We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't loose your room key, it's on your fingertip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Barcelona

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You can't loose your room key, it's on your fingertip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very stylish, cool hotel in perfect location close to Passeig de Gracia. Stayed for two nights, for my husbands birthday. Celebrated with Champagne breakfast and the staff was lovely bringing out a little cake with candle as a surprise. The rooms are very stylish with fabulous beds and bedlinen..
No room key, fingerprint recognition, very James Bond...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kattag00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    257
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
254
963
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

My husband and I went to Barcelona to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed at The Alma Hotel. The staff were really helpful and assisted us with finding our way around the city as well as recommending places to visit and eat. They helped to make the trip one we will remember for many years to come. I would highly recommend The Alma Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Imagine a spectacular house in a side street of the Passeig de Gracia, a modern block behind it and a connection between the 2 buildings with a uniform stylish and minimalist, but warm interior. That's Alma. I loved how they turned this place into a very stylish hotel. Don't stay here if you like bling-bling. If you like design, and luxurious minimalism (yes, that exists!), this is your place. I stayed in a standard room with views of the interior courtyard. Room size is great, the bathroom fantastic and all has very high finishings (loved the wood panelling details). Breakfast was very good, very creative in comparison to what you get in most hotels. The staff I met did a great job as well.
Nothing negative? Well, in my room I could hear the music that was played on the terrace in the evening. However, I never heard anything from the neighbours or the corridors.
It was my fifth stay in Barcelona and this was definitely the best out of 5 hotels I stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babolat-blast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

stayed for four days in August 2014. room was delightful, quiet, fresh and clean.
showers and all facilities excellent.staff service was exceptional. food very good.
location was perfect. backs onto Goudy's Pedrera, short walk to Segreda Familia,
easy walk to restaurants, shopping, La Rambla, medieval district etc.

Room Tip: the rear of the hotel backs onto the patio and has no traffic exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seawinds505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were made welcome as soon as we arrived, given a glass of Cava - the local 'champagne' of Catalonia - while sitting to check-in. The Receptionist gave details and advice on local attractions, Metro, and tourist bus routes. We wanted to visit 'La Pedrega' and 'La Segrada Familia', famous Gaudi creations and both are within walking distance - in fact the former is right behind the hotel! The hotel features finger door activation which we found to be brilliant, no forgotten keys, and the system worked wonderfully. The room was spacious and spotless, the bed soo.. comfortable with a huge double with individual duvets. A his and hers wash hand basin, massive shower and separate toilet, free mini-bar, black-out windows - really this is a five star hotel right in the centre of Barcelona with easy access to La Rambla. If you are in doubt as to where to stay you can't go wrong with the Alma - the best hotel we have ever stayed in and I haven't even mentioned the roof-top bar overlooking the city with a fabulous atmosphere! Look no further, you have found the hotel of your dreams. Yes a bit on the pricy end, but quality always comes at a price and this is money well spent. We loved our stay and will be back next time we visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Me and partner had a lovely 4 days in the Alma Hotel Barcelona over the Bank Holiday and i cannot fault the hotel nor its excellent staff, who made our stay one of the best city break holidays we have enjoyed, and would not look at anywhere else to stay in Barcelona.
We enjoyed this hotel so much, that we will now look to stay at other the Alma hotels in Europe where possible in the future.

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tricky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My partner whisked me away to Barcelona as a 30th birthday treat, and we stayed in the Alma for 3 nights.

The hotel had an impressively modern yet gothic atmosphere inside, which lended it an exclusive air. But this also made the hotel feel a bit cold and - dare I say - uninviting. Couple this with at-times aloof service, and the vibe in the common areas didn't make me feel particularly welcome.

We had to wait a little while for both check-in and check-out. Once we sat down at the check-in desk, we were given glasses of champagne, which was a nice touch. Beyond that, the hotel staff offered no special touches to make my 30th birthday special - and the champagne at check-in is offered to everyone.

The concierge was swift and efficient when asked to secure a table at a popular seafood restaurant in Barceloneta. However, this basic level of service is what I expect as standard in a 5-star hotel.

The best part of the hotel in my opinion was the room. Clean lines, big bed, luxurious linens, massive walk-in shower and loads of storage space. I definitely got some great nights' sleep.

We ordered room service one evening, and the food arrived promptly and was of a good standard. The cost was reasonable.

All in all, the Alma was indeed a spectacular-looking hotel with exceptionally comfortable and modern rooms. The level of service, however, let the Alma down. When you're paying this much for a hotel, your stay extends beyond the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing