We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - our 2nd time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona City Tour

Barcelona City Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.83*
and up
Barcelona Hop-on Hop Off Tour: East to West Route
Ranked #77 of 525 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barcelona City Tour is the 'Hop on & Hop off' service of this Spanish city. Our service offers you two routes to get to know and explore Barcelona from our bus but also letting you go on and off as many times as you wish to go all over the city on your own. Admire the architectural beauty of Sagrada Familia, a work by the great Antoni Gaudi and symbol of Barcelona; go for a walk at Park Guell that joins nature and designs; contemplate La Pedrera and la Casa Batllo, two Modernist jewels at Passeig de Gracia; go all over the labyrinthine streets of Barrio Gotico; fall in love with Montjuic Mountain and Palau Nacional, amongst others. Enjoy Barcelona with us!
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent - our 2nd time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We did this 4 years ago and loved it then! We chose to do it again and were not disappointed! Booked the tickets on-line to get our discount. We have done bus tours in other countries, however, I must say that this one is far superior! If you can, get the 2 day pass and take both lines so get a full scope of the city. What an amazing (and timely!) bus tour! Thank you!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EMKoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCNCityTour, Customer Service at Barcelona City Tour, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed 'Barcelona City Tour' for the second time. Thank you so much for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    541
    183
    102
    102
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great way too see Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

There are 2 "hop on hop off" bus offerings in Barcelona. Each offer 2 routes through the city and the ticket allows you to swap between the two. We chose the City tour as the route was more comprehensive, including the Barcelona FC stadium on its orange route. The buses came at least every 10 minutes as promised, often at earlier intervals. Only once did we wait more than 10 minutes. The frequency of the buses meant they were never over crowded, even though Barcelona was very busy. The staff were very friendly with helpful advice. The buses were clean. The audio commentary was comprehensive and at times somewhat amusing in the translation! The drivers showed understanding and patience with older passengers and families with younger children wanting to sit on the top deck and were happy to wait until they were safely seated. I purchased a two day ticket and probably would have preferred not to have to use the ticket in consecutive days.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RJETMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Tried before the Barcelona Bus Touristic 2 years ago, and decided to try this one as it is less crowded and has only 2 lines who go almost everywhere as the other one . (It has a separate line for the beach). Discovered that there has been a change of owners and of the route colors, booked online while already in Barcelona to get my 10% and discovered that I had to go to their office one street away to print ticket, as they can't scan bar code from the phone, It delayed us a bit but otherwise enjoyed the bus, although its stop is at the other side of El Corte Ingles across Plaza Catalunya. It is same price as the other bus, but stops at the mall lilla diagonal in the middle of the city where there are lots of shops and u get a discount card thanks to the coupon booklet. Overall I think I will take this bus next time too, as it is less crowded and most of the buses have a roof that shuts down when it is raining.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jessykaCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCNCityTour, Customer Service at Barcelona City Tour, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion. It's correct that if you buy your tickets on our website you get a 10% discount, where you’ll receive a voucher that you must print to exchange for tickets on the buses. If you don't have a printer, we can print it for you at our main office, close to our stop number 1 | PLAÇA DE CATALUNYA. We hope to see you soon in Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

There appear to be two hop on / hop off tour companies in Barcelona. This review is about the red sided buses www.barcelonacitytour.com (both bus lines have red paint on the front and rear, but this line has red on the side.)

We started soon after they opened, and found the red line had no waiting for a bus. I had pre-paid, and they had no problem accepting the printed receipt I had. We received our ear buds and plugged in for the tour.

After completing the red line tour (around lunch time Sunday), we saw long lines for both tours. We waited about twenty minutes to get seats on the green line bus, but the line was well organized and their staff moved up and down the line answering tourist questions. I had no problem understanding their English (which is good, because it's the only language I can speak). A new bus arrived about every five to eight minutes, but they were full.

At this time of year (mid May), I would recommend that you hop on and stay on the bus for an entire circle tour. If you were to hop off too often, you might not be able to do one tour in a day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Telserv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCNCityTour, Customer Service at Barcelona City Tour, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for your opinion of Barcelona City Tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calvinia, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to see Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We only had one free day to explore the city and decided to take the Barcelona City Tour. The hop-on, hop-off bus covered all the places we wanted to see and many more. I loved that we could transfer between the different routes. The buses are regular and the stops are clearly marked, never had to wait longer than 10 min.
Excellent value for money and the commentary is very good.
If we are ever in Barcelona again, we will purchase the two day pass and spend more time at the different stops as there is so much to see and do in this beautiful city.
We highly recommend seeing Barcelona this way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DawnLoubser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barcelona City Tour also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Barcelona City Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing