We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Alma as the start to our Spanish holiday. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to many of the famous attractions. It is a trendy boutique hotel but is on a road so the rooms at the front can be noisy. Breakfast was ok - for 25 Euros each it was disappointing.
Rooms are well appointed, soft drinks were free in the mini bar. Breakfast and dinner can be served in the large terrace at the back of the hotel.
We did have a few issues with our room but these were sorted out by Miguel, who was amazing and also provided information on our next location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westwog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,409
    269
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
269
988
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July . It's a very comfortable hotel with a modern design. The room was large and the bed comfortable. We liked that we had a duvet each on a double bed. Although in a busy and prime tourist location our room overlooked the courtyard at the back and was very quiet. Shower was large and modern and shower products were provided.
All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, especially Pau on the front desk who recommended some excellent eating places for us, and looked after us very well.
Our only criticism would be of the bar staff. They were rarely at the bar and you normally had to go looking for them to order a drink. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel either as even for a five star hotel we thought 25euros each for breakfast was too excessive.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again should we be in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the courtyard as these are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkletwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this very nice hotel .Centrally located for the shops & sights. Rooms very nicely appointed in a minimalist style.Strangely no shower caps or flannels provided ,which we thought mean for a 5 star hotel. However the staff were very friendly & helpful. They helped us book to see all the attractions in advance to avoid the queues & were also excellent in their restaurant suggestions.
Breakfast was also good with efficient service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Hotel had a really sleek and modern design and layout, loved the dark interiors. Great location - a 15 minute stroll to La Rambla and tour bus stops a minute away. Finger print entry into rooms meant not having to have to look after keys or swipe cards, great idea! Friendly staff always helped us make dinner/show reservations. Nice, spacious room, although we did find it a very dusty (had it not been for this, the title of this review would have been 'perfect') but otherwise comfortable. Lovely outdoor courtyard to sit and have a drink in. Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Loved the fingerprint technology to enter your room - who needs keys or swipe cards?
Near some great Antonio Gaudi houses. Nice stroll to central Barcelona. Boutique hotel in a quiet location. Large, well appointed room and modern bathroom. Staff were extremely helpful and provided good restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for five nights. My husband and I stayed in an executive suite which we would highly recommend paying the extra 50 or so euros for. It was huge, and felt quite luxurious. Our sons stayed in a deluxe double which was also very nice, being at the back of the hotel and therefore very quiet. We had a very nice welcome to the hotel, as the chap on the front desk seemed to know exactly who we were as soon as we walked throughout the door, and the offer of cold water and a glass of Cava was most welcome. Unfortunately, our good mood was dampened by the fact that our tv's wouldn't work due to the rainstorm (!?), and our plans to order room service and watch the European soccer cup final were scuppered.
Our room was very spacious, with a great bathroom and comfy beds and crisp white linens. We unfortunately didn't manage to stay in the same room for our entire trip, as the electricals kept failing in the room and we were forced to move. They offered us another suite, but on the 1st floor which we were not happy about due to the street noise, so we eventually moved to one on the 3rd floor which was ok except for a slight musty smell. We asked for a key to open the window which was readily provided, and that helped to air the room.
All in all we loved the hotel for it's modern, spare style and the very helpful and pleasant staff. But it would appear that all the high tech features mean that technical failures are more common which can be very disruptive.

Room Tip: Go for an executive suite on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I recently stayed here with my daughter for 3 nights...I could not have picked a better hotel! Great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Room very sleek...good size, nice view of the courtyard, and very quiet. And the price was very reasonable...would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on 5th floor, overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,663 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,253 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing