We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect boutique hotel”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #19 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights post-cruise and found the Alma the perfect place. A knowledgeable, attentive staff, a clean, modern and very nicely appointed room overlooking the garden, and a location within 15 minutes walk of almost everything in the city. You can't ask for more than this in a hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I switched from the "W" to that Alma and it was the best decision possible. The hotel is very nice, the location great and the staff terrific. Our flight arrived early and they even gave us our room by 11AM. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wonderful welcome, a refreshing drink, smiling reception staff ready to give advice on attractions, transport and local knowhow. We were upgraded to a spotlessly clean room, bathroom with a double shower cubical and separate toilet. I rang to get a shower cap and in exactly 3 minutes it arrived.The decor was to our liking but may be a bit too minimalist for some. Dark walls , snowy white bed linen and versatile lighting. The beds were extremely comfortable with super soft pillows.
Everything about the hotel was understated yet of the highest quality. The breakfasts comprised freshly juiced oranges, superb coffee, a selection of rolls, croissants, pastries, cakes, breads, meats, cheeses, dates,figs,strawberries melon etc as well as a hot selection.
Close to the Gaudi houses and Tapas restaurants as well as major shopping outlets.
Will go back.

Room Tip: Quiet ones at the back overlooking garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilaryC722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for just one night in October ahead of a cruise ship departure. Wanted a central location and good quality. Achieved both. Reception at check in was excellent. Room was spacious, modern and clean. Good facilities. Basic minibar included. Located in relatively quiet side street close to chic shopping and Gaudi properties and 15mins walk to La Rambla. Booked well in advance to maximise discount - so great value (we paid EUR209 - not including breakfast). Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Room at rear ovelooking courtyard garden was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Alma Hotel is a fantastic boutique hotel, ideally located in close proximity to some of Barcelona's famous sites (e.g. Casa Battlo, Familia Sagrada) and the high end shopping area of Passeig de Gracia yet in quiet surroundings away from more touristy areas, which makes it an ideal location for a short weekend. It features a modern design which some might find perhaps too minimalist (and sombre) but instead it came across as trendy, clean and functional. We were provided a large room overlooking the courtyard which was very modern and comfortable (the bedding in particular made for a great night's sleep). And no need for a key or even a keycard here as rooms offer the benefit of finger print access - a novel feature! While breakfast/brunch spots are abundant across town, we did end up trying the hotel's breakfast on one occasion which proved a good choice as the hotel offered an extensive range of great quality breakfast foods from a large buffet. The staff were very helpful from the moment of arrival through to our departure and put forward good restaurant recommendations when requested. Overall, the Alma made for a great and comfortable stay for a short weekend. The only criticism to be made is that the staff do not provide an iron and ironing table, even on request, which only leaves you with the option of laundry service if you simply wanted to give a garment a quick iron...

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard (not the main street) which are quieter and we've been told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is facing the back of Casa Mila. We were on the top floor with nice view to the rooftop of Casa Mila. The room is decorated tastefully. The bed is comfortable with high quality bed-sheet & pillows. Staffs are helpful and act professional when we complain the wifi connection in our room. They offered to switch to other room on different floor to resolve the wifi issue. It was unfortunate that all rooms are the same. We did not try their breakfast nor their restaurant. The location is central to all major tourist attractions with minimal walking. Our experience in this hotel could be perfect if they provide better wifi connection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miu_and_Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Fantastic hotel. Very cool design. Service was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, made bookings for us, recommended nearby restaurants helped us with planning our siteseeing. They were very enthusiastic about Barcelona and it made for a lovely stay. The restaurant and room service also excellent.

Room Tip: We liked being over the street. There was no noise and we could see what was going on outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 517 in Barcelona
1,429 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 517 in Barcelona
1,804 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 517 in Barcelona
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#1 of 517 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £164 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Mirai, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing