We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, romantic hotel”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service, romantic hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed twice at the Alma Barcelona over Christmas/New Years 2013, 3 nights each time, on the front and back ends of our trip. Can't say enough about the quality of the service from the warm, solicitous staff (special kudos to Saray who was impeccable in her follow-though, lining up hard to get reservations at wonderful restaurants and clubs). The facility is beautiful and spotless, the rooms are spacious and well-appointed. There's a quiet, pretty back courtyard area which is nice for an outside drink. Awesome location, just steps off a major shopping street (Passeig de Gracia) and close to Gaudi sites like La Pedrara. Casa Battilo and La Sagrada Familia. We highly recommend this property and Alma's beautiful and historic Hotel Palacio Villapanes in Seville.

Room Tip: There is some street noise from Caller de Mallorca, so a higher room (or ear plugs) would help those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,435
    272
    64
    14
    13
See reviews for
278
1,002
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

we stayed at the alma for 4 days and have very little, if anything, to complain about. we opted for the grand deluxe suite and the room was very modern and had all the amenities you'd expect from a hotel like this (including malin + goetz amenities). Location was fantastic - right in the heart of the new city so great for shopping and your fix off gaudi, and just a short taxi to other popular areas. we ate in the hotel twice - once for a quick lunch and once for dinner when we were too tired to go out. the food was very good (not great, but good), but both times the restaurant was practically empty which was slightly depressing. finally, the service was fantastic - they helped us order tickets to museums, made dinner reservations for us, etc. Only word of caution - if you ask for restaurant recos, don't let them send you to Restaurant Tuset. It was the worst meal of our trip...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. The staff is friendly, helpful, attentive, resourceful, and each person went out of their way to ensure that we had the best possible vacation. Special kudos to Javier, Angeles, Mariella, Marcos, Gabriella - and truly everyone - you all treated us like royalty. Individualized attention every single day - helping us with tickets, ideas, restaurant reservations, and on and on. We couldn't have asked for better. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at Alma for my Father's birthday and therefore needed somewhere suitable for a group with an age range of 7 to 70. Alma did not disappoint!

Our welcome was the best of any hotel I had ever stayed in in Europe. Complimentary drinks, effortless service, fingerprint software instead of keys and a warm Catalan smile.

The rooms we had were Exec and Deluxe rooms, all perfect for our needs. The exec suites at the front of the hotel were larger and accommodated three people. The suite was stunning, with luxury Bulgari products and original details. The n,y down side, would be the slight noise from the busy street outside, but this was only a minor point.

The bar was a great place for drinks before and after nights out, with great service and stunning decor.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but local cafes, such as Emma's had a great choice at a reasonable price.

The location of Alma is excellent, right in the heart of the shopping district and close to lots of superb restaurants.

The highlight of the hotel was its overall design and it's staff. Each one exceptional in their own way, and the concierge's recommendations we're spot on! Thank you Alma. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mbennay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights at the end of November. We were visiting Barcelona as a special 15th wedding anniversary trip. The location of the hotel cannot be beat - it is within walking distance to pretty much anything that you would want to see in Barcelona. It is also located very close (about 2 blocks) from a very nice Metro stop. From the time that we checked into the hotel until we left, the service was fantastic. Our room was on the courtyard side of the hotel and was very, very quiet - we never heard any street noise. In fact, if we had not seen the cleaning crew cleaning other rooms on our floor, we would have thought we were the only ones on our floor. The front desk clerks helped us get some FC Barcelona tickets online and were very friendly. As with any hotel, don't ask them for restaurant recommendations - do your own research on TripAdvisor. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the couryard as it is less noisy on that side. They also seem willing to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcuno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked the Alma after extensive TripAdvisor research and the glowing reviews that were written about this property- especially about the high level of service. This was a very special 10 year anniversary trip, so we wanted to make sure that the hotel was not only luxurious, but also warm and friendly in a personalized manner. We were extremely disappointed. The woman checking us in was in no way friendly and made not effort to do anything special in terms of upgrades, etc for our special occasion. The deluxe room that we had paid extra for reminded me of a dorm room. It was very stark with a tiny bathroom and marks on the walls. When I asked to be moved, they showed me another room on the 6th floor that was even worse as it had a half wall separating the bedroom/bathroom and there was no bathtub. Finally I asked them to show me a suite, which while not wonderful was definitely a nicer setting and more spacious. We did not want the room to ruin our trip, but the manager refused to upgrade us and we had to pay the extra 60 euro on top of the already very high price we had splurged on. I did not want to waste time arguing, so we ended up letting our travel agent deal with management since obviously they did not have the standards that we were used to in terms of customer service for 5 star properties. While the suite was much better, it overlooked a busy street and right into an office building where we could see business meetings conducted late into the evening- not very romantic. The beds were very comfortable, but the lighting was so dark that I couldn't find things in my suitcase in the evening and there were no drawers to lay things out. The location was nice, near all of the high end shops but still quite a walk to Las Ramblas and the Barri Gothic where we preferred to go in the evenings- definitely more ambiance in these areas and el Born. There were limited local and good restaurants closeby- they were mostly overpriced and quite touristy. We did have a great meal at Tapas 24 (go very early to get a seat) and an amazing neighborhood meal at Maramassa (we still talk about the Gambas and Garbanzos!!). The breakfast at the hotel was delicious, but again the service was not very warm and we saw mostly business travelers rather than couples. We had one incident where one of the young men at reception helped my husband print out our Sagrada Familia tickets at a nearby ATM, offering to walk down there with him- but this was the only incident that gave us a glimpse into the service that was being referred to in the reviews. Otherwise, we found the front desk and other employees there to be unfriendly and even while greeting us at the door- there was no smile, it seemed forced and businesslike. I would by no means say this was a 5 star property, nor would I recommend this property for couples. I think it would work well as a business hotel only. When we were checking out the man asked how everything was and when I said "alright"- he did not even inquire. By the way there was never any mention of our anniversary during our entire stay- no card, nothing even though I am certain our travel agent told them!!! We have traveled extensively to luxury properties and a good hotel would have done something. The only saving grace was that we moved to the Hotel Arts for the last two night of our stay in Barcelona and were finally given the wonderful and warm service that we had hoped for. See my review for this property. Not sure how this hotel received its top ranking on TA- opt for the Hotel Majestic or Mandarin Oriental close by if you want to stay in this area. If you don't mind being a little less central but in a true 5 star property- go to Hotel Arts!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelgrems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Pros: Good location. 5 minute walk to casa batllo, shopping and hop on off bus tours. Nice bath products.

Cons: Room very dark and basic. Front desk staff not friendly and unhelpful. No door for the shower for privacy.

Not deserving of a 5 star status. It's a 3 star hotel with a good location. Definitely not a good value and not worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonfly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
206 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,275 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing