We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely castle”
Review of Montjuic Castle

Montjuic Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.23*
and up
Barcelona Art and Architecture: Half-Day Guided Walking Tour
More Info
US$81.84*
and up
Gay Friendly Panoramic Montjuic Mountain Private Walking Tour in Barcelona
More Info
US$81.84*
and up
Private Montjuic Mountain Tour with Visit to Olympic Park and Plaza España
Ranked #67 of 716 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beirut
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely castle”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I love medieval castles and historical locations. We went up there through the cable car which is 10 euros up and down the hill which I thought it is expensive especially that when you get to the top and you want to enter you have to pay additional 5 euros for the castle. I felt we were robbed and overpriced. The entrance and gardens are nice, the middle arena also is nice to sit and relax there. But besides that as mentioned before me in some reviews, many rooms are closed and the only nice thing is the view on top and the nice old tanks displayed and well maintained. But the fees should be looked into them again. Why pay twice, the cable car and then the entrance especially that nothing important is there to see....honestly for that amount of money I would have preferred doing something else. Also if your picture is taken while entering the cable car and even though they tell you it's free, think again,,,,,,the photo is 10 euros per copy !!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xena1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    1,179
    494
    106
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Imola, Emilia-romagna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the view is great”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The castle is poor. Nothing to see and all rooms are closed. Also the ticket cost (5 euro) plus the travel cost (10 euro) is too much for what you can see.

Do not go there, barcelona can offer more!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice castle”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took the funicular rail up the mountain from the Metro stop. Then took the glass-enclosed gondola (like a ski gondola), up the hill to get to the castle. Great views of the city from that vantage point. You can ride the gondola up and/or down from the top. The Montjuic Castle is nice to see, though a bit simple, and not much to see on the interior. The top deck was really windy, but the views were great. We didn't take a guided tour, which probably would have been more informative than just wandering around, but we didn't want to wait around for it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LCPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Everything about the view”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Very pricy, first we pay metro, then cable cars, and then to get in to castle too?

Anyways, we loved the view. My girlfriend been here many times before when it was free, but was shocked about new process.

Maybe include tickets in cable cars or discount?

Nevertheless, like the view from all angles. And the way to get there is very cozy, especially if you get private cable cabin.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Castell de Montjuic”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After taking the Teleferic de Montjuic to the top of Montjuic, you are greeted by this stunning 1640s castle.
You are able to see the history in the grounds of which the castle stands and see why it was built here with views all around Barcelona.

Although this visit, I did not go inside, it is a must do for visitors of Barcelona as inside is a military museum. It is also worth a walk around the building itself to get amazing views of the port of Barcelona.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank walderston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montjuic Castle also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Montjuic Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing