We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not leave Barcelona without visiting Montserrat”

Barcelona Turisme - Afternoon in Montserrat Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.66*
and up
Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cogwheel Train Ride
Ranked #35 of 549 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montserrat offers a rich and varied landscape: a unique natural park, one of Spain's foremost museums and the site of the shrine dedicated to the Virgin of Montserrat, a Black Madonna.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not leave Barcelona without visiting Montserrat”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We purchased the tickets at Espanya a day earlier at one of the vending machines and therefore skipped the morning rush. It's a good idea to reach early as sometimes the train can fill up and you will be left with no seats to sit.

Must do while in Montserrat:
1. Ride the funicular to Sant Joan
2. Hike one of several hiking trails
3. Buy cheese
4. Listen to the choir

We packed our lunch from Barcelona and had it on one of the benches overlooking probably one of the best views of Barcelona.
We also stood in line to pay our respects to the Black Madonna. However this can take several hours.
DO remember, Montserrat is at a higher altitude so wear warm clothes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KedarAngirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    387
    86
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zrece, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a getaway”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

went to montserrat really early so I could hike and have my mind at peace. nevertheless, whatever you´re searching for, montserrat will give you - monestary, spirituality, hiking, local stands(bit expensive)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nežka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Benedictine Abbey on the Montserrat mountain”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Located in almost 50 km from Barcelona, this place attracts tourists from all over the world with not only interesting place and picturesque view but also with the Virgin of Montserrat or a Black Virgin- the romanesque sculpture in wood-Catalonia's favourite and most respected saint. As beliefs say, if you make a wish while touching the statue, it will come true in 3 months. No one knows if it is true or not, but still the queues are really big in high season, you can spend even a couple of hours waiting.
Still the place is worth of visiting, better to plan your trip for a whole day as it will take some time to get there (by train from Barcelona) and the trip back with visiting all the amenities of the monastery. One of it is a museum with some works of famous artists, e.g. very early works of Picasso, El Greco, Dali)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take me back”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

You must spend an afternoon in Montserrat! I love everything about Barcelona, but my afternoon hiking Monserrat was one of the highlights of my two months there. I would recommend taking the train at the Expana metro in Barcelona to Monserrat. We packed water and snacks in our backpack and had a little picnic half way up while enjoying breathtaking views. I loved hiking up to the highest possible point we could go, without rock climbing gear, and watching rock climbers climb up the highest peaks. It was a great afternoon, and like I said, I would definitely do it again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mishay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A easy day trip from Barcelona”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

To get to Mont Serrat, you firstly got to take the Metro to Espanya Station, look for the R5 line entrance and purchase the ticket there. If you can't find the R5 line, just get out of the station and you would see a Tourist Information Booth ( you can't miss it! ). Ask them for directions to the R5 line. You can even purchase your ticket there.

I bought the Trans Mont Serrat ticket which cost about 27.50 Euros. It supposingly includes 2 metro tickets , to and fro train tickets to mont serrat, to and fro cable car access up to mont serrat, unlimited funicular rides to different parts of the mountain, and this audio visual (15mins ) tour.

Everything worked fine on my ticket except that I couldn't seem to use the metro with that ticket.

I suggest you start the day early as the train ride + cable car would take about 1h 30mins.

If you do buy the Trans Mont serrat ticket, make full use of it by taking the funiculars to the other parts of the mountain like Sant Joan or Sant Cova.
It is really beautiful there, but do be prepared to do quite abit of walking and hiking upwards!
So, wear comfortable shoes as you would be in for a short hike!

I decided to skip the queue to look at the Black Virgin Mary, but i figured it shouldn't be that much of a loss.

I wouldn't suggest old folks with walking limitations to visit the other parts of the mountain as it could get really tiring walking on those routes.

Keep hydrated, bring a cap and a packed lunch and enjoy your day there! The views are amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Debtng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barcelona Turisme - Afternoon in Montserrat Tour also viewed

Montserrat, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Barcelona Turisme - Afternoon in Montserrat Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing