We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #20 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

After spending a week at the Alma in Seville two years ago and loving it i was very keen to stay at the Alma in Barcelona. Even with my high expectations i was impressed. The staff are excellent, the spa was very good, the lounge, dining and courtyard areas are very well done. Every aspect of the hotel is top notch. I'd love to stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen_878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

Although it was only for one night, it was a great experience. As stated in other reviews, the staff was great and just couldn't do enough for us. Location was in the centre of everything. Even going out at night, we felt safe and had a great selection of restaurants nearby. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The staff was really wonderful and this hotel was in a great location. While I can say this hotel was one of the better places I have ever stayed, I can also say it wasnt the best value. The rooms were very nice, I really liked the biometric locks and design and the staff was extremely helpful, probably the best staff i have seen in a hotel EVER.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to have a view of the back patio area and should be all the same more or less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I cannot express what an amazing staff has been gathered by the Hotel Alma. This hotel does not need a Concierge as every member of its staff is a concierge. Specifically "Xavi" who went above and beyond to make our one night stay memorable. Often, the "one nighters" are not treated as well as those who come for longer periods of time. That was not the case. When we return to Barcelona, this is where we will be staying.

The breakfast is amazing. After eating at all the fabulous restaurants in town, I still looked forward to their breakfast. It was THAT good.

Location is perfect. Bed is amazing. Your back and neck will thank you.

Thanks once again Hotel Alma.

Room Tip: not sure as we were slotted to have a garden view as there is an amazing garden nestled on the inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GopalG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The Alma was a lovely hotel with superior staff located in a beautiful, safe, lively part if Barcelona. Key-less entry to the room is a new requirement for me! I really can't recommend the hotel enough. Oh, and the free mini-bar with water, juice and soda was an added bonus! 5 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I smile every time i think about tour time at the Alma. As other reviewers have said, we felt totally cared for from the moment we walked in the door. No matter what we needed, the staff was friendly and spot on with their suggestions. The decor is sleek and contemporary, but still very warm and comfortable. We're still talking about the beds and pillows...they're a heavenly experience. Great location too. We won't look any further for a hotel when in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreshAirGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We just returned two weeks ago from staying at Hotel Alma Barcelona. From the moment we walked through the door, we were greeted, served a sparkling wine & it was wonderful.
Lobby is stunning, staff was kind & professional. Our room, the bed, shower, just perfect.
We invited friends for wine & tapas in the dining area. The service, tapas, wine made for a great evening. I highly recommend it.
Very pleased & we will definitelly return, on our next visit to Barcelona.
Location is a 10!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lac8002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,789 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 516 in Barcelona
1,417 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 516 in Barcelona
322 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 516 in Barcelona
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £171 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Mirai, Odigeo, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing