We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay at Alma Barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at Alma Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Alma Barcelona is a luxurious, quiet haven located in a busy part of the city. Everything about our stay was perfect, from the welcome drink during check-in to the turn-down service and the amazing, unobtrusive staff. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe room and it was a good size with a view of the rooftop of the neighbouring Gaudi apartment building. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room had a lot of storage space, including ample space to hang up clothing. Malin and Goetz toiletries were provided in-room. Staff at Alma Barcelona were truly great, giving us personal recommendations for restaurants in the area. The spa area is small but well thought out and a relaxing space. Highly recommend Alma Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,356
    257
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
254
960
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the moment we checked in to the instant we left I felt as though we been treated to a peaceful haven in the middle of a busy city. The hotel is very discrete (none of the cabs we used knew where it was) and the subdued lighting makes it feel very private.

The service of the staff is impeccable - I have never received service like this before. Beautiful room - two TVs and a great shower - plus robes etc - and a massive bed.

Breakfast is £20 but then again you are paying for more than just the food - but if you want to eat £20 worth then you can easily do it.

Easy walk to the harbour or shopping areas and the Sagrada Familia is on the same street - about 20 minutes walk.

Traveled as a couple.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

In April 2013 we had four days at the Alma. The staff were great especially the reception staff. They did every thing to make our stay enjoyable. Even to arranging for a doctor at 9.30pm on a Sunday night. We were most great full. Hotel comes highly recommended. Plus hotel itself is well located.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Alma Barcelona did not disappoint us in any way. This hotel easily deserves five starts or more for its location, decoration, comfort and services. I also liked its genuineness, meaning the lack of artificial smiles and also the fact that the hotel does not portray a fake aura of exclusivity which is being used to generate cash from small bits and services.

This is a low profile hotel catering rich and refined people with a focus on quality and service, not financial targets that always go up and up.

Since there is nothing to criticise (and I am not an easy person) here are some recommendations.

⁃ There was an iMac in our room but I'd much prefer a coffee/tea machine instead. An espresso/tea maker is not a luxury. I see computers all day long and when traveling I would rather avoid them. However an iMac at the lobby with a laser printer would be helpful for visitors requiring local information.
⁃ If you are a coffee lover like me, you will not be able to order a pot of coffee. Coffee is only served by the cup and should you wish to drink two or more cups, then you have to order multiple times.
⁃ An ice machine on every floor would be helpful. Room service brings ice immediately though.
⁃ The charcuterie served with the breakfast is not of high quality.

When in Barcelona make sure you try “jamon” (their ham) and Spanish wines. Whether you enjoy street food or high end fine-dining, you will be very happy in Barcelona.

Out of 100, I would give 95 to Alma B and this makes it my highest rated hotel, the second would be Park Hyatt Milano, at 92.5. This difference is caused by Hyatt's smaller one room suites. At Alma B the suite is a gorgeous and very spacious multiple room suite. This is important for me because I often wake up early and spend some hours in the separate room reading etc.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaporilloXone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our first stay at Alma hotel but will not be the last. Great hotel with fantastic location. The service, size of rooms, standard of the rooms and everything was great. Did not use the spa or the restaurant, went out in the morning to have a breakfast which local people use around that area.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lukka998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at the Alma Barcelona . Chose this hotel based on Trip adviser reviews and location, one block from La Pedrera on a quiet side street. Close to best shopping too! We arrived early morning, well before check-in and we're told our room would be ready in 1 hour and to our delight it was. reception area and dining area are so well designed and very contemporary. Hallways and interior areas are subtly lit, lots of ambiance. Finger print , keyless entry to rooms, sometimes a bit finicky. First impression of our room: Wow! It was an Executive suite. King bed with light weight down duvets. High ceilings, beautiful windows, huge all white marble bathroom, large deep tub and separate toilet area, double sinks w. lots of space and huge shower and lovely Bulgari amenities. Reception was extremely helpful with dinner reservations as well as shopping suggestions, salons, anything you need. Someone had recommended a restaurant in the harbor area, and they told us we might have trouble with last min. Reservations because it is popular with tourists, and suggested Catalan Senyor Parellada in trendy El Born area. preferred by locals , same owner. We liked it, didn't love it. Can't blame concierge , they were basing choice on our request. The next night was more successful reservations at Alba Granados , walking distance from the hotel. FANTASTIC ! Wonderful ambience, great service and open kitchen. Very extensive Catalan regional menu , small tapas sized plates as well as larger portions, would return every night if it were possible, the food was excellent. the local beef is Ox , we were a bit hesitant at first , but read how good it was - delicious. Breakfast in the hotel is plentiful and wonderful, anything you might wish for is available and price is no higher than any good hotel, But there are small restaurants nearby. A perfect ending to a wonderful vacation in Spain! I recommend this hotel highly, and suggest you let them suggest restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor just above the street and it was very quiet. Did not use Spa or fitness c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ataman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This beautifully designed hotel exceeded our expectations. The facilities are well thought out, organised and very clean. The staff could not be more polite and helpful. The modern spacious room was well equiped perfectly clean and quiet. The whole hotel was calm and tranquil. The pool and spa areas are perfect to relax after a day sight seeing. It is perfectly situated for all the delights the city holds. The staff gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and their own restauarant was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairec55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing