We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel for business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #310 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 26 December 2013

the room was okay with complete amenities. but this is only for business traveler, not for young people who may prefer to stay closer to town. there was nothing interesting places nearby, but you can walk to metro station to get to city center. breakfast is more or less similar everyday. they should change the menu and provide more varieties.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crocodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is a little bit away from the center of Barcelona but its only 2 minutes away from a metro station so that makes things very easy.It is very near a high way but the windows are soundproof and it was not a matter for us. The reception staff could have been more kind and maybe could smile to guests a little bit more...they checked in us quicly but in a wrong type of room than the one we have requested, after we got in the room we realized the mistake and we informed them immediatly but they told us we need to wait until the next morning in order to change room as they are waiting an arrival of a group...the time was only 12.00pm (general in the hotels the official check in time is 2.00pm...) and the male receptionist refuse to help us. The room was very vlean and very spacious. The breakfast is served at the ground floor in a clean and cozy restaurant with a very kind staff, the variety of the breakfast was good. I would have rate the hotel with 4/5 but unfortunatelly I cant as in a so modern and good hotel they were not able to offer us internet connection... The wifi is "available" and free only at the lobby area (not even at the breakfast room), in a stay of 5 nights we did not manage to get on line not even once.. I am sorry alimara hotel but you MUST improve your internet conection and offer it for free every where in your hotel as you are a 4 star property and not a hostel. Do not even thing it is a cheap hotel. Overall they did not manage to reach our expectations 100% but it was a nice experience and Barcelona is an adorable city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is really nice,staff very friendly, up to standard cleanliness,breakfast was super good :)

Hmmm Where is the toilet brush ???

That's really unprofessional guys !

Now the hotel is supposed to hv a gym ? A 4 star hotel with a home gym ?? No way
You need to invest in a gym guys..but over all you are just great

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank militarypolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at the Alimara hotel for two weeks during a business trip. The hotel is located in the outskirts of Barcelona, far from the city center. It is however conveniently located close to a Metro station. The positive things about the hotel are that it is close to the Metro, there are a supermarket almost right next door, it is fairly clean and comfortable, and that the breakfast is quite good. There are also a small gym at the hotel, although I never used it.

The downside with Alimara is that it is far from the city center (20 minutes by Metro to Placa de Cataluniya, 30 minutes to Placa Espanya) and there are no restaurants nearby. A main flaw with the hotel is the extremely slow Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi should also be free in my opinion, but they charge 7 Euro a day for this sub-standard Wi-Fi. Also, the sound insulation in my room was terrible, and as the ring road is passing the hotel the sound from the traffic was very load in my room. The thermostats does not work either, so the room was most often too cold for me. The coffee at the hotel was also quite bad.

The Alimara should be a three-star hotel according to my opinion, and not a four-star as they claim to be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suntrip62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel is very nice, modern, and clean. The location is a little bit outside of the city centre so a car or taxi is needed to get around or you can take the metro.

The wifi internet is terribly slow, even the expensive paid option which was even too slow to check emails. Definitely not worth spending money on that!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a comfortable, clean and well located hotel with easy access to the city centre by metro. The staff were all charming and helpful, the rooms well appointed with comfortable beds and good bathrooms and, although breakfast was not to my personal taste, I have no complaints about the food.
BUT paying for wifi is just so unnecessary these days that one comes away feeling totally ripped off, not least the charges were very expensive and the wifi service incredibly slow compared to most hotels even in developing countries. That is the one major shortcoming of this place and I hope the management of a hotel attached to the university of tourism might recognise that and put it right soon. as I would like to return there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorset-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice hotel, modern and comfortable rooms, excellent staff (some trainees from nearby CETT university), a nice terrace in the garden for the few smokers left in the world and a very nice restaurant with a good mix of local and international food. Agree with other reviewer that paying for wifi is not like 2013 anymore, and another drawback are the completely uninterseting surroundings. However the subway is very close and will get you to the town centre in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank werdlerswereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Amrey Sant Pau
#242 of 516 in Barcelona
736 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#116 of 516 in Barcelona
1,958 reviews
Hotel Torino
#385 of 516 in Barcelona
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#219 of 516 in Barcelona
1,188 reviews
Hotel Laumon
#297 of 516 in Barcelona
473 reviews
Apartamentos Turisticos Marsol
#394 of 516 in Barcelona
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alimara Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alimara Barcelona Hotel

Address: C/ Berruguete 126, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#184 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#189 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £43 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alimara Barcelona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Alimara Barcelona is a four stars hotel that merges perfectly modernity and experience to provide maximum comfort and a contemporary urban hotel style to our guest.Totally renovated at the end of 2010 offers 154 bedrooms all of them with outside views and fully equipped including 119 standard, 20 superiors and 15 junior suites/family rooms that can accommodate a family or a friendly group from 3 to 6 people, in a unique space but with two differentiated atmospheres.A very fine cuisine is served in any of their restaurants. La RONDA is the best place to begin your day with a delicious breakfast buffet. At the new SUMMUM Restaurant you can enjoy a Mediterranean flavoured menu, from Monday to Sunday, night and day. The SUMMUM Bar & Terrace is the perfect spot to have cocktails and bites.When finishing the day, the terrace of the garden and the fitness room become the best place to relax with environmental music.Our dedication and flexibility will suit your needs.For leisure and business, the Alimara Hotel is the best place to enjoy Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alimara Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimara Hotel Barcelona
Alimara Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing