was quite nearby and the place was dead... When we then went to the one recommended by someone else the next day, it was absolutely brilliant.

The hotel was great, no problems with our stay in the actual hotel, it's just I wanted them to help me with my Barcelona experience as well, but maybe that's not a hotel's job! I do imagine they got some good commission however for recommending the restaurant we went to to us...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MightyHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Alma is, in a word, gorgeous. Very hip spot yet sans hipsters. The service was consistently world class and friendly at the same time. Great location too - quick access to the best of the city via foot or train. Would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmargolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

positives: clean rooms, good turn down service, friendliness of staff, decor, location, mattresses/bedding/pillows among best we have ever had

Negatives: free mini bar is soda and water lol; room service is horrible - received flat bread with frozen vegetables and raw frozen chicken; no bartender and no formal consierge... They must be under staffed because both of these areas were subpar for a "5 star experience", HVAC... We couldn't figure out why our room wouldn't cool below 73 degrees... We were told that the AC doesn't run concurrently with the heat... They turned the heat off but it was still 71... So we had to get key and open the windows...! Lots of traffic didn't help... No gym no spa... We had to pay an extra 150 euros for a gym membership for the week, 2 blocks away.

We had a fantastic vacation, but we felt like, for the price we wished we would have stayed at the mandarin or the majestic. We also loved all the staff but wondered if mgmt or the owners are making cost decisions that are hurting the place.

Getting free cava, and the door opened for us didn't offset the little things that "make" for a 5 star experience.

We traveled 42 weekends in 2011 and would have loved to give a good review because we think it's close.. But shame on those of you who came before us, you clearly don't pay for 5 star enough cuz you missed a lot!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Even though the pictures on the website were not too revealing, the hotel has proven to be quite a pleasant a surprise. The level of service and kindness of the hotel's staff has proved to be worth a 5 STAR experience, and not just for the glass of cava upon arrival, every recommendation was a success. With a location this perfect, I don't think there are any other 5 star hotels in Barcelona who can match this. My 2 nights with my parents were great, will I come again ? ABSOLUTELY ! Muchas Gracias !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Las B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 517 in Barcelona
1,430 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,804 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 517 in Barcelona
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#1 of 517 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £165 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Mirai, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing