We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, convenient hostal for all ages near Catalunya Square and Metro.”
Review of Hostal Q

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Q
Ranked #62 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient hostal for all ages near Catalunya Square and Metro.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Hostal Q in Barcelona for 4 nights in mid-August 2013. Although we would have liked windows, the room was just what we needed for our brief visit in Spain. We were not bothered by street noise and light because we were in an inside room. We did notice the metro rumbling underneath the hotel, but this was infrequent during the night and did not affect our ability to sleep. The bathroom was beautiful with tasteful minimalist decor, as was the bedroom.

The desk personnel were all excellent and helpful. WiFi was free and available, as well as 3 laptops in a common area next to the small eating area with a couple of tables and some chairs for those who brought in outside food. There were also some magazines, books, and information regarding Spain and Barcelona for perusal. Drink machine next to the elevator.

Even though there is no food service offered, there is a bakery/sandwich/coffee shop literally a few doors to the right of Hostal Q after you step out the front door. Yes, the metro is a short distance to the left of the front door on the corner. Catalunya Square is about a 10-minute walk to your left, too. There you can walk to Les Ramblas, catch the hop on, hop off sightseeing bus, or shop in El Corte Ingles Department Store, for example. Small, quality restaurants are located within easy walking distance, from next door, to a couple of blocks away.

Please note that in Spain the words "hostel" and "hostal" designate two different types of budget accommodation. A "hostel" refers to accommodation that is often dormitory style with several beds per room and usually includes shared bathroom facilities, sometimes with only a lavatory in the sleeping area. There might also be shared kitchen facilities in a hostel. Hostels also tend to be frequented more by younger, college-aged customers.

On the other hand, a "hostal" refers to a small budget hotel, usually providing small private rooms and private bathroom facilities and limited amenities. Hostal Q is a good example of the hostal. It's customers ranged.from college students to young families with babies to senior travelers looking for budget accommodation.

Our goal was to see highlights of Barcelona in a just a few days. We managed to do this easily using the hop on, hop off bus, metro, walking, and taxis. Our focus was Gaudi's Basilica of the Sagrada Familia and the Park Guell, among his other works and the wonderful Picasso Museum tucked away in a small alley.

Room Tip: Ask the desk about possiblities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sybilspeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    187
    43
    21
    8
See reviews for
36
223
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paimio, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Absolutely nice hostel in the heart of Barcelona. This place is quite new and you can see it, because rooms are so clean and nice as well lobby also.

Location is really good. You can walk everywhere. For example Born is only about 500 meters away as well Rambla and if you need metro, closest station is about 10 meters away from the outdoor.

Service was good. When we arrived, reception welcomed us really friendly and right away gave us some good tips about Barcelona. They don't have breakfast, but there are lot of nice cafes around the hostel. Hostel also offers free coffee and biscuits, wifi and computers 24/7.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the end of June 2013 for 3 days. The room was small (good for 2) but was clean and comfortable, had our own private shower and toilet. Wifi works well. The cookies and coffee in the common area were nice after a long morning out. The vending machine sell water, soda etc. the staff were very friendly and Ricard, the owner was very accomodating and even explained to us the map of the city. I feel safe in the hotel. The best feature is the location - next to subway station and 3 minute walk to Plaza Catalunya and about 10 mins walk to Las Ramblas. My recommendation? Have sound-proof windows. It gets kind of noisy at night with people & street noise. Other than that, we had a great experience and believe me, we slept through the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwright121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in many 5 star hotels and this hostal has nothing to envy. Locate 2 mins walking from placa catalunya tou can take the subway right outside the hotel and enjoy barcelona. I loved the place and the staff especially Anna. Everybody is polite and professional. The only downside is that you feel the subway passing in some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yianniscy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice modern and well located hostal in Barcelona. It's a 3 minute walk to playa Catalunya where the airport bus stop is as well as the main stop for hop on and off sightseeing buses. Walk 10 minutes and you'll be on las rambles.
Staff were nice, friendly and helpful. Always said hello.
The rooms look like the pics other reviewers have put up. The shower is completely see through. TV doesn't have many working channels and no channels in English. We didn't mind there was no fridge because there was a vending machine that had drinks including beer, sandwiches and snacks like chocolate or cookies. The kitchen and lap top area was really nice to have. Both areas were always clean and tidy.
If there was one negative thing about this place was how thin the walls are. We could clearly hear conversations next door and from people talking on the streets. The room rumbled every time the subway went by underneath the hotel. So if you are a light sleeper then this might not be the place for you. However, if you don't mind listening to your neighbours conversations and the rumbles of the subway or you've got an excellent pair of ear plugs then this is a fantastic place to stay. I know I will stay here again next time I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The location of the hostel is very convenient. Just right in front of the exit of Urquinaona station. You could walk to Pl. Catalunya to catch an airport express or to the Barcelona tourisme counter within 5 minutes.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. There are free coffee and biscuit provided at the cafeterior all the time.

However, the room was so dark. There was obviosly not enough lighting and they even used the light in shower room for room light. The shower room was see-through. Although there was a blind to conceal, it couldn't do any help with the light inside the shower turned on since everything could be seen anyway.

Although they changed towels and made up room everyday, the towels were rags with many holes and very thin.

There was a flat screen TV provided but I couldn't manage the Spanish appeared on the screen anytime I was trying to turn it on so I gave up watching. The room was very basic with no fridge also.

I requested a room with windows and was given a cornor room on the 1F. Since it was facing the main street and on the lower level it was noisy from people chatting from the pub and restaurants downstairs at night and in the morning.

It is a good hostel but the worst one we experienced in comparison although it was the most expensive one we paid for in Spain. This is Barcelona where accommodations are expensive so don't expect too much from the price you pay though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumaneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portals Nous, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Coming back from a long journey we had a night stopover in Barcelona. Arrived at the hostal very late - the gentleman at the reception was super - very friendly and helpful. The room was basic but very clean. The shower is part of the room with just glass between the bedroom and bathroom. Would go back again - it was cheap and well worth the money - also very central.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerbug337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#327 of 512 in Barcelona
385 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#34 of 307 in Barcelona
349 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#24 of 307 in Barcelona
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#50 of 307 in Barcelona
341 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#8 of 307 in Barcelona
466 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#35 of 307 in Barcelona
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Q

Property: Hostal Q
Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 22, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Q 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel Q has 21 double rooms, functional and comfortable. All rooms have private bathroom, LCD TV, air conditioning and heating. Most of them face to the street plenty of natural light. There are rooms with queen size bed and others with two beds. Remember selecting the appropiate option when you book your room. The rooms are fully equiped, all with a full bathroom with a fantastic rain shower. The room has a flat screen TV, and free wifi signal inside the room. The Guest rooms are completely new, we are opening on summer 2011. This new urban design makes the hostal Q a excelent place to enjoy Barcelona, without spending a lot of money. We offer a new and demanded kind of hotel establishment, simplicity, quality, design and especially a good price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Q reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Q Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing