We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If i had more than five stars to give, it would get them all”
Review of Circa 1905

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Circa 1905
Ranked #19 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“If i had more than five stars to give, it would get them all”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I am writing this report in english so that it may not only reach the usual german community but the english speaking people out there as well. My message is clear: if you ever go to Barcelona, this is definitely the place to be!
Lots can be said about the rooms, it has been said by previous reviewers, yet let me point out one thing that I have learned along my travels through Europe: five stars is not always five stars and you never know what to expect so be smart enough to follow the postings on tripadvisor. This is what I did in this particular case, as I wanted a place near the main attractions of Barcelona without having to pay an exuberant amount of money to accomodate three people.
I hit the right place. It is situated between Passeig de Gracia and the Rambla Catalunia, smack down right in the middle of the most attractive part of town without being exposed to the touristy hustle and bustle just some hundreds meters away. The Calle Florenca is very quiet in a most attractive way, it offers some small coffee shops and take aways as well as some very nice fashion stores. Yet it is a connecting street between the two aforementioned streets and not too many tourists enter it as there is more up the bigger roads- so why bother. Good for the travellers nestling here. For busy Barcelona, serenity is a big plus. Near the B&B you find the world famous La Pedreira, just a "stonethrow" away. Don't try. You might hurt someone.
When you enter the B&B you might be surprised about the looks and feels of this place. The colours used in the parlor and breakfast room are dark, grey and aubergine, yet it fits the whole design idea quite well. The owner has proven to be of good taste and left nothing to chance, you will see. Even the smallest item there is set up pretty perfectly.
The rooms are located on the first floor of a modernist building, so called after a very important phase in architectural development in Europe in the years between 1905 and 1930. The most obvious sign for this architectural style is the playfulness and rich floral style that is shown in plastering, floor tiling and outside design of these buldings. It is rich in ideas and fanciness without having an attitude.
All rooms are fitted with furniture from that period of design, even the backrests of the beds have that style of design with rich floral ornamentation, such a nice rest for the head and eyes! Furniture is almost antique in a true way, some of the sitting items were so neat that I didn't want to sit on them in admiration of beauty.
The bathrooms are brand new, all nice and clean, stylish and modern in good taste fitted into the given space. We had the privilege of settling in a room with a porch/balcony so we were able to enjoy our lush and fresh breakfast out in the morning sun. The other room we rented faced the street and offered a small balcony that fitted two chairs and a petite table. Cute, just the right room for the little lady accompanying us.
A very attentive and friendly host received us and set us up with information about the city, being helpful in every way we desired. Thank you for the attendance, it made our stay here even nicer!

Room Tip: any room facing the patio is good, but the ones facing the street have a uniqueness to themselves th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNAFLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    44
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
179
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Circa 1905 is a hidden gem. It's small quiet and clean with an very convenient location and an extremely helpful English speaking staff. Paola was the best employee I've encountered in years. She helped with credit card problems packed us a breakfast when we left early and gave great restaurant suggestions

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJKWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, OK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Circa 1905 for a few days prior to embarking on a Mediterranean cruise. We were booked in a Terrace room.

We were very pleased with the service as soon as we walked in the door. Having never visited Barcelona, the staff were very helpful with pointing out directions to the sites we wanted to see, and also recommended a couple of places to eat. They were also happy to help us purchase entrance tickets online so we could avoid the long wait lines.

The location couldn't have been more perfect. Just a half block away from La Pedrera, one block from a central metro station, and three blocks to Casa Batllo. The metro to Sagrada Familia was just a couple stops. And lots of cafes and shopping all within walking distance. Even Las Ramblas was just a few blocks to walk to. And in the evening it was quiet enough for those of us who turn in early.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Terrace, often eating our breakfast there and enjoying a bottle of wine later in the day. The terrace opens up to an internal courtyard (of the restaurant next door) and there are lots of trees to keep the terrace private from the restaurant.

We definitely recommend this location to other travelers, and would stay again if we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have just returned from Barcelona having just spent a three night stay at circa 1905, and cannot recommend it highly enough. The room, the building, the staff and location all lived up to, and actually exceeded my expectations.
I travelled with my 13 year old daughter and we were assigned a twin room with a balcony. The furnishings were simple but beautiful, the room large and airy, clean and fresh.
The communal space is kept beautifully dim and cool and is a real refuge from the heat after a busy day exploring. There are communal coffee making facilities and a fridge stocked full of ice cold water which is a huge bonus when returning from your travels tired and thirsty!
The location is perfect- a stones throw away from the Pedrera, and from the metro station at Diagonal. Wonderful shops and eateries nearby.....it really couldn't have been more convenient. Breakfasts were a real treat with lots of lovely pastries, cheeses etc to choose from and served until 10.30. It could be taken in the communal space, or as we did, on a tray in our room and enjoyed on the balcony.
The staff were exceptionally charming and helpful with excellent English, and they made us feel very welcome from the outset.
I honestly have not a single negative thing to say, and am so glad that we chose to spend our stay there!
My advice- book early to avoid disappointment, as there are few rooms!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had chosen this B & B from the excellent reviews we read on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, we never got to experience it because our dog was diagnosed with a cancerous tumor before the trip. The staff of Circa 1905 couldn't have been more compassionate when they heard our sad news and allowed us to cancel the trip 6 days before our arrival. Prior to this, they had been very accommodating by answering questions about the location and nearest metro station. They even e-mailed me a "walking map" from the station to the B&B. We will definitely be booking with Circa 1905 when we reschedule our trip.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pdemeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisamberg
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very nice and stylish B&B in a convenient location in Barcelona (300 m from Subway station Diagonale). Bedroom had a fair size with excellent large mattresses and a small French balcony - large enough to sit outside. Beds were excellent, the bathroom with shower rather spacious and very modern. Air conditioning individually adjustable. Room looked towards Provenza street, which is quite busy in the morning, but the sound insulation by a double window system was very good. Breakfast also fine. Staff very friendly and helpful. Probably one of the better places in Barcelona. Price acceptable, since compared to other countries hotel rooms in Barcelona are generally pretty expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We chose this B&B after reading the reviews, as we had not been to Barcelona before. It is as good as everyone says. Set down a side street half a block from La Pedrera (Casa Milo) which can be seen from the room balcony. It is within a gentle 20min walk from La Sagrada Familia, and about 25 min from Las Ramblas etc. Near to good restaurants and shopping.

The 1905 is extremely comfortable, calm and super clean. The staff speak excellent English if you need it, and will happily recommend or book tickets or restaurants for you. They printed off our boarding passes, saving us queuing and also sorted a taxi for our return to the airport.
We would certainly come here next time we are in Barcelona! Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExMalaysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
214 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 512 in Barcelona
326 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 512 in Barcelona
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 1905

Property: Circa 1905
Address: Provenza, 286, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Circa 1905 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1905 is a small Bed & Breakfast located on the first floor of a modernist building in the historic quarter of "Eixample", close to Paseo de Gracia and La Pedrera of Gaudi. The nine rooms of the house have been recovered by the owner and architect mixing old and new, tradition and comfort to offer guests a cozy and refined atmosphere where feel at home. Each room has been individually furnished, all have private bathrooms, and many have a balcony or terrace. Circa 1905 offers breakfast with fresh, seasonal products and a coffecorner available to guests all day. Free WiFi, safebox, toiletries, 24 hour reception and luggage storage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Circa 1905 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa 1905 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing