We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellence in the heart of Barcelona”
Review of Circa 1905

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Circa 1905
Ranked #20 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A fantastic boutique hotel, in the heart of Bacelona, near the Pedrera, between Paseo de Gracia and Rambla. All is very good: stilish rooms, continental breakfast, service, people. But the atmosfere is the best thing

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Paolo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The staff are really helpful and the breakfast is good. If you have any other room than the one we had, you will enjoy staying in this hotel.

Unfortunately we could only get the service well room (Room 6, the Rosello Room). It should only be used for storage as it has no light and no air. The ventilator is noisy so it isn't possible to have it on during the night. The well behind the room appears to be used for toilet soil pipes so the window on that side shouldn't be opened. There are strange crepitation sounds coming from the well, which could be water occasionally escaping from toilet cistern overflow pipes.The room is painted throughout in grey, which makes it even worse to stay in. All other areas of the hotel are painted gloomy grey too so the overall effect was frankly awful and depressing. It was a relief to get out into Barcelona and visit Gaudi buildings which respected the humans who lived in them! We paid 140 euros a night for this so we probably need our heads examining. But there were no cancellations to allow us to move rooms and other hotels were booked up.

Room Tip: Make very sure you ask which room you will be in. If it has a balcony, you should be fine, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardSS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María Paz S, Propietario at Circa 1905, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

First of all I regret that your stay in our hotel has been so unpleasant. Our job is to make our guests happy and obviously you were not. Unfortunately, if we did not get any complaints from you during your stay at the hotel, is difficult to us help you now. Anyway I want to answer you, I do not want that future guests have a wrong idea of the characteristics of the room and of the maintenance we do in our hotel.

Of the 9 rooms at the hotel, only the double room named Rosello, has no natural light as it overlooks, through colored stained glass windows, the inner courtyard of the building. This courtyard, typical of modernist buildings, is decorated in a romantic way with plants, a bench, table and chairs for the exclusive use of the guests of this room. It is in no case a “service well”, there is no pipe there.

Your experience contrasts sharply with that we have received since we opened the hotel three years ago. Of course, not all rooms should please every customer, but in this case, even we inform at Internet that the room is interior and has no natural light, it is highly required by travellers, and generally we do not get complaints, the proof is that after hundred of guests sleeping there you hardly find some negative comment. Guests appreciate the advantages of being a short walk from Paseo de Gracia, in a bed & breakfast with 24-hour reception, with breakfast, wifi and amenities, and in a double room with private bathroom, looking to a cosy courtyard, paying a lower rate than the exterior rooms, even if it means compromising natural light and not having exterior views. In high season, when this room costs 140 Eur the other cost 220 or 240 Eur.

About the technical problems you name, we have checked them inmediately after your comment. About the sound of water from the “service well” that is located outside, next to the room, we have been in the room long while and we only heard some distant sounds of installations, remember that we are in a modernist building from the early 20th Century, we do not believe it can be a problem. So far no guest has complained about it. Could it be that you have heard the noise of the rain that fell two of the three nights you stayed at the hotel? I understand that the beating of the rain can annoy a light sleeper. Also we have checked the bathroom extractor fan and yes, it was a bit out of adjustment, and now we are repairing it. The staff checks periodically that facilities operate correctly, however, if there is any problem that we have not detected, the guests notify us during their stay. As we have a very efficient maintenance team, we can solve it quickly. But to solve problems, first, of course, we need to know the problems. You were at the hotel three days and you did not tell us anything during your stay. How could we know you had a problem, this or any other you had, if you do not inform us?

Finally, I wish to clarify that the Rosello room is not room 6 but 9.

The owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a large room with beautiful terrace overlooking a pretty courtyard, perfect for eating breakfast in the morning sunshine. One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in and huge. The bed and breakfast is situated on a busy street near Casa Mila. But circa 1905 is an oasis of calm, so quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at hotel for both business and pleasure. It was a lovely experience. Most notable are the people. They are warm, welcoming, helpful in every way without being intrusive. One has as much privacy or contact as desired. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, bread, pastries juice, cheese and strong,excellent coffee. I stayed in the Provenza room with a sweet balcony and view of street. The bathrooms are very modern and a good size. Location is perfect for walking, near subway, gorgeous shopping, restaurants etc. I would go back in a heart beat and highly recommend.

Room Tip: The interior of the hotel is dark. Make sure you ask for a room with good exterior light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights prior to going on a cruise and for a further stay of one night on our return. The hotel is in a very good location for sightseeing and restaurants. The people on reception were very welcoming and helpful. We were treated as individuals from the beginning. Bedroom with balcony was excellent. Interesting decor. We can heartily recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights between Christmas and New Years. Location is terrific--easy walking to most of Barcelona highlights. We had Provenza Suite which is 2 Provenza rooms with a shared sitting room--very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast seemed a little lacklustre after our experience at Palacio Ramalhete in Lisbon but it was adequate. Staff were polite but not as helpful as I expected.This is not a hotel nor is it a B&B--more a small boutique hotel or Inn--located a block or so from La Pedrera ( Casa Mila ) between Passeig de Gracia and Rambla de Catalunya--I can't imagine a better location in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackiecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here as the last of 3 places on a mini European tour for my 40th birthday. The location is brilliant and you can walk to nearly everywhere, but if you are going further afield there is an underground station just around the corner. My husband and I always stay in b&b's as we find them far more personal than large hotels and this one was a good choice. Our room was very comfortable with a king size bed and enough storage space for our clothes etc and everything was very clean.

There are 2 reasons I'm not giving this 5 stars. The first is that the breakfast set up was a bit strange. The choice was good but there were not enough tables and chairs if too many guests came out at the same time - on our second day we took our food back to our room. The second reason is because of the location of our room. We were at the front so had noise from the road - although that didn't bother us too much as we live on a main road at home so are used to this (if you live somewhere quiet normally I imagine this could be an issue). However our room was directly above the entrance to the building, which had very large and heavy doors that slammed every time somebody went in and out - and that started quite early in the morning!

I don't want to be too negative as this was a nice place in a great location. If you have a room in the middle or at the back it would probably be a faultless stay. One very good thing was that there was unlimited free bottled water, which was great for long, hot days exploring Barcelona.

Room Tip: As per my review I think a room at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#10 of 307 in Barcelona
171 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#2 of 307 in Barcelona
510 reviews
Eixample
The Conica Deluxe Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#5 of 307 in Barcelona
607 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
We Boutique Hotel
We Boutique Hotel
#6 of 307 in Barcelona
236 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#8 of 307 in Barcelona
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 1905

Address: Provenza, 286, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £92 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Circa 1905 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1905 is a small Bed & Breakfast located on the first floor of a modernist building in the historic quarter of "Eixample", close to Paseo de Gracia and La Pedrera of Gaudi. The nine rooms of the house have been recovered by the owner and architect mixing old and new, tradition and comfort to offer guests a cozy and refined atmosphere where feel at home. Each room has been individually furnished, all have private bathrooms, and many have a balcony or terrace. Circa 1905 offers breakfast with fresh, seasonal products and a coffecorner available to guests all day. Free WiFi, safebox, toiletries, 24 hour reception and luggage storage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Circa 1905 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa 1905 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing