We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, service and location”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #20 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Super friendly staff, good food and basically no negatives rendered us very satisfied with the experience! The location is nice with walking distance to La Rambla. The hotel is very neatly decorated and exorts a calm feeling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Fabulous hotel with very friendly staff. This is the perfect place to stay in Barcelona, short walk to Sagrada Familia (20 min), La Pedrera and Casa Batllo. Beautiful view from the Roof terrace over the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hofstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just came back from a 5-day stay in Barcelona. The stay couldn't have been better. The location is superb. It's in the midst of a beautiful Eixample neighborhood, and only a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from The Pedrera. Unfortunately, The facade of The Pedrera is completely covered while it is undergoing renovation. But just being a stone's throw from the Passeig de Gracia is a huge bonus. Every important sight is either within walking distance (for example, the Sagrada Familia), or a short taxi ride away. The rooms are indeed minimalist by design, as other reviewers have noted. The design of the shower and bathroom may take a bit of getting used to for some people, but we had no problem with it. The beds are very comfortable and, despite being so close to the action, the room felt like an oasis of calm. By the way, the service is outstanding. Always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SaulD554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was the perfect place to stay in Barcelona, so glad we made this choice. We actually stayed two times once at the beginning of our trip to Spain for 2 nights and then one more night at the end of our trip. The staff was so incredibly helpful, nice and accommodating. The rooms are sort of minimalist modern but very nice and comfortable and we found the location to be very good as well. Walking distance to many sights/shops and easy enough to get around by cab if not. We had three great dinner recommendations from the staff each night. The first night we ate at Toto which was really good and within walking distance. The second night we went to a traditional, old style Paella place called Cheriff. Incredible Paella and nice area to walk around after dinner. The last night we went to a more modern Paella place on the water called Barraca, the food was amazing and the view was perfect! There is also a really cute rooftop bar at the hotel which we enjoyed one night. You can't ask for better service than we received at this place. I don't have any complaints and I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is centrally located, making it a great base for walking or taking the metro. Our check-in was done by someone who seemed rather distracted. I couldn't help but overhear rhe check-in next to us - the receptionist was warm, welcoming, funny and informative. In contrast, we were just registered for the fingerprint key system and handed a map. We stayed in an Executive Suite which had good space and a nice bathroom. There were a few design featurea that I did not find appealing. The hotel common areas, halls and the suite itself were all painted very dark colors and were also dimly lit. This was somewhat oppressive. In addition, the bedroom outlets were in short supply. However, these aren't huge issues and this is a solid choice in Barcelona.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

On Carrer Majorca, (about1/2 mile 1K from Las Ramblas) with a great sized garden for dinning or just a drink, unfortunately it's where you'll also find all the smoking monkeys too :-(
very big rooms for Barcelona...The rooms are all keyless entry & your fingerprint is used which worked every time for me over an 8 day stay, a very quick and easy thing to do...not sure how many people each room can allow to have their finger assigned each stay though.
Bar restaurant food was good o very good, Veggie options were available & Vegan ones were but only by skipping ingredients from the menu, but all the staff were very helpful & accommodating to strange dietary requirements :-)
Breakfast was good with Soya milk already out :-)..but too late as it starts at 07:00 & not 06:30
Really comfortable bed with a good hard mattress & soft topper too. My room was at the back overlooking the garden & thus quiet, so a great sleep every night.
Wifi was okay & worked pretty much everywhere. Unusual for BCN the Alma has a pool..in the basement though not on the roof so it's larger than any I've come across in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back overlooking the garden for a peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TigerandScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I first stayed at this hotel a few years ago and since then, I have stopped searching for other hotels. This is a design hotel from every angle. Rooms are excellent (book the executive suite) and the restaurant is fabulous (very nice breakfast as well, my egg white omelet was always perfect). Location can not be beat, 30 seconds from Paseo De Gracia. Staff is warm and always very welcoming. I have stayed here three times in the last few months and going again three times before the year is out, this is where I will stay. Enough said.

Room Tip: Book the Executive Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Endymion323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,791 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 516 in Barcelona
1,419 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 516 in Barcelona
323 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 516 in Barcelona
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £173 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Mirai, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing