We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient but needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Ranked #189 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“convenient but needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights in December and was pleased with the location overall. It was close enough to the ramblas but not in the heart of it which suits me perfectly. I was not impressed with my room initially as it was very small and noisy plus the shower area didn't feel clean. I feel like I could hear the metro trains at night plus noise from the corridor and slamming of other room doors etc. The breakfast was very good. It was also great of them to provide bathrobes but I kind of wished there were slippers as well as the non carpeted floor was rather cold. Didn't travel with slippers as I was going in winter.....

Room Tip: - if you are a light sleeper suggest you bring ear plugs - slippers will come in handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I want to thank you for the time you spent to share your comments on our Hotel Regina Barcelona.
The location of our hotel is very centrally located within walking distance to all public transport in the city and all the tourist and shopping area.
Sorry that the room did not seem big enough, in a future stay please contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com and will be happy to assign you a larger room. Concerning the slippers, it is a pleasure to inform you that we already have shoes for all our rooms, whether standards or higher.

Again, many thanks for your post, I am at your disposal for anything you might need from Barcelona.

Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    578
    219
    70
    18
See reviews for
436
503
65
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, the room was slightly cramped but the bathroom was good. It was centrally located with great access to lots of places. The tour bus stop was walking distance from us. The staff were super friendly, however rooms were a bit noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comments about our Hotel Regina in Barcelona.

As you said the location of our hotel is centrally located, just one minute walk from Plaza de Catalunya and Las Ramblas and next to all public transport in the city, including the Aerobus.

I apologize if you feel that your room was noisy, however, if you decide to come back to Barcelona, please contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com i will be happy to personally handle your reservation and assign you a very quiet room.


Best regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

2 mins walk from areo bus stop, cozy and clean room but not very spacy. Toilet is above standard. Easy access to internet with stable wifi in the room. Very friendly staff even during the night shift. It is a pity that we only stay here for one night and have to leave for Madrid today.

Helpful?
Thank seventibet
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for such a positive comment about our Hotel Regina in Barcelona and our facilities.
I will extend your comments to our night staff, I am glad that you felt confortable in our hotel unless you stayed with us only one night. But if you choose to come back some another time to Barcelona, it will be a pleasure to personally take care of your reservation,you can contact me mbanon@grhoteles.com

Regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights into the new year the hotel is in a central location and you can get everywhere in the city as is in a central point. The staff are helpful and always on hand. I would recommend that people stay here- singles, friends and families - it should be stated on the first day randomly in the lobby we did see a cockroach but we informed the hotel and they got rid of this but we did not see another one anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I want to thank you the dedicated time to write a comment about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel, our hotel has rooms of all types, from single to family rooms for 4 people.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly at mbanon@grhoteles.com if you decide to return to Barcelona, ​​it will be a pleasure to personally handle your reservation.

Best Regards,


Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

From Aeroport de Barcelona-El Prat, one can take the Aerobus that will stop in Plaça Catalunya and from there one can reach this hotel by walking in under 2 minutes.

Overall the hotel was decently okay. It's conveniently located with great access to public transportation and walking tours.

The room that I got was acceptable but in general it was dusty. I can easily see the dust move and fly around every time I move something.

The room was not soundproofed. One can easily hear the noise and traffic outside the window as well as the sound of my next door neighbour and irritatingly the sound from the pipe especially when the wind blows hard in the middle of the night. Another irritating problem that I had with my room is that, I cannot turn off all lights and watch TV. When I tried to turn the lights off the TV has to go off with it.

As for TV channels it has several local and international broadcast. Free wi-fi access in my room was fast and stable.

As for the breakfast buffet they serve typical continental breakfast but during my 7-day stay in this hotel, I got bored with the same predictable food. All the food that they served were the same and not even a slight change or additional treat or surprise for the weekend.

Lastly, be prepared to pay extra for the tourist tax when you check out. If you have booked and paid the whole amount for your stay in a separate website, make sure to read if the tourist tax is included in you payment or not.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent to write your review of our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

I apologize for all the inconveniences that you had during your stay in our hotel. I would ask if you can write me at mbanon@grhoteles.com your room number in order to solve these problems one by one.

Regarding the city tax never can go included in the rate, it is 1.21 euros per person, up to a maximum of 7 nights.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to come back to our city, I know this has not been an excellent stay but we will do everything possible if you give us a second chance to change your perception.

Sincerely,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is located perfectly near Plaza Catalonia and easy access to aerobuss, metro and Rambla. So if that is all you need, you are in luck. Regina has nice features but it is not a luxury hotel. With this price it is ok though. Not full stars because of: would need more soundproof on doors and walls, bathroom renewal, better beds as a whole, some variation in breakfast and proper coffee! Nice design overall and good service. Perfect location and all around ok hotel for this price.

Helpful?
Thank CallMeCaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Sirs,

First of all I would like to thank you for the review on our Hotel Regina Barcelona.

Thank you so much for your words, they are going to help us to improve those points that you would appreciate in a future stay, including soundproofing, choice of breakfasts for longer stays and beds, although it is something that we always have special care. If you tell me your room number I will make a detailed inspection.

You can contact me mbanon@grhoteles.com for anything you might need.


Kind regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Aftre a 12-day cruise, our first land nights were in Barcelona. We picked the perfect location, at Catalunya Square. The Hotel Regina was a wonderful choice, Our room in the back, #516, was very large with a nice view of the street life. Our travel companions had a slightly smaller room in the front. Both rooms were spotless with modern, clean bathrooms. The lobby, downstairs bar and breakfast rooms were well-decorated and spacious, The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 16 (316, 516, etc) seem to be the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoReginaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Regina Barcelona, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Sirs;

Thank you so much for writing a review about our Hotel Regina Barcelona.
It is a pleasure to read that your stay at our hotel was very satisfactory and that you liked the room we assign to you.
Thanks for your comments regarding the courtesy of our staff, without them we could not receive such positive comments like yours.

If in the future you decide to return to Barcelona, I ​​will be happy to personally handle your reservation, please contact me for whatever you need to mbanon@grhoteles.com


Kind regards,

Meritxell Bañón
General Manager
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#143 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#159 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#113 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Barcelona

Property: Hotel Regina Barcelona
Address: C/ Bergara, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#140 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#168 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical 4 stars hotel of Barcelona, since 1917, perfectly situated in the very center of the city (Catalunya Square and Las Ramblas at 100 meters). The hotel has been entirely refurbished in 2016 withe noble materials and design furniture, respecting its story and introducing all the modern services expected. Hotel Regina has diferent types of room from Standards to Family rooms up to 4 people. Large breakfast room with intercontinental buffet. Free high speed wifi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing