We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Ranked #58 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Could not fault this hotel, the rooms were lovely well furnished as you would expect from a Crowne plaza. the location is near the magic fountains and the bullring, getting about is quite easy on the metro (5 minute walk away) or by taxi, most journeys to other local attraction were no more than 10 euros. If you do go by taxi always take a business card with the hotel address on it, as local taxis seem know this hotel by other names such as Fira Palace. So it was easier just to hand them the hotel address on a card to return to the hotel.
The restaurant in the hotel was good value with great food which is unusual for hotel of this type. The breakfast where great, just about anything you could think of was served on the breakfast buffet

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leocraig2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

For the price (about €100) this hotel served us perfectly for a one-night stopover before catching a ship from port. The level of quality was surprising, with the amazing showers, lovely toiletries, comfy beds and panoramic view. Not a 'chain hotel' experience and can recommend. Feels very much like a business hotel so not the best for a romantic break, but well equipped. Only downside was the reception staff who were all unwelcoming and unhelpful. And also breakfast wasn't included, but I'd recommend going to the bakery across the road or a nearby cafe as it seemed expensive at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a huge room, huge bed, huge bathroom with all mod cons, very clean, quiet and the air con was good and quiet. Can't fault the room or the other hotel facilities except for the restaurant. Overpriced and ostentatious is how I would describe it. Would definitely stay there again but would find other places to eat in the evenings. Staff were friendly and service very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 days. Everything was fine, but when I returned to my room before check out I found that room is cleaned, and my things were gone. Thank God the safe was closed and the documents it remained safe. Called several times at the reception desk - no one picked up the phone. I went down to the front desk - there were very surprised. After a long search my belongings were found in the trash. Not very nice. More and maid claimed that she took these things from another room. Although in this room staying my colleague and he was not yet check out. I was very upset. And this situation has left negative impressions from Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank IuliiaV1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaBarcelona, Manager at Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to send your reviews regarding your recent stay on this website.
I appreciate all feedback provided as it is the main way to detect our weakness and so became better every day.
Your remarks are duly noted and feedback has been passed to all departments involved.

I truly hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Enrique Escofet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location and quite easy to find. There are plenty of bars and restaurants near by.

The rooms are spacious and finished to a high standard.

A few thing put me of 5 stars. The air con is rather weak, there was a funky drain smell when we had showers and the breakfast is overpriced.

Would I recommend yes but I would look for somewhere else if I return to Barcelona.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anand_Hari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Clean, spacious, modern rooms in a good location at a very reasonable price. What more is there to say! The breakfast is 18 euros which is a bit pricey. If you do try it, get the double chocolate muffin. Its really good ;)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed about a week here. The location is ideal for shopping at the old bullring, to see the magic fountains at night, and walk Montjoic. The breakfast has a large selection of foods. We did not eayt at the restaurant at night, but here it is good. The bar area is very nice and service was very good. Would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#107 of 517 in Barcelona
3,462 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 517 in Barcelona
3,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 517 in Barcelona
2,382 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#175 of 517 in Barcelona
3,738 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#57 of 517 in Barcelona
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center

Address: Avenida de Rius I Taulet, 1-3, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Fira Palace Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £95 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fira Palace Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Fira Palace Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Fira Palace
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing