We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan,Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Sleek, cool hotel, great location and a very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are simple but elegant and very comfortable.Tthe window shades allow no lights in, also no digital displays something I treasure in a hotel room since light makes my sleep difficult. We requested and early check in due to a transatlantic flight that arrived early in the morning and were granted our wish, something sometimes difficult at other hotels. The staff made a point of knowing our names, we really felt at home.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the garden are quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megustaviajar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    269
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
269
987
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Alma is a wonderful hotel - from the moment we checked in, we were given the very best treatment. The staff were, without exception, friendly and eager to help us enjoy our stay.

The hotel itself is very stylish and sophisticated and offers a bit of peace and quiet after a long day in the bustling city. We had a Superior Room, containing a larger-than-king-size bed, desk and chair, large TV, enormous shower, basin, toilet and so much storage! Every night, we returned to our rooms to find the beds made, little chocolates, and water on the bedside tables, which was a lovely touch. Our room overlooked the courtyard so we had no traffic noise whatsoever - it was the best night's sleep we'd ever had away from home!

Main meals are not too expensive (around 16 Euros) when you compare them to restaurants around the city, and was absolutely delicious. The breakfast was pricier (25 Euros), but everything was cooked to order and the quality was extremely high.

The hotel's location is ideal for exploring the city, especially for the Tour Buses, and you're just around the corner from the Pedrera, one of Gaudi's beautiful buildings. The Placa de Catalunya is about 20-30mins walk away.

The pool is a little bit too shallow for swimming in, but is in a very relaxing setting in the hotel's basement - a good spot to chill :-)

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard for the quietist experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was our first trip to Barcelona and was not disappointed with this hotel. Was going to stay at The Mandarin Oriental but then saw this hotel and decided to stay here. The staff at The Alma were wonderful, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble and exceptional attention to detail. We will definately be back at the end of May. Well done

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the main street but was perfect as hotel situated down side street and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Booked two nights at The Alma for a first trip to Barcelona for my wife and I. The location is outstanding, very central location in a great area. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Would love to stay here again if we visit this beautiful city again, absolutely recommend The Alma to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Located a few feet off of the most exquisite street, this is the perfect location to walk all over the city while being on a quiet side street. Hotel is beautiful, immaculate and service oriented. The pleasing minimalist design is extremely luxurious. Breakfast buffet has delicious food, the bar area feels like an inviting living room with a garden view. The staff was helpful even before our arrival. We arrived at 7am and were offered a room. Look for Pau G. At the reception desk, he is very helpful and knowledgable. Consider yourself lucky if there is availability

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MABNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Many of the top hotels were full, primarily for the Barca v Real Madrid match so it was with some uncertainty that we booked in at the Alma .. We need not have worried. This chic boutique hotel just off the Passage de Gracia was ideally located and the service from start to finish was first class. Check in is a little laborious due to the sophisticated finger print recognition system, but I am pleased to confirm that this worked flawlessly for the 4 days we were there. The decor is very subtle and understated and for some maybe just a little minimalist, but it was very much to our taste and gives a very exclusive look and feel. The lighting in some of the corridors is very low and probably would not be too every ones liking. We could not fault the attention to detail of the front of house team who delivered well with respect to restaurant recommendations, and other advice. The only area that disappointed was the service at breakfast .. too often tables were left uncleared and the provision of crockery, cutlery etc at the buffet was slow and frustrating. This seemed to result from a simple lack of staff to cope with a full breakfast dining room at the weekend.But all in all this was a minor irritant and we would not hesitate to return the next time we visit this fantastic city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

One of the reasons we chose Alma Barcelona was a lot of thumbs up reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel itself is a very interesting building from the interior design point of view, with a grandiose atrium yet a very nice and cosy reception area where attentive staff is looking after your every need. We did like the fingerprint entry system to the rooms all the more so as I was travelling with my 11-year old son who thoroughly enjoyed such innovative way of entering the room. The room was nicely appointed in the grey-brown-and-white palette with designer furniture which in fact turned out to be convenient. I commend the hotel for offering to chose how many if at all breakfasts to take, and the quality of food was without any flaws. I d like to comment on the shower system in the room we were staying. It appeared to be working at its own pace: when I wanted to make the water warmer it was turning biling hot, and the next thing when I was trying to reduce the temprature it went back to stone cold. With a few stryuggles like that we eventually mastered the system but my suggestion to the hotel is to check it (I was scared to turn on the overhead shower :)), also but this is purely subjective the glass door or better call it wall was the only thing separating the shower area from the water dispenser area, it is great from the design point of view but not so practical.
To sum it up: a very impressive and affordable nice boutique hotel in the center of Barcelona with a very attentive and efficient staff. We give you a thumbs-up :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing