We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive room with a very large bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #240 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Massive room with a very large bathroom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We hired a car so we did not mind its being in the outskirts. Its right next to the motorway and 2 minutes walk to the metro (Mundet). Very spacious room and a very large bathroom with 2 zincs, seperate bath and shower. very clean and daily cleaning. You can park the car easily around the area. Not a very nice surrounding as it looks like surrounded by council flats. but no trouble. There is a bakery / cafe in the opposite white building and also a super market inside the white building- supermarket got a coffe shop inside it too and things are relatively cheap in the supermarket. 500 ml water bottle 20 cents. Its €1 in the city. You need to buy and put it in the mini fridge to cool.

Room Tip: Try and avoid room facing the motorway to avoid noise in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank segarathiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    385
    125
    34
    26
See reviews for
144
336
22
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Despite being out of the city centre, Alimara is very close to the Metro (Mundet station, line 3) and its only 10 minutes to Diagonal and around 20 to Liceu.
We had breakfast the first morning, costing €14.50. This was expensive and there was not a great range of food. I would not recommend eating breakfast here.
The twin room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The wifi in the hall is slow and painful. Wifi can be bought for €6 for 24 hours. This was disappointing.
There is a supermarket close by which came in handy, as well as a cafe and bar.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel is on the outskirts of Barcelona still easily reach by metro line L3. Metro station Mundet is just behind the hotel. Half an hour from city centre. Somehow scary neighborhood at night. Check in was prompt and room we got was very good. Clean, decent size, modern design, LCD TV with english ch, safebox, minibar. Huge bathroom with all ammenities. Breakfast is expensive but there are several cafes around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Spent two nights there.. normal hotel at the suburbs, but free wi-fi is only at the hall... (can't stop wondering, why hotels do not offer free internet for free=)
Spare room..clean and nice
No pool..(
Metro station is 5 minutes from the hotel and it is strait line to the center of Barcelona (Ramblas).
Breakfast is average as it is in a lot of similar hotels.. No vegetables at all..wonder why?
nothing bad to say and nothing good...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Alimara Hotel for 4 nights and had a very pleasant experience. I'm a student, so had a limited budget, meanwhile she works full time, so wanted a superb hotel, almost regardless of the price. We found the Alimara to be a quality hotel for a very competitive price, so both of us were pleased.

The room itself was clean and tidy and had plenty of space, we had a lovely queen size double bed, which was luxury compared to the puny single I've been sleeping in at my student digs this year. There was a large full-length wardrobe, good-sized desk and a competitively priced minibar too. The bathroom was also clean and classy, with a beautiful power shower and sleek sink. The air-con was fair too, I never felt overly hot in the room. A potential con would be the lack of English TV channels, I had a quick browse and all that was available was BBC World News, however, I didn't go to Barcelona to watch TV!

The staff at the Alimara were always polite and helpful and all spoke reasonable English, making me feel less guilty for my embarrassing command of the Spanish language. The free Wi-Fi in the lobby was relatively slow, but hardly a deal-breaker. To gain fast Wi-Fi in your room you can pay extra, not sure how much, as I never really considered doing so and found a quick check on-line in the lobby every so often sufficient.

Travel to the city centre was very easy, the Mundet Metro station is barely a 2 minute walk around the corner and is a large, spacious station. Trains arrive every 3-4 minutes and it takes about 15 minutes to get to the city centre. The Les Corts station (for the Nou Camp) is also on the same line, which is handy.

Overall, it is a very professionally ran hotel and we felt very welcome, would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsmith1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Alimara is a good, clean and 'business-like' hotel. It is located somewhat outside the city in an area where there is nothing going on. Thus it is quiet, but (since I like to sleep with windows open), I did hear some noise from the highway that runs behind the hotel. It is very close to the Mundet metro station, and it takes about 15 minutes (and 2 euros) to get to downtown Barcelona. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious, but pretty much devout of character. You have to pay for Wifi in your room, but it is free in the lobby. The hotel has a nice breakfast, but otherwise the food served is pretty mediocre...plenty of better places to eat out in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otjetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haan, Germany
Level Contributor
318 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a three day city trip and had a very good experience. The room was located on the 9th level, so we didn't hear anything from the highway outside and the room was very clean and had enough space for us. We had a room with queen size double bed and a bathtub. A minibar with actually reasonable pricing for a four star hotel is also available in the room. There is no room service but you can order from a telepizza company through the reception. Anyways the restaurant called Summum is located right next to the lobby and offers delicious food and drinks. It's not cheap but worth a visit when you stay there. The fitness room is located on the mezzanine floor but really tiny. Just a treadmill, some workout all round machine and a bike for spinning is available. Wifi is available for free in the lobby area and restaurant but you have to purchase codes for the in room Wifi. 6€ for 24 hours. The staff was very friendly. Check in and our were very fast and when we had a problem with our hair dryer it was replaced very fast and accurate. the location of the hotel is ok, it's next to a metro station from where you reach all tourist attractions in less than thirty minutes. Only the density of gastronomy around the hotel could be better, but that wasn't a problem to us. We had a great stay all in all and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerHenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
2.7 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#192 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aparthotel Bertran
Aparthotel Bertran
#274 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aparthotel Atenea
Aparthotel Atenea
#234 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#98 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laumon
Hotel Laumon
#250 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#230 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alimara Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alimara Barcelona Hotel

Property: Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Address: C/ Berruguete 126, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#177 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#189 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alimara Barcelona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Alimara Barcelona is a four stars hotel that merges perfectly modernity and experience to provide maximum comfort and a contemporary urban hotel style to our guest.Totally renovated at the end of 2010 offers 154 bedrooms all of them with outside views and fully equipped including 119 standard, 20 superiors and 15 junior suites/family rooms that can accommodate a family or a friendly group from 3 to 6 people, in a unique space but with two differentiated atmospheres.A very fine cuisine is served in any of their restaurants. La RONDA is the best place to begin your day with a delicious breakfast buffet. At the new SUMMUM Restaurant you can enjoy a Mediterranean flavoured menu, from Monday to Sunday, night and day. The SUMMUM Bar & Terrace is the perfect spot to have cocktails and bites.When finishing the day, the terrace of the garden and the fitness room become the best place to relax with environmental music.Our dedication and flexibility will suit your needs.For leisure and business, the Alimara Hotel is the best place to enjoy Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alimara Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimara Hotel Barcelona
Alimara Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing