We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Suite, Excellent Service and Location in Barcelona”
Review of Ako Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ako Suite Hotel
Ranked #239 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Avoid the busy and crowded tourist hotels and areas. Instead, rest and relax in the beautiful Eixample neighborhood at Ako Suite Hotel - great restaurants, shops and easy walk/or public transportation to major landmarks. It's all about the amazing GAUDI, friendly people and delicious Spanish and Catalan foods and wines.

For our family of four with two teenage daughters, Ako Suites treated us like royalty and made our Barcelona stay perfect. The front office was most helpful and accommodating for our first international family trip. The suites were very modern, comfortable, clean with the latest amenities and features i.e. air conditioning to cool us during the Summer travels. Also, the area is quiet as is the hotel rooms.

I would highly recommend AKO Suites for it’s in a great location, Eixample neighborhood that’s mostly locals, close to the University, 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas, Gaudi’s La Pedrera and subway/train stations.

From a cost perspective, staying at Ako is less expensive or comparable to staying at a nice hotel with two rooms (most European hotel rooms have 2 adults/1 child standard). Big advantages are the kitchenette, living/sitting room with TVs.

Our favorite restaurants within walking distance are Maitea Taberna, Paco Merago, Bosque Palermo and Cornelia & Company. Another bonus is the very clean self service laundry facility next door. Barcelona is beautiful and we can’t wait to visit the city and stay at Ako in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sanseimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi M, Front Office Manager at Ako Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

First of all, thank you very much for so large and nice comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you back in AkoSuite to offer you the same level service and make all the possible you feel like home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Excellent service was received at this Hotel. I travelled to Barcelona with a relation and a wheelchair bound adult in early June 2013. The room provided was well presented and each day it was cleaned to a very high standard. We asked for and were provided with a toaster and any request was met with courtesy and efficiency. The bathroom facility was suitable for a disabled guest and it made a huge difference to the standard of comfort we enjoyed. Jose the Manager did everything he could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. He even gave us a link to a tourist site listing places that could accomodate our wheelchair. Gemma at the Front Desk was also hugely helpful. Very enjoyable stay and I would hope to return later this year. Anna C.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi M, Front Office Manager at Ako Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Anna, we appreciate a lot your comments. We are always happy to hear our guest felt comfortable with us. You are always welcome in AkoSuite and we will do our best to make you trip as pleasant as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This new small apartment hotel is well located 5 minutes walk to the Universitat Metro and about ten minutes to Le Rambla. The hotel is in a relatively quite street, but there is a gay bar across the road, however it only seems to open on a Saturday night. The rooms are generous sizes, the bathroom is definately different with frosted but see through glass and the bedroom comes with 2 single beds side by side. The living room has 2 small chairs, and the kitchen is reasonably well equiped, however you will need to ask them for dishwashing liquid and cloth and they do not provide tea, coffee or milk which is now pretty standard for hotels, particularly as this one is rated as four star. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet. There is a Supermarket across the road and a laundremat next door, and a good restaurant in the street. Didn't try the continental breakfast as this was 12 euro, better to go the Boqueria Market or Carrafours on the Ramblas and stock up on cheap food. The reception staff all spoke English and were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, no view just adjoining apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DifromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is modern, new and clean. It's an apartment style, boutique hotel. The location is good, walking distance to La Rambla. There's a laundry next door and a few mini-marts nearby which is very convenient. The staffs are friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my 3 nights stay with Ako Suite Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi M, Front Office Manager at Ako Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear Olivia, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in AKO. We will always be glad to see you here again and to provide you all the type of information and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

It is more like a boutique apartment hotel. Contemporary design and new, small for hotel but comes with spacious rooms. We have a double bed rooms with a kitchen attached with some space for living room. Every thing is new and clean. I had a pleasant sleep and good showers. Receptionists were friendly and spoke English. Metro just near by, 20 min walk to La Rambla.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi M, Front Office Manager at Ako Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear Janice, it is important for us to know the opinion of our guests and we are pleased to hear you liked your stay. We hope to see you some day in our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

room : very big, minimal, with nice furniture and a praktical kitchinette
view : unfortunately the view was dissapointing. We were facing a wall (1st floor) and the higher levels were facing the nearby flats.
location : very good, in the center of barcelona, 10 minutes walk to las ramblas
breakfast: not included in the rate, you can order extra with 12E/person but its average and with the same price you can eat fantastic in the nearby bistros
service: kind and helpfull

Room Tip: try to book a room in the 3rd or the 4th floor. the view is slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gratsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

+ New hotel with modern design and clean big light rooms
+ Good location: 5 min walk to University tube & 10 min to Catalonia square
+ Friendly and knowledgeable hotel staff: they provided all necessary info about transfer options from the airport to the hotel. They speak at least English, Russian and Spanish
+ Daily room cleaning
+ Own kitchen
- We had a early flight and they forgot to order a taxi, anyway it came in 5 mins

Room Tip: Better not to book the room near the lift as you may hear it while sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katyabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Acacia Suites
Acacia Suites
#272 of 517 in Barcelona
258 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#109 of 517 in Barcelona
1,039 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#23 of 517 in Barcelona
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#20 of 517 in Barcelona
468 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#138 of 517 in Barcelona
1,035 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#94 of 517 in Barcelona
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ako Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ako Suite Hotel

Address: Diputacio 195, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#119 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#152 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £67 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ako Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ako Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ako Suite Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing