We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern elegance in the heart of Eixample”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Normal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Modern elegance in the heart of Eixample”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Alma is an intimate and beautifully appointed hotel. The staff are exceptionally accommodating. The rooms are luxurious and large, and the spa is a great bonus. Our stay was as near to perfection as one could imagine, and the cost was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jericholake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,409
    269
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
269
988
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Alma has been opened for 9 months - we were thrilled we found it! From our arrival from the airport w no euros for the taxi (which the valet immediately paid, no questions asked) to the sleek, elegant decor, this place covers the details. We were here for 3 nights, just 1/2 block from the great shopping street, Gaudi buildings and lots of restaurant options. The bathroom is unbelievable - huge white marble shower (for two?) w rain shower head and a great separate soaking tub. Super comfy bed. Had breakfast our last morning, yes, a bit pricey at 50 euros for two, but it was beautiful. Incredibly helpful staff, cool fingerprint access room key and every comfort with simple elegance. note: Fitness center is basically a sauna, steam room pool and a small room with a few basic weights.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This Alma is very nice and the service is first rate! My only reason for taking away a star is the lack of a proper fitness Center (the spa isnt really a spa) and it is impossible to open a window in the room. Otherwise, excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I spent the weekend at Alma with my partner and we were very happy with the hotel and staff. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The designers of the hotel created a serene space and did not fail to pay attention to the smallest of details. The staff was nice and attentive. They understood the importance of subtle service only really executed properly in some countries in Asia and Asian-owned service establishments. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a tranquil space in the middle of bustling Barcelona. I would also recommend it if you care about high-quality design, a professional staff, and reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlos a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

was really different with high minimalistic design features, but still a very warm and personal service!
enjoy it when you are in Barcelona

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent-on-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

If you are visiting Barcelona, stay here. This hotel is quite amazing and defintely one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The location is perfect

Check-in staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient offering some great advice on what to do on our first visit to Barcelona and to top it all check-in came with a complimentary glass of cava (or mineral water or juice) and was a nice touch and start to our break.

The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed in a modern style and spotlessly clean. The bathroom and shower is huge and very luxurious with Bulgari toiletries. The bed was very very comfortable with great bed linen and plenty large enough for my 6' 4" frame. Finally our room faced away from the street and had a lovely view of the courtyard.

Breakfast was very good, sounded a little expensive at 25euros pp, but when you consider that we have a cooked to order breakfast, 2 cups of excellent coffee, a glass of freshly squeezed OJ, toast, pastries, fruit, yogurt all brought freshly out to you (i.e. not as part of a buffet) this was a actually a worthwhile indulgence and set us up for our first day perfectly.

We didn't try and bar or restaurant, but they looked very nice and there isa new roof top bar opening in the summer which would be a great place for a drink as the views from the roof are pretty good.

There is also an excellent gym, pool and spa area which is a nice relaxing place to unwind from a day's walking around the city

Overall this hotel offers overything, the location is excellent, service is spot on, rooms to die for and the general hotel decor is perfect. The only 'flaw' was that I walked into the balconette window as it was so clean.... Seriously this hotel is absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoriceandBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel is absolutely breathtaking from the moment you step inside. Check-in took a little extra longer then anticipated as our room was not yet ready but the reception staff sent us to the bar for complimentary drinks. Definitely order the Mojito!

Our room was extra large and getting in there involved having you press your finger on the key pad to get in. We felt very safe here!!

The outdoor garden was breathtaking and very relaxing in the evening. I would love to return here! Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,663 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,253 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing