We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Is Wow Factor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gallery Hotel
Ranked #38 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Location Is Wow Factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a package through Voyage Prive and although not cheap it gave great value for money. Upon arrival the day before Good Friday, our upgraded room was not available but we managed to negotiate a suite for just €20 extra per night - what a lovely room it was. The only downside was no balconies or French doors which I imagine could be frustrating in hot weather.
Staff and service were great, breakfast not marvellous but adequate - the hotel should provide more fresh fruit (just look in the shops to see what is available locally!) dried fruit, nuts and fresh juices for health conscious guests, but the seeded brown bread and Spanish cheeses were good. Wouldn't have been happy paying for the breakfast but it was included in our deal.
A ground floor bar open until late would have been good, for weary guests returning after a meal in the evenings.
All shops in the city close for Bank Holidays, which meant that Good Friday was spent on the tourist bus (crowds everywhere but still good to visit the local tourist sites) and Saturday around the 35,000 shops - not to mention bars and restaurants. So nice to sit outside in the sunshine!
The lobby staff were extremely helpful and very smart for a 4 star hotel.
We found Barcelona to be more expensive than other Spanish cities, but still good value and the area around the hotel was really good for eating and shopping - not to mention the bars. Basics such as bottled water are expensive in local shops, and the hotel doesn't provide much (not even in a suite), and the best place to get it is somewhere like El Corte Ingles, which also has a fantastic supermarket in the basement.
If your budget is very limited then don't go here, go to Madrid instead - but my recommendation would be to save up, visit Barcelona and stay at the Gallery, taking lots of spends and enjoying the upmarket feel. Taxis are really a necessity if you want to go down to the seafront to eat at night (especially if you have walked a lot during the day), and also for transport from the airport - I wouldn't risk public transport with all your luggage as petty crime is rife, although we didn't have any problems. And learn a few words of Spanish, as you will get much better service in bars and cafes.
Jet2 flights were excellent and we were quite sad to leave Barcelona.

Room Tip: 5th floor suite was worth the upgrade - ask for their best price, especially if you are staying a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    430
    78
    9
    12
See reviews for
254
468
45
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is placed in a great location in Barcelona, surrounded by great shopping options and restaurants. Hotel room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. I would definitely stay again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCOloruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the Gallery Hotel - my last visit to Barcelona we'd stayed near the beach but this location - in the 'Golden Square' was definitely preferable - stunning buildings everywhere, an easy walk down to the cathedral and centre, but in a high quality area, near the Gaudi houses and walkable to Sagrada Familia. We ate at a couple of restaurants near by that were really good and cheap, which was surprising given the posh area.
Hotel breakfast was good, beds comfortable, quiet at night so good night's sleep - can't think of any negatives (unless you just want to sit on the beach all day - in which case, you're the wrong end of town).
It was hot during our visit so we enjoyed sitting on the roof top terrace - the pool looks big in the photos but it's about one person wide and three strokes long so not worth getting wet for!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeliaE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful reception team ( Victor and Sara were fantastic) fantastic location. They contacted us beforehand to see if they need to prepare our room for check in earlier. On our arrival, they did a 'mini Barcelona' induction and orientation for us and offered us complementary drinks At the bar. The breakfast a bit expensive, but it's good variety. Plenty of places to eat out and visit.
Plenty of places to visit on foot, and metro just few steps away. I'm very happy with our stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We booked this, becuase one of our group had a special offer on it. We were not disappointed. Location was fantastic (a lovely area). Service was excellent, nothing seemed too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and quiet and breakfast was good. I would definitely recommend to families with older children (10 and over), friends, business, etc. If I visit Barcelona again I would stay there again. Just a quick note, the swimming pool is tiny - more of a plunge pool. The terrace area is wonderful though and you can lie out and not believe you are in the heart of the city. Very relaxing after visiting all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliza248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very good value rate for 2 night weekend stay. We stayed on the 4th floor (out of 5 I think as the roof top pool/bar is on 6) in a very good size room. We faced the back in the direction of the Diagonal (main boulevard) but with the double paned glass this was the QUIETEST stay I've ever had. The room felt a bit stuffy (even in April) so we kept opening the window so you could hear some noise but not disturbing. The tea kettle was most welcomed. The sheets, toilet paper, tissues and shower pressure was not top quality but nothing wrong with it. The bathroom opened right onto the bidet and toilet so not ideal but they made the most of the space.

Its in very safe location sitting on top of the metro at Diagonal, with metro entrances at either end of the block. It is surrounded by all the high-end shops and a long walk to the Gothic Quarter/harbour. Its fine to do the walk 2-3 times but with the handy and economical metro so easy that is a great alternative. Make sure to buy a T10 card which gives you 10 trips (you can share with others in your group) for the price of about 5 single trips. You can even take use it to get to the airport.

Unlike many other reviewers, we thought the customer service was ok but nothing exceptional. It took a while to get drinks on the roof top but it was April so not much in use I guess.

We skipped the additional cost of breakfast (€12-18pp depending on when booked) and enjoyed fastastic pastries at nearby Mauri.

We would stay again if we got another great rate.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank American-in-LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Gallery and had a great time, the suite was excellent, very clean and top quality facilities. Breakfast was very good with an extensive collection, but first and foremost was the staff, very friendly, pleased to help in any way they could from help with directions, places to eat and booking tickets for attractions where they knew we would get long queues, so thanks to Silvia, Yaiza and all the front desk staff. (Tell Yaiza we eventually found the pianos she told us about!!). Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#28 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sixtytwo Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel
#15 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#60 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel

Property: Gallery Hotel
Address: Rosello 249, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing