We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & friendly staff”
Review of Ako Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ako Suite Hotel
Ranked #177 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location & friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Ako Suite. Below are our reflections based on a one week stay with a couple & five month old baby.

Pros
- Having a kitchen is a big help when you've got a baby!
- The room had moveable partition doors which is great for creating some quiet baby napping space
- The staff were warm and friendly, and the daily cleaner was excellent
- Super location which made sight seeing very easy
- Fresh decor with all furniture in good condition

Cons
- The kitchen could do with being a little better stocked with cooking utensils
- Like others have said the glazed glass on the loo takes abit of getting used too
- The decor is a bit discoesque but that's just a matter of taste
- We found the multiple light switches a bit bemusing & the corridor music a bit full on

Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxfordlocalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    108
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
103
96
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

A modern hotel, very clean and the staff is friendly and willing to help you with sightseeing....Location is very good also, next to underground and 2 min walking from Catalunia... Near to the hotel are also a lot of places for breakfast and cheap enough...Recommended hotel....

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nikAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

RECOMMENDED: The highlights of this property: Good location, just off the busy areas on a quieter street, excellent cleaning crew, comfortable bed, mostly friendly staff, large room. Lighting very good.

The negs: some maintenance issues and the room design is lacking. Despite the relative newness of the property, the IKEAish furnishings aren't likely to hold up to long wear. The room itself is quite large however the bathroom is very cramped (see photo) and the in-room glass design affords little privacy. I

The kitchen/living area isn't really that comfortable. The high top table and TV mounted (see photo) from the ceiling make the seats seem very low. There is no table top work area (sans using the kitchen table and uncomfortable backless chairs).

The bedroom is large but devoid of any furnishings, it seemed just empty. The TV is high mounted on the wall and has a bright LED indicator that nearly kept me awake until I affixed a post-it-note to it!

This are all mostly little 'nits, they scream a professional hotel designer wasn't involved (the light switches are at the head of the bed, trying reading in bed without turning the lights on and off). Mostly this was amusing to me.

I'd likely return, often inner city hotels have issues of some sort, so you're balancing the good/bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

May partner and I stayed here for 4 nights. From 17-21 of Feb. was in a perfect location, 10 minute walk from las rambles but was a nice to get there. We didn't once use the metro as didn't need to but if people do the metro is less the 2 minutes away. The staff where fantastic and always wanted to help and tell us the best places to go. In a very safe area and the kitchen was fab, our room was cleaned everyday. Perfect place to stay and will be staying here again when we next visit Barcelona! Thank you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jadeyt5809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi M, Director de Recepción at Ako Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of AKO SUITE.

Best wishes,
Jordi Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel is very modern and clean, conveniently located near the Carrer de la Diputacio (large square, metro stop). We stayed 5 nights and this apartment-hotel was ideal for us. Because of the kitchenette we were less dependent on restaurants and could have snacks or meals in our room. There is a small bakery in front of the hotel (not open on Sunday). Small local supermarket in the Carrer de Muntaner (with local specialties), large food supermarket in the store El Corte Ingles, at the Plaça de Catalaunya (15 minutes walk). Kitchenette has limited facilities, but was more or less okay for 2 people. We were asked if we needed anything extra and asked a ketlle straight away, which was no problem. The stove was a bit diffilcult to operate (the touch buttons didn't react very well), doors of the kitchen furniture were slightly damaged and the hinges were hanging slightly loose. No pepper, salt, sugar etc provided. We bought our own washing up liquid, sponge and dishcloth, but the cleaning lady took it all away (she also threw away our shopping bags...). When we complained we got some replacements. Bathroom is small but really nice and light (original layout of the room), heavenly rain shower! No noise from the street (we were at the back). We had a problem with our safe at 7pm and had to wait till 9am next day before anyone could come to open it, which was a nuisance. Friendly service, although they made a mistake at the checkout by entering a higher amount (to be paid) in the credit card machine than was on my bill. Luckily I saw it in time. Didn't know very well what to think of that. But overall, recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraCCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

At the end of 2 weeks vacation in Spain, the last hotel I stayed was this one. I had 3 nights 4 days schedule in Barcelona, So I need some place which is more practical. The location of Ako Suite is so nice. Just 15 minutes walking from Catalunia Plaza. One the way to this hotel, there's lots of nice shopping place and reasonable price restaurants etc.

In the room, you can cook by yourself using a microwave oven or induction range. During long times trip, you could be sicked with local foods and miss your native foods. Absolutely, this facilities will help you overcome foods issue.

Room Tip: Induction range stuffed. nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cserpentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Acacia Suites
Acacia Suites
#230 of 513 in Barcelona
250 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
960 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#127 of 513 in Barcelona
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
341 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
198 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#144 of 513 in Barcelona
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ako Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ako Suite Hotel

Property: Ako Suite Hotel
Address: Diputacio 195, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#119 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#123 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#136 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ako Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ako Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ako Suite Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing