We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 20:00
Barcelona Card: Museums + Transport for 72h, 96h or 120h
896

Book in advance
from
£49.28
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Museu de Ciencies Naturals de Barcelona
from £49.28
More Info
from £42.74
More Info
from £86.36
More Info
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
127
111
47
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
111
47
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews precious stones easily accessible by bus couple of hours minerals taxidermy museum primates information formations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Nice place with average exposition about earth history. The exhibition is small and without many interactive tools for young children

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Tamerlans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2017

It was very empty during my visit in this interestingly designed building that sits above the ground. The initial galleries are very well laid out and take you through stages in the earth's development with projections on the wall that need no language and fossils from the period. Many of the remaining exhibits had interesting facts rather than just descriptions and some of the smaller rooms used effective ways to demonstrate things such as the classification room that used sorting of buttons to explain how animals could be classified. A tip is to take your glasses if you wear them. The museum could be even better if:
a) Labels were above rather than below cases in the initial section with larger font.
b) In the fascinating room on animal behaviour. Rather than having 4 screens on different topics that cycle through Spanish, Catalan and English have 3 screen for each of the languages, showing all of the topics after each other. Not doing this meant a long wait when all the screens started showing the same language.
c) There appeared to be an error in the description in the classification room when it showed the number of known species and predicted species as there seemed to be inconsistency in different places as to whether the predicted number of species included those already known or not.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank KevinRayment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We spent a great time and learnt lots of things about dinosaurs and evolution of earth. My 5 years old took part in an free activity in which he could touch dinosaurs' bones, fair, experience the tools used in prehistory by humans, etc.
Downside was that the language used by the instructor when explaining the kids what they were going to see was Catalan. Fortunately kids were accompanied by a relative and most of the activity didn't require the help of the instructor.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The Museu de Ciencies Naturals is very easy to miss - it's at the north side of the city in a fugly building that's not got much else going on around it. We visited while the Spinosaurus exhibition was on - there's a massive spinosaurus outside and so you can buy a ticket for each side or both. We got both. We were also the only people in the whole museum for our entire 2 hour visit. It was amazing.

The museum has plenty in many languages, with a massive section of minerals and an almost as big section of taxidermy. So fascinating. There's plenty to look at and photograph.

The Spinosaurus exhibit was also pretty cool, with all of the videos being in English and Spanish, so we got to hear all of the information as well as read. The exhibit was very fun and such a great story about finding the bones, but I feel like there was a step missing in between this and then WOAH the dino is swimming. This bit was kinda glossed over and I would have loved to learn why they think it swims.

Overall the museum is great and well worth the entrance fee - I would recommend to anyone else visiting if they had some spare time!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Aileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

A bit far away from the city centre, in diagonal mar it's easy to reach by metro, the nearest stop is el maresme forúm. It's in a big venue with a lot of space for the collection. We visited both the permanent collection and the national geographic monography dedicated to the spinosaurus. The permanent collection is very interesting, with so many things to see: you can find fossils, animals, minerals, dinosaurs' bones and everything is well explained in an easy but at the same scientific method. National geographic's exhibition was also interesting and kids oriented with many attivities and explanations. If you're under 30 yo, you can pay a reduced ticket.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank elececia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews