We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam Junction, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

It is a very nice hotel!!! The people there are very polite , the rooms are very clean and you can have a very nice sleep. We are very happy from this hotel and we will go to stay there for sure!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    260
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
257
969
60
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I really cannot speak highly enough of the Alma hotel and its staff. I spent a weekend there with my daughter for my birthday. We had a twin room on the first floor. The room was impeccable. Clean, airy, modern and beautifully arranged. The beds were extremely comfy and the bathroom gorgeous. A few people on here complain about there being no door on the bathroom (the toilet is separate BTW) and it really isn't an issue at all as its offset against the main room anyway.

The position of the hotel was also perfect for us as it was equidistant from Sagrada Fammilia and the old town about 10-15 minutes walk to both. Metros were also very close by, so you can literally get anywhere. We got the train / Metro from El Prat to Diagonal to get to the hotel.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful - thank you Alma staff for making my stay and birthday wonderful, you are just the most professional, kind, caring people.

I loved my stay at the Alma and intend to go back later this year for a longer one.
p.s. the breakfast was extra at 25 euros but the food was fresh and of really high quality, worth every penny

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susm164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Location is good for all sights and about a fifteen minute walk from Las Ramblas. Plenty of food options all around but the hotel food is very good if pricey. Rooms are trendy and modern and the ones out the back overlook the garden. The only slight mark on a great stay is that the car park is public and a five minute walk - not great if you are travelling by car with lots of luggage (but at least the car park is secure and a valet is on hand to take it there or bring it back). Would definitely go again. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: If you like open windows, the rooms overlooking the garden are quieter than the road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the new year, very contemporary styled, not much lighting in the bedroom, but never the less it was not a big thing, superb shower, we ate in the restaurant on new years eve, very reasonable priced, food was delightful, and then a midnight glass of champagne in one of the hotels boardroom watching celebrations from all over Spain in their large flat screen tv just perfect. All staff members that we met were brilliant, and the recommendation to eat the best paella in Barcelona on the outskirts of Barcelona was spot on. The hotel is located in a fantastic position, all in all we had a pleasant experience at this hotel and we will be back, thank you to everyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Willitsgoodtotalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at the Alma last year during MWC and booked early to ensure I could stay again this year. The staff was amazing (everyone knew my name!), the rooms were trendy, modern European yet spacious, and the location is at the heart of Barcelona. I also loved the thumbprint access to your rooms so you don't have to worry about room keys. I'm looking forward to my visit back in three weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDavisTNKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is perfectly located. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the concierge always found us excellent restaurants to dine at which were frequented by the local people of Barcelona.
The breakfast in the hotel was perfect with great service and everything ordered was very tasty.
Our room was a Grand Deluxe room which was perfect in every aspect. The style of the hotel is modern and eclectic. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room which was a Grand Deluxe facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennywren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based strictly on Trip Advisor reviews and stayed there for the 3 days prior to our Disney Mediterranean cruise. The hotel met and surpassed all of our expectations! We arrived early in the morning, before 9AM local time, after an overnight flight from the US. We were able to check right in which was great as we were exhausted for our flight. Our taxi was met right out front and bags were held and then promptly taken up to our room. Check in was quick and efficient and we were given a map of the city which we found very helpful. Everyone we encountered (housekeeping, restaurant staff, front desk/concierge) spoke sufficient English to assist with our "No habla espanol"! The room was great. We had what they referenced as the Executive Suite and it was very spacious with a separate sitting area located on the other side of a room break formed by the large armoire that housed the 2 TV's, mini fridge and drawers for storage. As I assume is a European thing, the mini fridge was stocked with water, juices and soda which was wonderful. The beds were very comfortable and although the floors were hardwood and kind of chilly the provided slippers (and robes too) helped with that. The bath was very large with a wonderful tub, separate shower and double sinks. The towels were very plush. The toilet and bidet were enclosed which offered some privacy. The only complaint I might have about the room would be it was a little "dark" even with all lamps burning. But that was not really a huge issue to us as the bathroom was very well lit. We did have breakfast and dinner both at the hotel and enjoyed both. We had never been to Spain so we were unsure what to expect but were pleased with both meals and the price seemed comparable to other restaurants we visited while in the city. I would term breakfast as a buffet with multiple stations with both cold and warm items as well as juices. It was a little pricy but we enjoyed it as well as the convenience of it. Dinner was ala carte and enjoyable. At both meals they were not very busy and it seemed that maybe the staff was a little overwhelmed as only one server was handling everything but it could have just been the difference in European vs. American. The hotel is very centrally located to the main thoroughfare of the city with stops for the hop on/hop off tourist buses very close by. It is within walking distance of the Placa de Catalunya and there are many stores, restaurants and attractions in the area. The front desk/concierge staff were very helpful with questions about the area and things to do. Check out was again very efficient and they had a taxi ready and waiting by the time we had settled our bill to take us to the cruise ship terminal. I was very pleased with our stay and although not much of a European traveler I felt that we got what we paid for as far as quality and service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Barcelona area!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank jengarner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Mirai, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing