We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH HAPPY DAY”
Review of Circa 1905

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Circa 1905
Ranked #19 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a wonderful place to call home for a whirlwind trip to Barcelona. perfectly situated, close to the sightseeing bus drop off point, wonderful restaurants and if a spot of retail therapy is needed, then it becomes a game of spot the designer shop, as there are to many to mention. Circa was easy to find, safe and a pleasure to stay in. plenty of hot water clean and confortable beds and a light airy room were the order of the day, and as if that wasn`t enough we had a wonderful balcony, in which to gather or thoughts and plan the day ahead. breakfast was a wonderful way to start the day, with fresh coffee, cheeses, a seletion of meats and more to keep you going through the day. I can`t praise this place highly enough, with the owner and staff going out of their way to keep everyone happy. the free endless supply of bottled water, and nespresso machine was a lovely touch, and was certainly welcome after a day in the sun.

Room Tip: mallorca room number 8 was right at the end, had a terrace and was light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We loved everything about this B&B. We were there last week for our Honeymoon and would highly recommend it to anyone. The room was lovely and the staff were so helpful. Our room had a terrace that overlooked a kinda garden themed restaurant. We were going to miss breakfast the day before so the nice guy offered a to go picnic breakfast that would be waiting for us that morning. It was the small details that will have us coming back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed with a friend in one of the 'Mallorca' rooms. Roon 8 was quiet,spacious,comfortable and spotlessly clean with a lovely flower filled terrace to sit out on and enjoy the Spanish sun. Perfectly located in a safe area. The owner and her staff were friendly and helpful. Ingrid on reception and the young housekeeper were a delight. An excellent choiceto eat for breakfast. The nespresso machine and fridge full of bottles of water for guests to help themselves was very welcome. When I return to Barcelona I would not stay anywhere else other then Circa :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tessw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Mallorca room. The room is located on the corner of the building with a nice terrace. Th ceilings have to be over 20 feet high, with matching doors.

Good: Comfortable soft bed. Large room. Clean, despite the paint. Nice shower. Central location. Breakfast on the terrace was nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Not So Good: Noise. The coffee station is next to the room. The breakfast area is at the end of the hall. The other guests can be heard stomping around, talking, and banging doors. The front entry door sounds like a gunshot every time a guest enters or leaves without controlling the close. I am a light sleeper, so the noise might not bother other people.

Comments: The entrance is one level above the ground floor, with an elevator starting after 14 steps up. The security entrance has a raised threshold, similar to a doorway in a ship. These could make entry difficult for people in wheel chairs.

Strange: paint in bathroom is yellow, with black "highlights". I'm not sure what they were going for, but they got the "I just brushed up against the walls and floor after working on my car" look. Note that the walls are actually clean, they were just cleverly concealed to look dirty.

I would not recommend this B&B to light sleepers. If you can sleep through anything, this is a really nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SP_Traveling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here for one night in July and would not hesitate to stay again. Wonderful apartment with beautifully decorated rooms and common areas, lovely breakfast and truly hospitable and ever smiling staff. Oh, and a great location too ! An absolute gem in a beautiful city !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I am writing this report in english so that it may not only reach the usual german community but the english speaking people out there as well. My message is clear: if you ever go to Barcelona, this is definitely the place to be!
Lots can be said about the rooms, it has been said by previous reviewers, yet let me point out one thing that I have learned along my travels through Europe: five stars is not always five stars and you never know what to expect so be smart enough to follow the postings on tripadvisor. This is what I did in this particular case, as I wanted a place near the main attractions of Barcelona without having to pay an exuberant amount of money to accomodate three people.
I hit the right place. It is situated between Passeig de Gracia and the Rambla Catalunia, smack down right in the middle of the most attractive part of town without being exposed to the touristy hustle and bustle just some hundreds meters away. The Calle Florenca is very quiet in a most attractive way, it offers some small coffee shops and take aways as well as some very nice fashion stores. Yet it is a connecting street between the two aforementioned streets and not too many tourists enter it as there is more up the bigger roads- so why bother. Good for the travellers nestling here. For busy Barcelona, serenity is a big plus. Near the B&B you find the world famous La Pedreira, just a "stonethrow" away. Don't try. You might hurt someone.
When you enter the B&B you might be surprised about the looks and feels of this place. The colours used in the parlor and breakfast room are dark, grey and aubergine, yet it fits the whole design idea quite well. The owner has proven to be of good taste and left nothing to chance, you will see. Even the smallest item there is set up pretty perfectly.
The rooms are located on the first floor of a modernist building, so called after a very important phase in architectural development in Europe in the years between 1905 and 1930. The most obvious sign for this architectural style is the playfulness and rich floral style that is shown in plastering, floor tiling and outside design of these buldings. It is rich in ideas and fanciness without having an attitude.
All rooms are fitted with furniture from that period of design, even the backrests of the beds have that style of design with rich floral ornamentation, such a nice rest for the head and eyes! Furniture is almost antique in a true way, some of the sitting items were so neat that I didn't want to sit on them in admiration of beauty.
The bathrooms are brand new, all nice and clean, stylish and modern in good taste fitted into the given space. We had the privilege of settling in a room with a porch/balcony so we were able to enjoy our lush and fresh breakfast out in the morning sun. The other room we rented faced the street and offered a small balcony that fitted two chairs and a petite table. Cute, just the right room for the little lady accompanying us.
A very attentive and friendly host received us and set us up with information about the city, being helpful in every way we desired. Thank you for the attendance, it made our stay here even nicer!

Room Tip: any room facing the patio is good, but the ones facing the street have a uniqueness to themselves th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNAFLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Circa 1905 is a hidden gem. It's small quiet and clean with an very convenient location and an extremely helpful English speaking staff. Paola was the best employee I've encountered in years. She helped with credit card problems packed us a breakfast when we left early and gave great restaurant suggestions

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJKWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,960 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 516 in Barcelona
323 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#2 of 308 in Barcelona
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
559 reviews
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#10 of 308 in Barcelona
173 reviews
Eixample
The Conica Deluxe Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 1905

Address: Provenza, 286, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £84 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Circa 1905 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1905 is a small Bed & Breakfast located on the first floor of a modernist building in the historic quarter of "Eixample", close to Paseo de Gracia and La Pedrera of Gaudi. The nine rooms of the house have been recovered by the owner and architect mixing old and new, tradition and comfort to offer guests a cozy and refined atmosphere where feel at home. Each room has been individually furnished, all have private bathrooms, and many have a balcony or terrace. Circa 1905 offers breakfast with fresh, seasonal products and a coffecorner available to guests all day. Free WiFi, safebox, toiletries, 24 hour reception and luggage storage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Circa 1905 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa 1905 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing