We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel at the corner of the shopping district”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel at the corner of the shopping district”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Brand new hotel. Rooms are furnished in "minimalist design" stryle but use of wood + exquisite taste of the design makes it a perfect place to stay. Splendid breakfast buffet. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend booking a room with a view on the patio (as I did) rather than on the street. It's not a cheap place but definitely worth the money.
Only concern: the fitness room is barely equipped and really not up-to-par with the rest of the hotel. Staff told me improvements were planned soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentH6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    268
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
269
986
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Modern luxury minimalistic hotel at the heart of the city. Everything is closeby! The famous Sagrada Familia is just 15 to 20 mins walk. Casa Milla is only a few steps away from Alma, also Casa Battlo. Awesome grand finale in my recent trip. You use your fingerprint to enter the cozy spacey room. Big bathroom as well. The double rainshower is superb. Although I only had one night in Barcelona but I truly enjoyed my stay at Alma.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

After reading all of the reviews for Hotel Alma, I decided that we had to stay there for a couple of nights during our trip to Barcelona! It was fantastic. We experienced some flight delays leaving the Canary Islands and arrived at 5am in the morning. The bed and bedding were so comfortable, we drifted off to sleep and then got up around noon. Before heading out to sightsee, we spent some time in the spa area...using the swimming pool, steam room and sauna which was amazing for tired travelers!

The front desk was amazing with recommendations for a nearby lunchspot and giving us some ideas for an easy walking tour. We walked from the hotel down to the waterfront which was amazing and full of life on a Sunday afternoon! Having a mini-bar in the room for a quick drink of mineral water was a "nice to have" for busy travelers!

The front desk also made us dinner reservations and let the restaurant know that we were celebrating my birthday. But the best part was the guys at the front desk helped my boyfriend surprise me with a HUGE bouquet of flowers in my room. After we left for dinner, the guys set-up the flowers as a surprise for me. They also put our names on the guest list at the Eclipse Club at the W so we went to one of the busiest clubs in town and were on the VIP list, thanks to the Alma Hotel for making my birthday so much fun and so special!

I would highly recommend the Alma Hotel, it is truly a home away from home in Barcelona!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleesaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Alma is a new comer on the scene in Barcelona as witnessed by the fact that not a single cabbie knew of the place when we were there this June. It has however earned a truly well deserved place at the top of the rankings for Barcelona luxury hotels in relatively short time. The location is great for exploring the city while staying in a charming and central neighbourhood, (something which Ramblas is definitely not). The rooms were spacious, modern and well maintained. But most importantly was the service, which went above and beyond in helping us in every way during our stay. truly wonderful young staff, helpful and friendly and polite at all times. given the price, I would stay here again over the Mandarin Oriental, which I find to be its direct competition close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

It was difficult to find but once you're in the Alma, it's all worth it. Upon arrival, you're greeted with a glass of Cava and smiles from the friendly staff. Alma is ideally located very close easy walking distance to the popular destinations in Barcelona. The room where we stayed is a superior deluxe, very well appointed, charming, and filled with luxurious comforts. The architecture of the dining area is very modern, the terrace is perfect for a peaceful fine dining experience. But Alma's best kept secret are its staff. Everyone was very professionsl, helpful, and friendly. They all go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and problem free. I wish I could remember all their names so I could thank for all their help. On our last night, we decided to have a good dinner and so we asked for help in making the reservation. It was August and most of the places were closed. Miguel suggested L'Etapes. It was a perfect suggestion. That dinner capped our fabulous 4 day stay in Barcelona. Thanks Miguel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Alma in July of 2012. The location is terrific, just steps from Passeig de Gracia and two blocks from Avenue Diagonal, main shopping areas that contain lots of stores of all types and many restaurants and indoor and outdoor cafes. The staff is wonderful, they are completely helpful, knowledgeable and answer all questions and make suggestions about the local area. They can also arrange a number of tours for your party. Would definitely recommend and will stay here when we return.

Room Tip: Our room (#109) faced the courtyard. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacombs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

As per my daughter's recommendation we decided to choose thie hotel for our 3 day stay in Barcelone.
The hotel is very well located and has lots of charm. Most people working there are very friendly.
our room was comfortable and spacious but the bathroom not having a door was a little anoying! one person taking shower would certaily disturb the other person resting in the bedroom!
The toilet was nice but without sink to wash your hand! you had to go to the next door bathroom to wash your hands after toilet!!!
Since this is a relatively new hotel, let's hope the management will improve the service and everything in time.
Overall a nice place to stay in when in Barcelone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing