We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Modern Hotel (but why on earth is no clothes iron available??)”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fabulous Modern Hotel (but why on earth is no clothes iron available??)”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Alma is in a perfect location. Quiet with lovely restaurants and great bars within easy strolling distance, close to all the Gaudi sights and in walking distance to the Bonn region and waterfront. Perfect service - absolutely faultless in fact. Staff here are the highlight. We had a grand deluxe room with brown hues. We loved the dim lighting because it was able to be focused for reading but still intimate enough for atmosphere. The room was modern, comfortable and spacious. Great shower. Good bar downstairs. We had breakfast locally because we enjoy coffee/cafe culture in cities like this so I can't comment on breakfast. From the outset on first email enquiry staff were fabulous - recommending and reserving at the incredible restaurants that are in abundance in this wonderful city. The only gripe - no iron available for guests and we refuse to pay for a full hotel laundry service to have a shirt or two ironed. An oversight that needs to be resolved. This is not a hotel for such nonsense because everything else is modern casual at its best.

Room Tip: It was January but still very hot in the room at night (even with heating turned off) so having a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    272
    64
    14
    13
See reviews for
278
1,003
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Decided to go to Barcelona over the Christmas break on the spur of the moment. Since we had had such a pleasant stay at the Alma in Seville in April (see separate review), we decided to try the Alma in Barcelona. We are two adults and a 15 year who prefer to stay in one room, which can be difficult to do in Europe. I called the hotel, and Nuria was happily able to accommodate us. We stayed in an Executive room (102) that faced the street. The room was very spacious and nicely divided to accommodate all of us, giving us some privacy as well. Loved the extra large bathroom as mentioned by a previous reviewer ... always appreciate it when the toilet is separated from the rest of the bathroom. Facing the street was not a problem ... did not find it noisy. Other rooms presumably would overlook a large courtyard with a small pool (too cold while we were there, so this space was never in use).

Pros:
- lovely aesthetics and space
- location: in the Eixample district, and just off the main thoroughfare, so very easy to get around. It was always nice to return after a long day of sightseeing and we ate at some amazing restaurants (Moo, Petite Comite, Trafalug) within an easy walk of the hotel. 15 min walk to the Sagrada, stone's throw from La Pedrera and the hop-on-hop-off bus, and no more than a 10 euro taxi ride from most anywhere we wanted to go.
- AMAZING service: warm, friendly, attentive ... this really made our stay. Helped us navigate the best way of seeing the sights in the limited time we had, made dinner reservations for us and more. Twice daily housekeeping service was nice, too.
- The beds were VERY comfortable ... beg to differ with a previous reviewer who found them uncomfortable

cons:
- room is somewhat dark (with its grey overtones) ... not enough artificial (or natural) light. Since we didn't spend too much time in the room this didn't overly bother us, but I see what a previous reviewer meant when they said this. Crying out for overhead lights.
- flat rate of 25 euros for breakfast, no matter if you want just a croissant and coffee, or a meal fit for a king. We did enjoy the full-blown breakfast the one day we had it (and chose to make it our brunch for the day), but would have preferred to have the option of ordering a la carte if we had wanted to.
- room was a bit cold on a couple of the nights and it wasn't possible to adjust the temperature more than 3 degrees lower than the norm. duvets were deliciously warm, but too much so, so we alternated between flinging off and grabbing the duvet through the night.

All in all, an EXTREMELY pleasant stay, and I would highly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank freqtravellerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed in Alma for a few days in December as a couple. Chose it thanks to reviews here and were very happy in the end.

Location: not exactly near major points of interest but this is rather a plus. The street is very quiet, however, in 50 meters there is a magnificent Passeig de Gracia, which is very wide and busy most of the time. Shoppers will like that most of the major brand stores are located exactly near the hotel on Passeig de Gracia. We used taxi extensively and found it cheap and convenient way of moving around. One has to remember to bring hotel address with them because taxi drivers are not always aware of this hotel and hotel sign is hardly recognizable.

Inside the hotel: the hotel is very new and they were not saving on small detail when building it. For the first time we saw finger print access system to our room. Very convenient as you do not have to carry any key. As long as you do not forget to have you hand with you and still remember, which finger did you use initially at check-in you will get into your room with no trouble. The interior is rich with use of wooden panels, metal, and leather, but is not posh or trying to impress sacrificing usability. It is a very convenient place. We can name only one detail, which we did not like. Apparently designers of the hotel think that bathroom should not have any doors and can be an extension to the room corridor… In December it was rather cold to take a shower in the open space. Otherwise equipment is all modern and easy to use.

Reception: all our good words go to this very important part of the hotel. First of all they all speak near perfect English (a big plus in Spain!). The staff was very helpful. Their suggestions regarding going out were mostly great and we used them all the time.
Breakfast: we think it is overpriced and is too big. We had it once and then always used nearby cafes. You can always (even on Dec. 25th) get you coffee and a croissant for a small price there.

Other amenities: tried to use gym and spa, but to our surprise they were closed for renovation. We were disappointed that nobody informed us in advance before we went down to use them. Reception offered to jog around in Barcelona, which was an interesting experience and is worth trying, but is not a substitute. It was low season for the hotel but still such things have to be at least announced. Another issue was poor Wi-Fi connection. No matter which device we used the reception was very weak and we almost gave up using it in the room.

If you disregard minor things (everything but Wi-Fi) you get a well balanced hotel for an adult travel where you get the most important features at a high service level and where you can comfortably spend few nights doing business or leisure in the great city of Barcelona!

Room Tip: Windows to inner court will give you perfect silence at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_plus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you're looking for an uncomfortable and functionless hotel that is lacking in warmth then you've found it! The beds are extremely uncomfortable and quite frankly hard, to the point where your back hurts when you awake. The pillows are also very thin and offer no neck support whatsoever. All in all, it makes for a very substandard night sleep and certainly not that of a 5 star establishment.

The pool and gymnasium are currently out of action even though they're prominently advertised. Why advertise what you haven't currently got? There's also no iron and ironing board available though, you can pay 12 euros to have the hotel press 1 piece of clothing. Every hotel should have at least 1 communal iron and ironing board for guests to use. Surely this is something that could be easily and cheaply rectified.

AlmaBarcelona has large rooms with an overall good design concept but the rooms are minimalist to a fault and look bare and sterile. Some magazines and / or fresh flowers would do the trick. I want a 5 star hotel to be inviting and not cold and hospital like.

The service wasn't brilliant and the staff didn't seem to be knowledgeable. I asked a basic question of how to get to the Gaudi park and their response was to follow the tourist bus route. I didn't come to Barcelona to follow a tourist bus and I expect as locals, they have local knowledge that tourists don't have. There's also no concierge and nobody to open the heavy door, if they do, the staff great you with a grunt.

The hotel signage is non existent to say the least. Apparently a small sign (about the size of an A4 piece of paper) above a pot plant at the front entrance of the hotel is good enough, in their opinion.

AlmaBarcelona is the poorest excuse of a 5 star hotel that I've ever experienced. Never again, please don't make the same mistake as me! The hotel is expensive and certainly not worth the price, design isn't everything. There are true 5 star hotels in the same area with smaller price tags, give this hotel a miss. TripAdvisor you let me down with this one!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RebM-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a modern, sexy hotel that is perfect for couples. The service is impeccable, the rooms are clean, and its very quiet at night for sleeping. The bathrooms are huge, there are rain showers and a separate entrance for the toilet. We loved our stay and I would highly reccomend it. Great location to La Pedrera, La Lagrada Familia, and lots of tapas places. The only downside is that they dont have irons (but they have free send out laundry)!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Checked in on Jan 2nd. Long awaited break with the wife and no kids. Very cool looking hotel and in a great location. Key reason we chose it was because it had Spa, pool and gymnasium / fitness centre.
When we checked in we were informed that Spa, pool and gym were all closed and the staff had no idea when they would be opening again. This needless to say was very disappointing. I asked why we weren't notified that most of the Hotel's facilities would be closed during our stay....shrug of the shoulders was the response.
We were then told that the Hotel had organized access to a gym around the corner at 17euro's per session per person. so 34 euro for my wife and i to access a gym.
Yes, we were expected to pay an additional 17 euro to access a facility that should otherwise have been part of our stay at the hotel. Not to mention no Spa or pool.
I was filthy at this suggestion. They phoned me later and offered free breakfast as compensation for the fact that all of the hotels 5 star facilities were closed and that guests were not notified of this and where we were paying > 300 euro per night for our room.
I had to demand (ask and ask again) that the hotel cover the cost of the gym (17 euro per person) and provide breakfast. Otherwise our stay at a 5 star, >300 euro per night hotel was a complete sham.
They ultimately agreed to this. However the Hotel should have 1) advised guests that works were being undertaken; 2) been pro-active and covered the cost of providing access to other facilities (gym etc). Not wait for guests to arrive to find half the hotel being closed and then hit them up for 17 euro per person to go to a gym down the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shaundig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I spent one night and it was a shame... how can you stay just one night in such a place??

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBSI08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
215 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 512 in Barcelona
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing